Is there such a thing as a crypto-verse?

0 35
Avatar for Jnavedan
1 year ago

Crypto-verse expands around

In several of my articles, I have used the term "Crypto-verse." It is more! I believe I have abused a dubious word.

I don't know if anyone endorses it or if there is a consensus to define it accurately.

Maybe, it is just stupidity of mine or of someone to whom I heard or read it. Come to think of it! I can't find anything in my memory that leads me to any specific place where I talked about the crypto-verse.

So, I only got carried away by the pleasant sonority of the union of two terms in the style of the Metaverse.

Of course, I don't pretend to claim exclusive use of the expression. That would be a vain ego explosion. In fact! If you search the Web, you will find some websites (especially video game websites) that exploit the compound word crypto-verse.

In any case, I associate the term with cyberpunk culture, adapting it to the current digital phenomenon.

It will probably have the same fate as cyberspace, popular at the beginning of this century. But this is no longer heard in specialized social media.

The fashionable term is Metaverse. Although, it is still far from the fullness of this concept: an immersive world in the style of the Matrix trilogy.

Instead, every day the word "crypto" inserted in Blockchain technology invades homes with new monetary ecosystem projects capable of overthrowing the dominant one.

You understand why I use crypto-verse. It is not an alternate reality, nor does it need special devices to digitize the senses.

Although it is not a separate digital reality is marking milestones for the changes to come.

The crypto-verse is more than a fad. 

It is a reality that is become ubiquitous in our gadgets forcing the old-fashioned to try to ride the wave of change.

Ask yourself why are governments and banks pushing the accelerator on the launch of CBDCs.

Yes, the crypto-verse is like an atmosphere with renewed air that challenges those who deny it for selfish reasons of wanting to maintain power at all costs.

Come to think of it! The crypto-verse is better off being diffuse at the moment, something difficult to understand for the rigid minds of the status quo.

I don't know why I'm surprised. It has always been this way. History teaches that when Big changes happen, some resist but end up assimilated or swept away.

I would love to be able to travel a hundred years into the future to consult databases on the ultimate fate of the term.

Someone will say, "Man, don't worry, if you are lucky, in 20 years you will be able to transcend your biological limits, and maybe you will surpass Asimov's, bicentennial man".

Oh, the chimera of transhumanists!

Of course, I take it for granted that I will meet my expiration, just like my ancestors.

So, neither time travel nor the digital elixir of eternal life.

In that sense, whether the crypto-verse will achieve preeminence in the future will depend on the architects of the present.

Source: Image by Moondance on Pixabay 

FINAL THOUGHTS

One thing that amuses me is to give free rein to the imagination about the becoming of the things that constitute and determine our present.

The crypto-verse probably only exists for very few people, and perhaps the term will never become popular but undoubtedly is a good word that encompasses a phenomenon in our days.

Yes, fashions are also in the market of words.

Gradually some words transcend the jargon of small groups and nestle in the collective ideology of a society.

So we will have to wait for the judgment of time, although I fear that many of us will not be able to hear it.

An original article by @Jnavedan

The thumbnail and cover image by Gerd Altmann on Pixabay 

I end by thanking all my colleagues in the community, who add value every day here. As well as all my sponsors for believing in the content I share with you.  

5
$ 2.34
$ 2.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.01 from @Sonali
Sponsors of Jnavedan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jnavedan
1 year ago

Comments