Ramblings about the will of mankind

2 48
Avatar for Jnavedan
1 year ago

I am a free thinker in search of God

Recently, I read @VoluntaryJapan 's relevant article, Moral Relativism: Why Voluntaryism and the Bible Are Incompatible, and it made me rethink my convictions and doubts.


In that sense, the arguments the author presents: are very respectable and convincing. Of course, it does not mean that you or I have to agree or disagree with him.

In any case, one must have an open mind and a gentle heart to judge statements with fatuous objectivity. If I have learned anything: it is the prevalence of false appearance that leads us to peel back the layers of an onion, making us cry.

I was born under the sway of Catholic culture. So, it was not until well into my adult life that I began to mistrust inherited traditions.

I even took a graduate course at a prestigious Jesuit college in my country. And now I wonder, more than twenty years later: How Christian was the curriculum of the area I studied?


As for Voluntarism, I have to be honest: I have no solid formation to back me up beyond what I perceive right here: among the community's members.

Sure, one can do research on the internet or in the public library today; and approach the subject from theological, philosophical, and political perspectives. But in the end, one must contrast Voluntarism under the prism of reality that one believes one to live.

In any case, the real problem lies in how one exercises one's free will. Even if some doubt that it exists. 

Almost five years ago, I suffered a profound existential upheaval. It marked a before and an after. I ceased to exist to be reborn into who I am at present. Better or worse, I don't know. It will be my actions that will be the evidence that will determine it before others.

How not to doubt the truth and infallibility of the word of God? Supposedly recorded in the canon of the Christian Bible. In the end, the scribes of any text considered sacred were men: replete with virtues and vices. Also, don't discount the fact that it also records the history of man through the millennia in his quest to understand God.

I understand who wields the alleged contradictions in such texts. No doubt, many criticize them with genuine conviction, confronting the exegetes, who defend them based on their knowledge. Giving in part fulfillment to statements gathered by the evangelists from the words of Yeshua (Jesus), such as the following:

(Lk. 12.49-53; 14.26-27)

"34 Think not that I am come to bring peace on earth: I am not come to bring peace, but a sword. 35 For I have come to set a man at variance against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law; 36 and a man's enemies will be those of his own household."

A text at first incomprehensible to me based on the benevolent belief of the Nazarene. In addition, you considered that the passage is without context and is the product of a transliteration from Greek (almost two millennia ago) to our language. You considered the possibility that even the Greek text is a translation from Aramaic or Hebrew, as the defenders of Shem-Tov's Hebrew Matthew point out.

Anyway, there is a lot of material to cut here.


Do you know how many apocryphal gospels exist? A lot of them. Enough to scrutinize the events in a remote place of one of the fiercest and most dominant empires in the history of Western culture.


Christianity was born under the aegis of the interests of the powerful of the times. And in this sense, it does not necessarily reflect the thinking of a pacifist Jewish faction that advocated repentance for wrongdoing.

If I have learned anything in my quest for intimacy with God, he is in everything and nothing. Without him, there is no purpose or purposelessness.


Regarding the verses in reference, attributed to Yeshua of Nazareth, assuming he really said it, and they are correctly translated. Do not forget that they must be studied in context. Besides, perhaps it is part of the parable speech: so who have ears may not hear, and eyes may not see.

So, he only introduced a perspective and guidance for the people's right course of action. Nevertheless, he relates the crude reality of coexistence among men: the war between neighbors.


I wonder if this is the inevitable consequence of the human will. 

In any case, I am suspicious of all religions. The study of ancient and recent history demonstrates a symbiotic relationship between rulers and priests, which is parasitic on the people those institutions serve.


In that sense, I remember reading a verse from the book of Samuel (judge and prophet). Who foretold 3000 years ago the effects of the people's request to anoint kings like the surrounding nations. The kings ended up oppressing the people they were supposed to serve.

There is nothing new under the sun...

In contrast, in another verse of the Christian New Testament, Yeshua teaches his disciples by example: That they, the masters, must serve others, even if they are servants when he himself washed their feet at the last supper.

Here it is clear. A person elevated to a position of authority is only the servant of those who elected him. Of course, power corrupts the will to comply with this maxim.

Ancient Israel paid the price for the will of their people by imitating the customs of neighboring nations. In any case, I can't say that God inhibited their free will.

Power and fortune debase Man!

Yes, I do not deny that there are contradictory passages both in the old and the new testament.

Perhaps it is just the result of millennia of elite manipulation and misinterpretation by people with good or bad intentions.

You will agree that atheists, agnostics, and believers, Fundamentalists or not, seek to understand the essence of God to support their arguments for or against.

Of course, in this essay, I do not dismiss or intend to put Christianity above other world religions.

In fact, I did not consider myself a Christian in the sense of religion, despite being in the statistics of the Catholic Church. Rather an apostate from the laws and traditions of men. Nor do I think that Yeshua or Paul of Tarsus were the founders of Christianity. Nope! They were Jews and followers of the Torah, writings, and prophets.

Today, I see in Christianity melting pots of beliefs and ancient cultures. I do not disqualify them, nor do I demonize them. But I understand, in the course of the centuries, it has destroyed those who are obstacles and assimilated what suits it.

For example, I recently learned that the originator of the Big Bang theory was a Catholic Jesuit priest. However, four centuries earlier, the same church burned Giordano Bruno alive for exercising free will and refusing to accept the dogmas of the papacy.

In the end, in God's great plan, if he has it since I suspect he doesn't need it, he manifests himself in free will and empowers certain men to proclaim it at the cost of life itself.

Yes, the pairing of freedom and equality is an enormous stumbling block for those who do not know how to discern between good and evil in the natural exercise of the will: Especially for those who hold power.

An original article by @Jnavedan

The thumbnail by 乌龟小土豆丶 on Pixabay 

I end by thanking all my colleagues in the community, who add value every day here. As well as all my sponsors for believing in the content I share with you.

6
$ 3.76
$ 2.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @VoluntaryJapan
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
+ 2
Sponsors of Jnavedan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jnavedan
1 year ago

Comments

"If I have learned anything in my quest for intimacy with God, he is in everything and nothing. Without him, there is no purpose or purposelessness.
"

This is a really interesting thought.

And another point you raised has me thinking: What an irony that freedom and equality are the stumbling blocks for those proclaiming — from the mouth of a figure who is called himself a stumbling block for non-believers the Bible — that the truth will set you free:

"Yes, the pairing of freedom and equality is an enormous stumbling block for those who do not know how to discern between good and evil in the natural exercise of the will: Especially for those who hold power."

Thank you for taking the time to check out my article. Have really enjoyed yours.

$ 0.10
1 year ago

Hello, my friend.

The pleasure is mutual. I also enjoyed your article, the source of my inspiration. By the way, your articles yesterday were great.

Happy weekend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago