The Last Born Effect

0 23
Avatar for Joewest
3 years ago

My parents had four kids before I was born. Two boys, and two girls. I came in 2 years after. I came in as the last born and locked up every other passage way.

I couldn't cope with having a competition. A competition for the love of my mother. I was nicknamed "Mummy's handbag". I would always cling to my mum as long as she was around me. She loved me and still do. But now, the favours I get from her are limited.

Being the last born, my mum supported me in several arguments I had with my elder siblings. At the time, I thought she loved me more and I was happy being moved the most. It was selfish but I loved it. I later grew up to understand that she supported me in those arguments because she wanted to boost my confidence. When I found out, tear dropped from my eyes though.

When it came to house chores, I didn't do a lot when I was little. In fact I only started doing chores at the age of seven. Before then, it was all play, eat and sleep. I made my mark as a last born. I would trouble my siblings on purpose and run to mummy. Mum always had a way of defending me. Funny thing was, all my siblings cooperated. I found out later that mum would go to the privately and explain to them to tolerate me that I need confidence boost. I was the shy type when I was little, but not anymore.

Don't get me wrong, mum didn't spoil me. I was spanked when necessary. I received little punishments from time to time. But when it came to the fun part, I had a large percentage. I didn't like school when I was little. I still don't like school though. So because I was the last born then, everyone in the house would gang up to tell me a lie that they won't take me to school that day, even when they made it obvious by putting me in a uniform. They'd tell me it was a requirement to get access to the church. Who wears school uniform to church??? Anyway, I was little. So I fell constantly for it.

Up until this moment, I still enjoy some last born privileges though. I have more alone time with mum, so we bond more. All my siblings are grown now and done with school so they don't have that time. I'm the only one who has the time to sit and chat with mum and all, so she I get some privileges like free money, free access to her WiFi and all.

I lived with my aunt for three years to finish up my high school. Being away from mum at that age had a toll on me. But I endured. My aunt(my mother's sister), told me a shocking story about my birth.

She told me that I wasn't planned. My parents had wanted to stop at just four kids. I came out of nowhere. It caused panic between my parents that they wanted to get rid of me. But they just couldn't bare the guilt. They had to keep me. I grew up to be a fine young man. It hurt me when I heard the story, and for a while, the way I looked at my parents changed, they noticed it but when they asked, I didn't tell them. Right now, it doesn't bother me again. Sometimes I wonder, if that's the reason they showered so much love on me, because of the guilt that they tried at one point to get rid of me. Its just a speculation.

Right now, I don't really like being the last born. Everyday, chores pile up for me and everyone at home now demands too much respect from me. It just eats me up and all.

Who else is a last born here?

1
$ 1.00
$ 1.00 from @Ellie
Sponsors of Joewest
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Joewest
3 years ago

Comments