Are you productive and profitable as a blogger? You need a second brain

2 54
Avatar for Jnavedan
1 year ago

Get organized to be productive and profitable

In my recent article, I rambled a bit about the ideas of efficiency and productivity in the big picture. But I left out the relevant it about profitability.

Perhaps, some were disappointed in expecting concrete value addition to satisfying an immediate demand for operationalizable information and foolproof methods to apply it for success.

Excuse me! The world of immediacy eats away at reality by presenting an illusion through the culture of self-help and marketing.

I was an avid consumer of bestsellers in this regard. I could list several, but there is no point. Besides, maybe it worked perfectly well for others, and I was the exception due to a lack of consistency. 

In any case, I wanted to implement these methodologies and recommendations to influence my work environment without weighing the weight of the corporate culture. Big mistake! Nobody asked me to implement an organizational change! 

Of course, that doesn't detract from my intention of wanting to be more efficient and productive. I didn't know how to sell the idea and its impact on the company's profitability. Besides, mega-companies already have gurus who charge a lot of money, by the way!

Use technology to your advantage

Now, this article will change the dynamic a bit. That is to say, I will share some strategies for those who, like me, dabble in blogging, not only for fun but also looking for income to pay the household bills. 

Perhaps, it may also be of interest to young professionals and students to organize their way to success. Well! Remember success is the result of preparation and constancy, without forgetting harmonious means and ends that make you enjoy the journey.  

So, from here, I'll get straight to the point. 

In a world overflowing with information, you need to bring order to the chaos that overwhelms you.   

Fortunately, the secret of the learned is within your reach today. Scholars know human cognitive limitations, so they have methodologies and tools to transgress the boundaries.

You need a second brain! 

As a blogger, the modern euphemism for writers, you will have faced a blank page block, despite the deluge of ideas in your head and jotted down somewhere lost on the computer.

I know you understand me very well! I've read you on occasion. 

You have an excellent general tool (computer) for what you are bad at. So you just need to apply the methodologies and techniques according to your style with patience to mess up the blank page, being productive. 

In this sense, you can try Obsidian (a multiplatform and free application) which allows you to literally fulfill the metaphor of the second brain.

Of course, there are other applications of this type on the web, such as Notion, that you can also explore. In my case, I'm still structuring my second brain with Obsidian, and I don't want to be reckless to tell beyond my little experience.

Knowledge grows by layer.

When you start with the extension to your tool, it will be like modeling a baby's brain. If you raise it wrong, don't expect to get good behaviors.

Here you will need the experiences of the wise men of the past. Fortunately, today some have systematized systems for taking notes and generating knowledge.

So, get familiar with the Knowledge Manager (KPM). On the web, you will find a lot of content about it based on approaches such as David Allen's or Tiago Forte's, to name a few.

Source: Image generated by Stable Diffusion and edited by me.

 Final Thoughts

Using technology as an extension of your brain sounds cool! Of course, don't forget the risks involved. Generally, these tools rely on cloud services, so there is the possibility of violating not only your privacy but also exposing the values and principles you share.  

Like it or not, we live in an increasingly intrusive world.  

Just as our brain has the skull as a protective container, we must provide a second ("digital") brain with a container.  

I recommend, at first, if you are encouraged to build your second brain, to run it on the hard drive of your computer.  

Also, evaluate decentralized storage options such as IPFS or blockchains such as Filecoin or Sia.  

I left for the closing, the crucial question.

How profitable are blogs?

Yes, it is vital to have a personal blog that will constitute the presentation of your personal brand capable of being monetizable.

Well, it all depends on what you want and the connection with your target audience. Needless to say! Building a personal brand takes time, talent, dedication, and much work.

Always give your best in every attempt.

Oh, by the way! Don't invent the wheel: use it and improve it if you can.

And the money? Well-marketed quality works wonders: money will follow, especially in the age of the web3.

An original article by @Jnavedan

The thumbnail by  Gerd Altmann on Pixabay 

Cover image by  Dirk Wouters on Pixabay 

I end by thanking all my colleagues in the community, who add value every day here. As well as all my sponsors for believing in the content I share with you.  

9
$ 13.65
$ 13.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pinkchic
$ 0.01 from @kingofreview
Sponsors of Jnavedan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jnavedan
1 year ago

Comments

Wow having a second Brain is new and different idea for me. I'll try to use these application too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, it is a methodology that goes hand in hand with the rise of information technology. It can help you a lot in areas of your life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago