Finalist of the week

0 19
Avatar for Joelsfit
2 years ago
Part 1
Sponsors of Joelsfit
empty
empty
empty

Good evening, kindly introduce yourself!

Good evening, I am Tolulope Awolusi also known as Glamgrace, 500L student of Agricultural and Environmental Engineering, also the welfare Director of the Department. 


The journey so far in the university of Ibadan from 100L

Actually I entered through Direct entry, so I started from 200L and here we are at 500 level. Mehn! 200L was really tough. I actually thought the lifestyle of a polytechnic wouldn’t be any different from the University but to my amazement, it was a special one. In such that I was running to different faculty, departments to borrow courses, meanwhile back then in the polytechnic, you’d have those lecturers come to your own department to lecture you, to teach you, you don’t stress yourself going to other department or faculty to take those courses and the school environment is large, reminds me of trekking from Idia to MLT. Sometimes having seven o’clock classes, Fortran, AutoCAD, with a heavy system, it has been stressful. 200L was stressful, I had my lows there. But thank God, I was able to pick up the second semester, which was a later boost for me to the next level. So the journey hasn’t been easy. Then 300L, I felt good with the system like I was able to adapt with the system to know, this is how we’re being trained. This is how lecturers want his/her answers to be, this is how we should deliver answers, you’d maybe la CRAM-la POUR, you’re familiar with that, like some lecturers want it back to back. Why do I need some explanation? So I actually adjusted myself to those ways and tried to improve myself better than I was then. So my 300L was good. It was fantastic because that was when I had a boost in my CGPA, then 400L, I was into business and it was good. And yeah, here we are 500L, Project, running around trying to blend social work, business and academics but we thank God, God has been faithful and it has been good so far. Thank you


Having experienced a polytechnic and also a University, is there any difference? Which do you think is better?

The difference was what I said earlier about being in your classroom or department while the lecturer comes to your department to lecture you in the polytechnic while in University, you’d have to go to the department or faculty to get your courses done. Also the practicals in the polytechnic were really more like we had practicals oftenly. My ND 1 was majorly practical, my classes were very few, majorly practicals while in the University, we had a specific session when you do your practicals. And you’re being experienced and exposed to other environments aside from your department in the University unlike the polytechnic, you’re confined within your faculty. So far so good, I’d say there’s not much difference other than the way it’s been discriminated against that BSc is not equivalent to HND, which is an educational system, you can’t really make much emphasis on that because that’s how it’s been discriminated around the globe. Then, lectures is general like you are only known to the lecturer once you’re good, same lecturing system, just that polytechnic is more into practicals, like you get your marks with your practicals, those practicals are of high mark compare to the once we do in the University where It’s just 20 or 30% to your practicals. But back in the polytechnic, you’re really sure of making a good grade once you’re doing your practicals, assignment, you buy textbooks or you buy material there’s a mark assigned to material handout you buy unlike here, even though you buy material hand-out or not, it’s none of their business, you should sha do well and attain your 70 marks. Thank you


What’s your favourite moment and not too good moment in the University so far?

My not-too -good moment was in 200L, first semester. I wasn’t able to blend easily with other faculty students, I was trying to find my stay and be stable with 7AM to 7PM classes. Then, Till day break (TDB), I wasn’t someone that do that, but I had to because I didn’t have enough material to start with back then and I was just trying to find a way to blend with the schoolsystem and environment during my 200L, so that was what made me stressed out in 200L. Then my good moment, I can say for now because I’m looking forward to this 500L, could be better than my previous good moment I think I have or I have ever had in UI.  I’m looking towards a better moment within the few periods I have left in the UI. Okay if I’m to say I’ve had a good moment so far, I’d say it’s 300L because that was when we came as a department, we were having our departmental courses, we were few, we knew each other, we try to communicate and read together and share materials, that was it.  But so far so good, we’re looking forward to a better moment to share too

Watch out for the concluding part!!!!

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Jumper-01
Avatar for Joelsfit
2 years ago

Comments