Surviving 101: The Best Teachers In Life

21 40
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

"Never stop learning because life never stops teaching."

I was scrolling on Twitter looking for ideas for a topic and I came across to this image. The context is on point and with that, I'm going to share my learnings in each category and be relatable in general as much as I can.

Image from: Twitter

Rejections

Have you ever been rejected? Rejected in general. May it be at work, a person you admire, an idea you presented, a profession you want to pursue or you go unnoticed?

Have I ever been rejected? Hmm, I can't think of anything huge or devastating rejection though. I have been rejected but only petty or small ones and they didn't really take a large part of my life when it comes to learning.

Oh yeah, I remembered. This just happened recently. I looked for a tricycle to send me to the market but the driver rejected me because he was off to a different location with his passengers and so he should stick to this first choice.

I felt bad at first, my ego was shaken but then I realize that I should not take every situation as a big deal. I mean, if things happen unexpectedly, so be it. Face them bravely and own the moment. Thank you, next? As Ariana says. Maybe we just have to expect less on everything because that's how we get hurt the most.

Experiences

As an introverted person, I don't have that much of life experiences to share because all I did was go to school and go home right away after classes. Although I had a colorful childhood I should say, it's something I have in mind that makes me smile whenever I recall memories of it.

But at my age today, I wanna experience what other people do too. I have always wondered how it feels like to do skydiving or go swim with the dolphins. Riding a hot air balloon or witnessing the Aurora lights. Play in the snow or visit the zoo in Africa. See how huge elephants and giraffes are.

Or me picturing myself performing in front of a crowd and seeing them enjoying our music. Interact with other people and learn from them. I guess with these experiences that I look forward to, I will surely gain a lot of life lessons that I should probably miss if I do otherwise.

I'm not saying that I'm totally over with introversion, it's just me trying to discover more about life and get out of the box. Introversion made me who I am today though, I wouldn't be as deep, reflective, and observant as I am if it wasn't for it. I wouldn't be the person I am today if the environment I grew up in was different.

Mistakes or Failures

As they say, experiences are the best teachers in life. I say, learning from those experiences makes the best teachers in life. When you experience something and fail to reflect on it, that comes out as an ordinary situation in the past. However, when you get something out of that experience and apply it to yourself, that makes you a better person for choosing to learn from it.

I have made a lot of mistakes in life. Countless times. I think the biggest mistake that I committed in my entire life was to self-harm. I was at my lowest point at that time. I was vulnerable, it almost ended my life.

But I was given another chance and coming from that chance is a choice to live life again by redeeming myself from the failures and mistakes I have gone through. I should take ownership and take responsibility for my mistakes. I should start fresh and equip myself with the lessons I learned throughout.

I just wanna highlight this too, "you are not your past, it explains your behavior today but it won't define you for the rest of your life." Don't let your past excuse you to become who you will be in the future.

Time

Time tells how much we have wasted in the past. Time reminds us how important it is to spend it wisely. Time makes us feel that every second is gold. We often say "Time is gold" but we take it for granted mostly.

We only realize everything when we already lose the game of life. It's also a matter of making good choices or if not, owning up to the consequences. So are you spending your time wisely? Do you make every second count?

Betrayal or Heartbreak

Did someone betray you? When was the last time you had a heartbreak? Do you know what hurts the most? It is to realize how important and precious these persons were to you and they choose to break your heart.

I mean, it wouldn't be a heartbreak if they weren't important, right? You wouldn't feel betrayed not because you are acquainted with them but because they have a special relationship with you.

I have never experienced it and won't wish to be betrayed but I guess, this is just learning from other people who experienced it. Never expect or trust too much on anyone because when things don't fall into place, it's going to be major heartbreak.

This is to practice self-care too. Let's give ourselves the space that we need when going through a heartbreak or betrayal. After all, we are here in this world to thrive and make the most out of our lives.

Empty pockets

I'm lucky enough to not experience a phase in my life with empty pockets. There were moments when I almost run out of money but most of the time, I have sustainable funds to support and survive through the day. I also have a family I can run to when in need but as much as possible, I settle and exhaust everything to myself first before asking for help.

Mom has really good money management skills and I believe my sister and I got this from her. We were taught to handle money wisely and save if possible. I guess it also comes with the upbringing your environment has put you through, and it takes you to a realization that not everything is given and that you should work hard for it.

On the other hand, with you having empty pockets shows you how true and kind your people are to you. It reveals who are the people whom you can rely on when you are the one who is in need. I also wonder who will be those people who'll stay with me when I need them most?


Do you guys wanna share your learnings or experiences with these teachers too? I'd be more than happy if you tag me in your article.


Lead image source


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

8
$ 1.08
$ 0.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 3
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Magandang topic to ah. I love teachers whatever or whoever they maybe kasi they make us grow and improve.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's right. Whatever it may be, it also depends on how you take that experience and learn from it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

right now as a youth, the best teacher is mistakes and failures. i made several mistakes in school like cheating and be caught. i never tried to do it po again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, that's character development. You learned from it. That's a great progress already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Rejections, heartbreak, empty pockets and failures naku danas na danas ko yan. But always thankful sa mga naranasan ko kasi nagsilbing aral ito sa akin at naging malakas ako, at sa mga experience na yan, diyan mo din makikilala ng higit ang sarili mo, Ganun kasi talaga ang buhay, basta huwag na huwag lang talaga sumuko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you madam. You learn to know yourself better because of these experiences. 💯

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Relate ako diyan, I thought pag may rejections, failure na agad ako as a person

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't get discouraged madam. It's a redirection. 💯

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i agree... learning shouldn't have boundaries, learning is a continuos process that never stop until we leave the earth. rejection? yep experienced it many times but it shouldn't stop us in pursuing what we want in life

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello madam! Welcome back. Hehe. Na miss kita dito. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahaha namiss ko din kayo :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Learning knows no time and age because everyone has the right to learn and expand knowledge, my biggest rejection is when a woman who is my idol doesn't want to be with me anymore and without my knowledge she gets married and that's an indirect rejection but I really feel the pain.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's tough for you. But you can still love her from afar. How are you now?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am in good condition and have forgotten the story I once felt. Thank you my friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I got rejected many times, got worst experiences, failure was first step to my success and mistakes are in my nature. But yeah I didn't stop and resist against the fast strolls of storm. It was good motivational article sister.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I admire you for your strength going through those negative experiences 💪

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me madamsss , been rejected and now I learned my lesson. Never again, chorrrr hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya pala di ka umaamin sa crush mo madam. Pero habang buhay ka ba mgpapakulong sa fear sa yan?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Madamssss nadala na ako dun sa naunang dalawa kaya never again ahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All these things are important part of our life. If we are being rejected or failed we should try to be best version of ourselves and value our time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you. It's about character development.

$ 0.00
1 year ago