Looking for the ultimate computer

12 124
Avatar for Jnavedan
1 year ago

The last article about my digital writing space and equipment was three months ago. Time flies by, and the day-to-day is consuming without realizing it.

Preparing my minimalist writer's setup: Computer Technology

I must be honest with you. I still write on my MacBook Air 13 Mid 2011. Maybe, it's because I don't want to get out of my comfort zone and habit. Not to mention that it is configured perfectly for my needs.

Besides, the laptop with all and the persistent failure in the security update, the defective battery, and that it slows down at times due to RAM consumption, still gives the battle when it comes to writing.

You may no longer remember that the selected backup computer was a small refurbished 2012 Lenovo ThinkCentre 72e Tiny.

Although it works well, improvements over the MAC are modest despite the revitalization under the GNU Linux Ubuntu Studio 20.04 operating system.

The main problem I had was with Libre Office. For some strange reason, I could not enable real-time grammar auto-correction.

Perhaps, it is still the lack of expertise with the OS.

Also, I did not find a (decent) application, extension, or add-on in Ubuntu for reading aloud my articles.

Listening aloud to your articles is an effective method to detect flaws in your writing. I am not resigned to doing without this valuable native feature on the Mac Book.

At this point, I wonder if I should raise enough money and buy a new generation Mac Book.

Sure, over a thousand dollars in this day and age; it's a luxury I shouldn't afford, even though I deserve it, and it's an excellent investment.

So I explored new, somewhat more frugal options with satisfying benefits.

Then, I proposed to my son to make a trade-in.

I bought him a Dell Latitude 7240 laptop that I saw for less than $200 (an unmissable offer), and in exchange, he would give me his Dell Optiplex 9020 Micro.

Source: Processor comparison between Mac Book Air 13 Mid 2011 and Dell Optiplex 9020 Micro on https://cpu.userbenchmark.com/

We would both get what we wanted: he would get mobility, and I would get more computing power.

Perhaps, I should have gone for a big desktop computer, but bigger is not always better or suits your needs.

The computer has a fourth-generation I5 processor with eight gigabytes of RAM and one terabyte in storage (mechanical drive).

However, I installed an additional 256-gigabyte flash drive through an M2 SATA port. I installed the latest version of Fedora (36), and it works great during the test time I've been using it.

However, being a recently released OS (early May 2022). I am waiting for the community and developers to fix the normal bugs during the production release.

I have high expectations. At first, I was thinking of a cheap backup computer. Now I am thinking of leaving it as the main one.

It's been about nine months since my first article posted here related to this issue, and I'm still not ready to make the final leap.

Buy a new laptop for BCH. Expense or investment?

How complicated is it to change computers and operating systems, and how do you work on it?

I guess not much!

At least I'm having fun in the process while learning new skills.

Plus, I get to adjust as far as the blanket will take me.

I hope to be able to tell you soon when I start using my new computer for real.

Then, my faithful writing companion (the old Mac Book Air) will have the time and attention of the technical service to be renewed as much as possible.

An original article by @Jnavedan

The thumbnail by Picography on Pixabay 

I end by thanking all my colleagues in the community, who add value every day here. As well as all my sponsors for believing in the content I share with you.

21
$ 15.19
$ 14.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 9
Sponsors of Jnavedan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jnavedan
1 year ago

Comments

Many people try to make money on Twitch, but due to the low number of views and low activity in general, it becomes very difficult to bypass Twitch's algorithms. I recommend paying attention to solutions such as Streamerplus. This bot, more about which at link https://streamerplus.com/, makes it possible to instantly increase activity on the channel through paid views.

$ 0.00
4 months ago

No matter how perfect and powerful your computer is, you will still have to clean it from time to time to maintain its performance at a high level. Many people forget that download files can take up a lot of space, and here https://setapp.com/how-to/delete-downloads-on-mac you can find different ways to clean up downloads on a Mac. In addition to simple solutions, there are also software and app recommendations.

$ 0.00
4 months ago

No matter how perfect and powerful your computer is, you will still have to clean it from time to time to maintain its performance at a high level. Many people forget that download files can take up a lot of space, and here https://setapp.com/how-to/delete-downloads-on-mac you can find different ways to clean up downloads on

Hi, my friend.

You are quite right. Even, you have to service the hardware, if possible, with an authorized service, no matter how old it is.

Thanks for the recommendation.

$ 0.00
4 months ago

I really would like to have a new computer that not only allows me to do my work but also to be able to play on it in my spare time, I will continue working hard until I manage to buy it, this article motivates me even more to continue doing my best to get my new computer

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i thought that only happened to me, i have a computer in storage since 2019 and this year i am using it. i hope your new computer is wonderful and generates happiness for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I'm surprised it happens to you too.

Thanks, I'm sure I'll enjoy it very much.

Greetings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I create eighty five greenbacks every hour for operating a web job at . I ne’er thought I may have it off however my relief makes ten thousand bucks monthly working this job and she or he suggested Pine Tree State to be told additional regarding it. The potential with this can be endless. wq01 For more detail …… https://t.ly/oOWt

$ 0.00
1 year ago

En mi caso, siempre recurro a mis hijos para saber si una computadora es buena o no. Dejé de escribir por un tiempo a causa de que mi pc tenía problemas con el disco duro y se volvía loca, pero unca tomé las previsiones de respaldar la información fuera de ella perdiendo todo (direcciones de billeteras, 2FA, codigos QR de respaldos, etc) y con esto dinero, jaja. Ahora, mi hijo mayor me ha dado por un buen precio una computadora de mesa que él mismo había armado para jugar en linea. De manera que, parece que ando en un ultimo modelo con luces por todos lados para seguir creando contenido, jaja. Espero que no me de problemas al menos en el conrto tiempo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hola paisano.

Perder información criptográfica puede ser una catastrofe si fueras un gran inversor como el benefactor de esta plataforma. Bueno, aunque no lo fueras, también lo sería. Espero que hayas aprendido la lección y no hagas como yo. En casa de herrero cuchillo de palo. Jajaja.

Ahora que tienes un ordenador tipo Gamer. Quizás te animes a hacer reviews de algunos juegos y los publiques de vez en cuando, además de divertirte cuando estés aburrido.

Saludos mi amigo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Todo es posible, paisano. No me gustan muchos los juegos por su efecto adictivo, pero todo es posible, jaja.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

if you look at the specifications, the computer has good specs, my friend,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Undoubtedly, for a user like me, these 2014 specs are still sufficient today.

$ 0.00
1 year ago