Caracas in Belgrade

22 35
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Recipe, Food, Venezuela

I would like to dedicate this article to a special cake that brought Venezuela to my home for a while. It is Tres leches, in a slightly different way than the one I’ve already tried. This is a real Venezuelan cake, made according to an excellent @CoquiCoin recipe.

If you would ask me when I was a child what I first think of, when someone mentions Venezuela, I would say telenovelas. When I was a kid, I loved watching Venezuelan telenovelas. At that time, the most popular telenovela was Kassandra, an interesting story about beautiful woman Kassandra and her life.

Kassandra was my country's obsession. Men were in love with her, girls and women wanted to look like her and parents gave female children her name. Each of us had a book, both the first and the second part. I still keep it today. It reminds me of my childhood.

For me, Venezuela was the country of the most beautiful women in the world because all the actresses who acted in these telenovelas were unusual and stunningly beautiful. I dreamed of traveling to Caracas and meeting Kassandra, but she soon came to Belgrade because of her great popularity. I don't think I've ever seen so much people's enthusiasm as then. 😊

If you would ask me to this day what is my first thought except Kasandra 😊, when someone mentions Venezuela, unfortunately I would say inflation. But today I would say Tres leches.

Tres leches is a sweet pleasure, full of creamy refreshing milk and amazing egg whites snow on top. This cake has always been too sweet for me because of the caramel on top, but according to this Venezuelan recipe there is no caramel, so it is finally the taste I needed to make the cake perfect.

It requires three steps.

1.step: Bizcocho

Beat the 4 egg whites until stiff and little by little add the 4 egg yolks, then the ΒΎ cups of sugar and finally the ΒΎ cups all-purpose flour. Put the mixture in a greased baking pan and bake in the oven at 180 Β°C (350 Β°F) for about 20 minutes.

2.step: Cream

Blend the three kinds of milk (1 pot of heavy cream, 1 pot of evaporated milk, Β½ pot of condensed milk). Use a fork to make holes in the sponge cake. Pour the cream over it.

3.step: Suspiros

Beat the 3 egg whites and 3 tablespoons of sugar and cover the dessert with it. Put it in the fridge until served.

My cake turned out thin because of the baking pan, but if you use a deeper pan, it will be thicker.

I can only say what the picture can't show. The taste is perfect. 😊

Since only egg whites are needed for suspiros, I mixed egg yolks with sour cream and butter and made these salty sticks, which are often eaten in Serbia.

So I mixed Venezuelan and Serbian flavors and my table is now international. Caracas came to Belgrade, the second time after Kassandra. 😊 It is fascinating how food connects people and it is a real pleasure when you can bring the tastes of distant countries into your home.

Thank you very much for your time.

Article and photos are original and mine.

@CoquiCoin me gustaría agradecerte mucho por esta maravillosa receta. Sigue siendo nuestra inspiración. 😊

12
$ 2.29
$ 1.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.05 from @Kike9781
+ 6
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Recipe, Food, Venezuela

Comments

And here I am who had no idea about it! How on earth it's possible?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🀣 Everything is possible Luci. You didn't know for Tres leches or Kasandra? πŸ˜€ In my country, people like to watch telenovelas. We also watched Indian series and one of them was an obsession of the people just like Kasandra. It was Balika Vadhu. I thought there was no end. πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love how through these platforms we can unite our cultures. A big hug.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, that is the best benefit of using these platforms. I am happy to be here with all of you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woww, seems like so yummy. You really have a good hand to cook huhπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‹

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks. It was really delicious. I love to eat and that's why I love cooking. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learned a lot and loved your article πŸ€—

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad that you found it interesting. Try to make this beautiful cake, it is awesome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I didn't know you guys were lovers of those novels. I remember that one in particular. You made me bring pleasant memories to my mind hehehehe. The tres leches cake is eaten in a few portions because being so sweet it gives a quick sensation of cloying.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We've already eaten the whole cake. 😊It's sweet, but so delicious. I'm glad I brought you pleasant memories. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I had curly hair and my classmates and I were watching that novela and they started calling me kasandra because of my hair. My physique had nothing to do with hers but they liked my long hair and I spent many weeks responding to her name and laughing out loud at the comparison. Hehehehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh lucky you, you were Kasandra! πŸ˜€ I had a similar situation with another actress from another telenovela. You reminded me of that now. In primary school they called me Paola because they thought I looked like her. That telenovela is Mexican and was called La usurpadora if I remember well. πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A usurper also passed through here. But with a Venezuelan actress. It was Marina Baura and Raul Amundarain. Very good novela.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, you made it!!!! I'm glad you liked it, and I loved your article. How not to remember Kassandra, here it was a great furor, and at that time, Venezuelan soap operas were watched worldwide. I hope that even though you have already tasted the Tres Leches and Kassandra has visited you, someday you will come to visit me. I will love to welcome you here.β™‘

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kassaaannndraaaa LOL I only remember the scream...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Jaja! apareciste :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣 I remember Dorinda the most 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would really like to visit you, it would be awesome experience for me. Thanks for the invitation, I will keep that in mind! 😊 We have already eaten Tres leches, everyone is delighted! Es delicioso! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learned a thing or two about Venezuelan delicacies.... do you cook so often as a hobby ?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love cooking very much and I am a food lover. Food is more than just a food for me. It is love and happiness. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is wonderful..now i see because it not everyday you see someone go out of their way to make delicacies and foreign dishes ... hats off to you Wish to have a taste of the Tres leches πŸ˜‹

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for the kind words. Try to make Tres Leches, you will enjoy

$ 0.00
2 years ago