I Saw Anthony the Day He Died

0 7
Avatar for Jemimah_chisom
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Story

I had this weird feeling that Tuesday morning, but I couldn’t explain what it was. I had hoped it won’t be disastrous, little did I know that I would lose my best friend that day.

I’ve known Anthony almost all my life. We lived in the same street and had been to the same school all the way, and somehow, managed to stay in the same class. That aided our bonding process greatly.

The result of our UTME had just been released. Anthony and I did marvelously too. Don’t be surprised, if there’s a dull person amongst us, that would probably be you! I was highly elated. Anthony and I would be going to the university, or so I thought.

However, I was sure Anthony was yet to get the news about the result since his phone was in a bad shape. He relied on me for all of his information need regarding the exam and the result.

As I prepared to go over to his house to break this highly anticipated news to him, I imagined how happy he would be and how proud his parents would be, just like mine. I had to hurry.

On getting to Anthony’s, he was just leaving the house, walking towards the gate which I just threw open with so much eagerness. “Ogini kwa!” Anthony asked looking surprised.

“We made it!” I shouted. “We passed the UTME! University here we come!”

But Anthony didn’t look really excited after I broke the news to him. He just said “Okay”. That didn’t go down well with me so I asked why he wasn’t excited as I was.

“See eh, Obinna, I have bigger problems now. I really need money to sort out my mom’s hospital bills or the doctor’s won’t touch her again.” He said. “Your mom kwa? Is she sick? Since when?” I asked.

“She fell off the stairs this morning. Doctor said some things I don’t quite understand. My dad won’t explain to me either. I just know that he said he won’t touch her again if we don’t make a deposit of N100,000 and there’s no money in this house, I know for sure”

“What do you intend to do now?”

“I have to get the money somehow”

“How?”

“You don’t need to know. I need to run now. I’ll see you later Obinna”

That was the last time I saw him.

The very next day, I heard a very sad news. Anthony had gone to rob a jewelry shop with some notorious boys from the next street. That would have been how he planned to raise the hospital bills. I wish he mentioned it. There’s no way I would have let him go on with such plan.

However, he was caught, alone. The other boys escaped.

The mob didn’t take him to the police station. They took the law into their hands and set him ablaze.

I wish I was there to tell them that Anthony isn’t a thief. He had a bright future ahead of him. We were going to go to the university.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Jemimah_chisom
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Story

Comments