When I'm under the weather.

0 7
Avatar for JessicaOssom
2 years ago

Recently I've been a bit under the weather and I think I should blame it on harmattan and the dust that comes with it. As a chorister in my church, it affected my vocal cords to that I find it hard to sing, even when I try, what I end up hearing is not just pleasing. For some reason, due to the weather, the phlegm that stays in my throat has been refusing to go away. This whole thing started at the beginning of January.

1️⃣ Feeling under the weather? A bowl of hot Chicken Soup does it for me, maybe sprinkled with bacon bits. What food makes you feel better when you are feeling sick?

For my case, as I type, I'm currently brewing my ginger tea.

Valeria Boltneva


I haven't taken any drugs for these sneezing and dry throat though. Yeah, the throat is feeling dry now. Before now, it was always filled with phlegm that makes me want to clear my throat all the time.

LIFE OF A SINGER
According to my research, no matter how the phlegm in your throat is, no matter how it makes you feel, one thing you should NEVER DO is to clear your throat because it tends to be EXTREMELY traumatic to your vocal cord. For instance, you are to perform a song, suddenly, you felt the need to clear your throat and you gave in to that need, you clear the throat then went to perform. What you've done at that moment is like injuring your vocal cords before you use them.

BACK TO MY ANSWER
Like I said earlier, I'm still a bit under the weather because of this and the only that has been making me feel better is my ginger tea. Not the processed ginger tea though, I had to go to the market to buy enough ginger that would be needed, I bought honey too.
Whenever I want to take it, I blend the ginger then pour it into a cup, when the water is hot enough, I pour it into the cup and leave it till the temperature cools off, I finally put in about two spoons of honey.

I don't rush when taking it, I gently sip it so it would touch everywhere. Even this doesn't wash the vocal cords, I take it because of the soothing feeling it brings which makes me feel better. So far since I've been taking it, I don't feel the phlegms in my throat anymore, that feeling of me wanting to clear my throat is gone. However, now, all I feel is dryness, what is happening to me!!

Well, it's the weather, it must be because of the harmattan and dust here, I can only keep helping myself by staying hydrated, having enough rest, and protecting myself so the harmattan won't continue to keep me under the weather.

For my current situation, it has been hot ginger&honey tea, it is the only one that has been making me feel better.

Thanks for reading.

1
$ 0.81
$ 0.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of JessicaOssom
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JessicaOssom
2 years ago

Comments