The right price: a win-win game

0 44
Avatar for Jnavedan
1 year ago

Put away the greed and play win-win

Yesterday, I had an unusual negotiation with a neighbor who offered to buy my 2004 truck parked at the curb where I live.

Although I am not excited to sell it yet, to have it outdoors without using it under the sun and water: is very silly. 

The truck has not been running for at least eight months after minor repairs. And, in my future plans, I don't see myself using it regularly.

We prefer to move around in another smaller vehicle; we have to run errands in the city.

So, recently my son posted the pictures on the Facebook marketplace for the sale of this one.

Several people have called about it, but no one has been serious about making a deal until yesterday.

I don't know if it is worthwhile to continue telling you the anecdote; I think about how my tale can enrich your life. 

At the end of the day, these are everyday situations anywhere on the planet. And these do not directly add value to you.

But indirectly, these give you a perspective to think about: It is wise to learn from the experience of others and not from your own if possible.

Well! It is also true that some only learn from their own experience.

The deal must be satisfactory to both parties

So I won't dwell too long on the story. Besides, it's still an incomplete situation, and maybe, I'll end up deciding to sell it to the neighbor if he insists again.

In any business, the buyer tries to pay as little as possible. While the seller gets the highest price possible in an unregulated market. Reaching a fair and satisfactory price for both parties is not always possible. 

Yes! This is the law of supply and demand in its simplistic expression. 

Moreover, circumstances and moods should not be underestimated since these determine the business opportunity.

Sometimes, one misses opportunities because greed takes over the mind and does not allow one to evaluate situations objectively. An aspect that intervenes is the opinion of others who can exert pressure on your decisions.

Peer-to-peer business sometimes adopts the dynamics of game theory. 

I imagine that good poker players must be excellent at business as long as they don't get caught up in greed; Well! If they were, they wouldn't be good poker players.

Yesterday, I felt the feel of the game. My neighbor was bragging about paying cash immediately by offering a discount amount far below my aspirations, something like a quarter of the price offered.

However, I conditioned the closing of the deal to the family consensus, knowing it to give him a very tempting opportunity cost. 

Gathered as a family, everyone gave their opinion on the matter. I proposed to divide the money from the sale among all of them. 

Once the sale was approved, I immediately called the neighbor. But to my surprise, the neighbor tried to continue bidding down, putting forward arguments to devalue the property he wanted to acquire.  

What would you have done about it?

There is a saying in my country that it is better to hold one bird in your hand than a hundred flying.

Well! I preferred to leave the bird almost in my hand for the hundred still flying.

Yes, with the money, I would have eliminated necessities and the fulfillment of my family's wishes. But at the expense of the right price.

In short, I did not close the deal because I felt that the conditions were not favorable to both parties. Also, the buyer tried to manipulate me. And that is not nice.

I ask you again, what would you have done?

Probably the same thing I did.

Source: Image by mohamed Hassan on Pixabay 

Final thoughts

The best deals are the ones where people feel like a win-win. If that's not the case. Then don't pursue this one.

Sure, you can't always win at everything. And sometimes you have to settle for trying to recoup your investment. 

As far as selling the truck is concerned. We'll see on Monday! The first thing is to make sure it is operational and clean to put it up for sale at a consignment shop. 

I hope my experience can enlighten you: if you are faced with a similar situation.

Ah! I forgot to tell you. I asked the neighbor if he handled cryptocurrencies. And unfortunately, he doesn't.

Perhaps if he had offered to pay me with Bitcoin Cash. I would have closed the deal.

An original article by @Jnavedan

The thumbnail by Soufiane Design on Pixabay

Cover image by Susrut Mishra on Pixabay 

 

I end by thanking all my colleagues in the community, who add value every day here. As well as all my sponsors for believing in the content I share with you.  

8
$ 8.85
$ 8.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
+ 1
Sponsors of Jnavedan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jnavedan
1 year ago

Comments