Why Science Is So Underrated?

8 43
Avatar for Jihan
Written by
2 years ago

The thing that made me to write this article is this

I actually don't get views and I am totally okay with it. But 17 views and only two people liked it. If it were a story, then I guess some people would be able to judge whether the story is good or bad. But this is pure science and I didn't make it up. I just wrote what is the case. If I didn't get much view, I would still be worried, cause people don't have that interest. It's bad, really bad. But this thing is bothering me much more, people saw the post, clicked it and didn't read it or didn't like it. I do not have hunger for likes nor I am saying to like my post. But if you know me, you know what I am trying to accomplish here.

And people are not the only case. Tell me, if Read Cash stops giving you tips, how many of you would still write articles here? It's the open truth that most of us are here for money. Don't get me wrong but yeah!! most of us, including me. But science based articles are underrated in these case as well. You are seeing, I wrote a 5 minutes worth post with pure knowledge and got 76 cent. And It was 4 cent untill today. I got some upvote last night. For 30-35 hours after I wrote the post, it was only 4 cents. That means even the bot doesn't evaluate the science articles.

I am not writing this based on only one phenomena. I wrote pure science articles before and all of them were like this one. Not much reward from @TheRandomRewarder. Not only this, I am a student of Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology. I brought two of my friends and two senior brothers who just focused on science based articles and they were so much humiliated from this unusual behaviour that they left without earning something. So, not only the living people, but also a software has not been valuating a science based article.

Pardon me but it's the truth. If I wrote, what I eat, where did I visit, I am going to do in future, what I am gonna eat tomorrow or something just to write something. Even I would get more upvote than this. And it's proven already. I also wrote something like this and got attention. I believe in versality. But in between everything, why only science based ones are this much underrated I don't know.

Let me tell you a recent event. You know cricket? Bangladesh cricket team beat South Africa in a away series and then BCB announced to gave the team 3 crore money. 3 games and 3 crore. Did any scientist ever got 3 crore money for publishing a paper or making a breakthrough? The vaccines that were developed, the vaccines without which all these sports, actually the world, went behind the doors,scared and devastated, I didn't here those scientist receiving millions of money. Where a football player earns 6-12M euros per year. In a shorts, people come and offer sponsorship but in a research, sponsorship is beyond imagination, managing fund is tough. Me and Hanzell once talked about it. Last year in April. So almost a year. We know what we have been going through and I just put an example in front of you.

I don't know how much educated people here are, specially the moms. I hope they are well educated as writing an article in English is not so easy. Remember you read in 'Wonders of modern science Essay' that 'We live in an age of modern science?' Do you actually know the depth of this line? Everything is science. If you are reading the post( I suppose not many will read as I have put the word 'Science' in the title, not many would be interested), you are looking at your pc/mobile screen which is science. Sitting under a fan, that is science. When you are sitting on a chair, that is science as well because without having the proper angle, it wouldn't work. Everything around you is science. Then why it is so disrespected in every sectors. I pity two professions, researchers and teachers(Not any more cause most of them are earning millions by forcing students to take tution in Bangladesh). Physical works make you tired. But mental work makes you tired, frustrated, depressed, ill. Doing a regular work 10 times is easier than doing something new once. It's not that easy dear. It doesn't deserve this kind of values.

My purpose of the article is not 'I am not earning ' and I am 'Ranting about it'. It's about the truth. May be I didn't presented it in a broad manner because I didn't study on the recent facts. Because many of the people wouldn't understand, wouldn't care. All we care about money. You can buy a product of that has been invented but not the work and brain behind the invention. Where were your Elon, Jack and other rich ones when covid affected. Why the world had to wait 1 long year for making a vaccine? Ask yourself.

Never mind. I respect all the articles here but I still think science based articles should be given more credit that they are receiving. It's discouraging the young generation to write and spread knowledge. I am not going to stop because writing also helps me to review my knowledge and I feel satisfied even if one people learn something new. I added it to my genre. I will write on things that I studied, found interesting and new things I have known. Pray for me.

8
$ 2.64
$ 2.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.04 from @Oikawa
+ 5
Sponsors of Jihan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jihan
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

In my case, I just go on a layman's level of English with science related articles. I don't stop but the goal now is for scientific appreciation. Whether they understand or not is on their part already but all I can say is that I did what I could to share facts normally overlooked

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I try to use analogies and try to relate them with simplers elements of nature and society. From my point, I am also determined to write them more often whether people or bot appretiate or not

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think I totally understand what you're trying to say, the way people view science related articles with disdain is more than disheartening. Even the Artificially intelligent REWARDER rewards it lesser. Had it been about Cryptocurrency, Relationship, Food or Others you will see people liking and dropping their comments. Science is Loathed and Belittled. This needs to stop.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's also true the Random Rewarder is learning. It's an ML model that's trained on some data, and there are people mentioning it tip more if you write good articles on BCH, so we can see some biases in the data being trained. And it's not just science that is underrated; quite a lot of articles not related to cryptocurrencies, BCH, these kind of stuffs, are underrated, if you're based on the Random Rewarder. I don't know the statistics of articles written here though: how much they're from other classifications/groups, and how interesting do people find them.

(anyone can correct me if one is wrong)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True.. But not totally.. the users who write articles based on BCH are somewhat star users like. So when they are writing other things except bch, they are getting tips as well. It's not about the BCH based articles. It's the users who are write BCH based MORE FREQUENTLY

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right agree.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately, most of our readers only read those content that is easy to understand for them. That exclude sports, science, and crypto staff 🤣 and I guess I missed that article of yours..did I? I'm even getting more views than comments and lesser likes. .sometimes I thought, what's the use of viewing an article if they won't say anything or drop a like or tips?/_😅.. I'm not after the tip though, I'm after the like and comment.
And in my case, if I can't read an article due to lack of time, I'll just like and tip it. If I read it, I will like, tip, and comment on it... But the random rants and ramblings are getting more views and comments haha..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True. I know it's hard for people to understand the science things. That's why I tried to make some connections. Like some cells with police, some with guards. Just basic. But I think there are less people who want to learn. Like if I talk about myself, I read articles to learn about many things. Like from your post, I know about many places and know about different foods. From ruffa, the same and her perspectives. I don't underatand the crypto stuffs actually, so I skip those mostly.

The problem is, we lack patience including me. But it's true that science articles are the most underrated one. Look...19 views and people didn't even bother to press a like🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago