Come with me to Zadar, the beautiful city of Croatia

27 78
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

This is the city where my life story began. I was born in Zadar and spent several years of my childhood there. Unfortunately, due to the war and the situation in my country, the former Yugoslavia, I had to leave this city with my family and move to Serbia, where I live today. But hometown is never forgotten and the dream of returning there accompanies you throughout your life.

For me, Zadar is the most beautiful city in the world. I am taking you there today and I look forward to your impressions. Let's start the city tour.

Zadar is a city in Croatia and is located in northern Dalmatia, on the Adriatic coast. It has a long and dynamic history and a lot of cultural sights. The first thing you can feel when you come to the city is the spirit that will take you back to some old times, especially when you walk the old, narrow, picturesque streets. Such streets are called "kale".

One of the "kala" streets in the old part of town

During its history, Zadar was part of the Roman Empire, so the remains of Roman urban construction and culture can be seen today and they testify to the more than 3000-year-long history of this city.

During the period of Roman colonization of the city, the Roman Forum was the center of public and religious life.

Remains of the Roman Forum

On the ruins of the ancient forum is the Church of St. Donatus, which can be considered a symbol of the city of Zadar. This unusual circular church attracts the eyes of visitors and its interior is also quite interesting.

Church of St. Donatus

In addition to the Church of St. Donatus, there are several other churches that are definitely worth seeing because they have significant historical value. One of them is the Church of St. Francis. It is the oldest Gothic church in Dalmatia, dating back to the 13th century.

Church of St. Francis

One of the most valuable cultural monuments of Zadar is the Orthodox Church of St. Elias (Sv. Ilija). This church was built in the 16th century, in the Baroque style.

Church of St. Elias

Near this church is the Pillar of Shame, which in the distant past was used to publicly humiliate offenders. Throughout history, people have encountered different types of punishment that have become milder over time. It is good that this pillar is now only a part of the past.

Pillar of Shame

The Church and Monastery of St Mary in Zadar was built in 11th century in the Pre-Romanesque style. Something that attracts attention when it comes to this church is the bell tower that stands nearby. It remains today in the original version of the Romanesque bell tower.

Church and Monastery of St Mary

There is one interesting story about the Church of Our Lady of Health. A painting of the Lady of Castello was kept in that church. When a great fire broke out in Zadar in the 18th century, the people of Zadar cried out in fear and desperated called upon the Lady of Castello or today Our Lady of Health. As the fire was extinguished thanks to the help of Our Lady, the people of Zadar have been holding a procession every year on November 21 as a sign of gratitude to Our Lady. On that day, fritters (fritule) are distributed to passers-by. Fritters are festive pastries, flavored small donuts.

Church of Our Lady of Health

One recognizable building of the city is the Cathedral of St. Anastasia. It is a monumental Romanesque building, built in 12th and 13th century.

Cathedral of St. Anastasia

My attention was drawn to the remains of the Stomorica church. The shape of the ground plan of this church resembles a key, so according to tradition it symbolizes the keys of St. Peter. Today, only the foundations of that church have been preserved.

Remains of the church Stomorica

It is known that Zadar is the city with the most beautiful sunset. There is one circular place on the coast from which you can enjoy the stunning sunset and that place is called The Greeting to the Sun. This circle consists of solar panels that collect sunlight during the day and convert it into electricity in the evening, and light effects in various colors can be seen. It is amazing place dedicated to the sun. I'm sorry I don't have a photo to show how these colorful lights are seen in the evening.

The Greeting to the Sun

When I was a child, my parents loved to walk with me by the sea. That place, Zadar seafront called "Riva" will forever remain my fond memory. It is a place of gathering and meeting. One of the city's biggest attractions, the Sea Organ, was later built there. The Sea Organ is a famous architectural masterpiece, a blend of music and architecture. Under the influence of sea energy, beautiful and unique sounds are produced.

Sea Organ

I was born in a new part of the city and the new and old part of the city are connected by this bridge.

One of the most famous places in Zadar is the square of five wells and the Captain's Tower. Medieval building.

Five wells square and the Captain's tower

The small harbour of "Foša" attracts tourists. It is one of the favorite places for photography, and a special attraction is the old land gate.

"Foša"

One fascinating attraction is the Zadar Sphinx. It has an eagle on its chest, and instead of a paw it has fingers with which it once held a large sword to protect the shell with a small pond. There was a lot of imagination about this sphinx. It was thought that gold or some room was buried under it.

Zadar Sphinx

Another famous place where people gather and meet is the People's Square, centre of urban life from where paths lead in all directions to the most popular points of the city. In the City Loggia, Zadar citizens have been gathering and discussing the most important questions.

City Loggia

On the opposite side of the People's Square, there is a City Sentinel from the 16th century with a clock tower where clock beats continuously. In many cities there is a clock in the main square, where people meet.

City Sentinel

I tried to present as many sights of this beautiful place in Croatia as possible. I hope that reading the article you experienced the spirit of Zadar and that I motivated you to consider visiting this city. There are many more sights that I did not mention, many beautiful beaches and authentic streets such as the famous Kalelarga, but something must remain to see if you go there.

I encourage you to present your hometown. If you decide to write about your hometown, please tag me. I would like to read your articles.

Thank you very much for your time.

Article and photos are original and mine. All the photos were given to me by a close friend from Zadar and were taken yesterday.

21
$ 3.76
$ 3.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Gemstone
+ 8
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

a very beautiful city

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow your city so melting and you spend your whole life I think you have lots of memory time there.... I really like your city and I really appreciate you for this may you have good time and good wishes in your city mein enjoy you are time ....god bless you for your

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks, but I mentioned in the article that I didn't spend too much time there. I spent only part of my childhood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very nyc . Good article best of luck

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very nice article @Jelena. I love the Zadar Sphinx!!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad that you found this article interesting. Sphinx is really attractive. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it is. And all the pictures are also very nice. I am very visual. And I appreciated your comments on everything, from the architecture to the history. Bravo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

greetings from new users, the city is very clean with old buildings that are still standing strong and awake, the church is still intact there and the most amazed is the zphinx carving that is there. why is he there friend? I remember the ancient Egyptian buildings..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think it was made in honor of some woman and according to legend it fulfills love desires. 😊 I am glad you found it interesting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

because I find this content and description eye-catching, I'm proud to be a part of an argument. I want to learn a lot from you because senior here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please dear, take me there. I want to 💞

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I would go immediately. To live my dream there. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, that was an amazing ride. Streets are super clean. And that solar panelled circle and its surroundings is fascinating indeed. I am taken away by how many things are there to see in Zadar. Thanks for sharing this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is really amazing city, worth visiting. It has a special spirit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How cool is the Sphinx! Croatia is a beautiful country.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, they damaged it a bit when they checked to see if there was anything underneath. 😊 I agree, Croatia is a beautiful country. When the former Yugoslavia disintegrated, Croatia got the most beautiful territory, the entire coast, and Serbia, unfortunately, has no access to the sea.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Croatia got the coast and the tourism, so how do you consider yourself nationality wise now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My nationality is Serbian because my parents were born in Serbia. My dad worked as a military officer in Zadar when I was born. We had to leave everything, the apartment, the job and start from scratch in Serbia. But I always come back to Zadar, I love that place very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

okay, yes when I went and saw the war damage it reminded me of growing up in Belfast Northern Ireland when we had our war, the bullet holes etc

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry to read that you are separated from your homeland by war. You have shown beautiful pictures there. I love the narrow streets. The keys to St. Peter's and the sphinx with its hidden room. What pride you must feel for such architectural beauty.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Unfortunately, the war completely changed the further flow of my life and separated me from this beautiful city. Belgrade, where I live, is also beautiful, but the seaside places have a special spirit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The churches really caught my whole attention this time . I will gonna add this on my bucket travel list hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad that you like my favorite city. Yes, there are a lot of old churches, worth visiting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a nice place ,especially those old churches .Thank you for giving us a tour of that place jelena🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad that you found it interesting. It is my favorite city because I was born there and it's really beautiful. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great place to spend quality time, watching great historic structures. Wow, i love it here

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is really a very nice place and I would definitely recommend everyone to visit it. There are many sights worth seeing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago