Maybe Writing Is Just Not For Me

15 65
Avatar for Jeaneth
7 months ago

When you thought everything started to go your way but you're wrong again.

Not long after we moved in here, I had the intense determination and courage to finally start my freelancing career. I was so eager to look for clients online. I reached out to people I know who have already established their careers in the freelancing industry.

I compiled the articles that I thought were considerable enough to showcase my potential in writing. I sorted out my certificates back in the years when I was still working as a Technical Support Agent in Convergys and as an IT Instructor at ACLC Davao.

I created my profile as detailed as it should be. I signed up to numerous websites as many as I could. To be honest, it was a bit tiring but I shrugged it off and covered it up with grit.

Some of them replied, but I couldn't get the initial tests done because man, I find their exams and sample writeups too hard. An article of 3,000 words for a tryout is too much for me. I could hardly accomplish an 800-word article. Yes, there are a handful of websites to help us, ChatGPT to be specific but I don't feel like using it. Maybe I just don't know how to properly maximize its potential.

Yes, I like writing but only to express what I feel. I find it hard to produce a write-up in a professional manner. I mean, expressing a professional opinion and getting through the dynamics of writing is complicated for me. Maybe writing is not just for me. I know in myself that I don't fully put my heart out in writing. I find the job tedious and I don't enjoy doing it. I feel like I'm meant to do secretarial work only. I think that's what I'm most comfortable with.

I could apply as an ESL Teacher but the scheduling is what I'm concerned about the most. This job is usually scheduled at night because of the time difference and as much as possible, I don't wanna trade my sleeping pattern. Working on a graveyard shift is tough. I have been there. It's exhausting. Lifestyle and health are greatly compromised.

I want to do singing, voiceovers, and voice acting, this is where I find myself enjoying the overall process. It's still gonna be stressful but it wouldn't be an issue that much because I like doing this job. Too bad, nobody has taken the courage yet to trust me because I'm a newbie and I can't provide them with the portfolio they're looking for.

I have tried applying for jobs on Upwork but I only ran out of connects and not even got the chance to have my proposals viewed. There are jobs available lurking anywhere on the surface but most likely, they're scams. You have to pay for a registration fee first before getting the job done. As much as possible, you wouldn't want to pull out money while on a hunt.

So now, I'm stuck. Helpless. Demotivated.


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

7
$ 0.08
$ 0.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Porwest
$ 0.01 from @zulfrontado
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
7 months ago

Comments

Success is often a very long road. It takes time, tenacity, commitment, and a no can fail attitude and fortitude. I think if you stick with it eventually you can find your way. Results sometimes take a very long time and you have to be willing to keep at it if you want to eventually get where you want to be...be it in writing, music, or any other pursuit you may have.

$ 0.00
4 months ago

I was also creating profiles, but with little success. By not having certified courses or money to pay for memberships, the possibilities are reduced. So I left it.

I think it might be a good idea for you to record videos, make popcasts or things like that. You can publish on web2 and web3.

Right now I'm testing Rumble, the alternative to YouTube. Pay to Paypal. I think it's a good place for videos.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

THank you for this Zul. Can you give me the link of web2, web3 and rumble?

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Web2 is all the conventional social networks (Facebook, Instagram, Tiktok, Twitter). There I am working on creating a personal brand with my username. I upload things from my life, like my plants, harvests, occurrences of my pets, and also my photographic compilations. I'm thinking of introducing some writing, like my poems, or books.

The web3, are the places where each action counts as money in your pocket. The web3 blogs that are best known are Read Cash, Blurt Blog, Hive Blog, Steemit. And others, but these are the ones I know the most. So it's a good idea to make videos and upload the link accompanied by text.

Also on web3 there are sites to make money with videos, such as Costv, Odysee, 3speak (part of the Hive Blog ecosystem), and Rumble. So far, I'm testing Rumble and Odysee. In Hive I don't publish yet, because I have few resources and I try to manage them wisely.

Here I leave the links of these platforms:

Rumble: https://rumble.com/

Odysee: https://odysee.com/

Cos.tv: https://cos.tv/

3speak: https://3speak.tv/

If you are going to start in Rumble, write to my telegram, to help you configure everything. I have been learning out of curiosity and thanks to Bard's AI, which I ask. There are few videos in my language (Spanish) and many do not explain important details.

https://t.me/frontadozul

$ 0.01
7 months ago

Wow, thank you for this detailed comment zul. I'll check these links out. What web3 link are you most active at?

$ 0.00
7 months ago

I am most active in Read Cash, Blurt and Hive. And on video platforms I really like rumble.

You are welcome :)

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Gotta check Rumble then :)

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Just keep on trying, ate. I have been in that phase too.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Pwede ba magpa refer sa inyo ni MJ Che?

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Shessh, wag mawalan pag asa be. Ako nga din hopeless na kasi i dunno where to get my funds. May background ka sa IT, laki ng kitaan jan, I suggest pa upskill ka if gusto mo tlga pursue career lalo na sa freelancing magagamit mo pagka IT mo.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Ang problema kase, di ako confident sa pagka IT ko. Napilitan lang kase ako sa course na to. Wala akong alam sa Programming, basic IT lang. Haha

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Ohhh parang na kwento mo na to dati ate. Hmm, if that's the case eh mahihirapan ka talaga. I suggest hanapin mo ung pinaka niche mo talaga. Naka join ka na sa hive? Kanta kanta ka na muna dun.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Just keep trying bebe sis.. ako din i usually hated doing articles more comfortable ako sa short stories and novels... I think kase may different styles naman din ng writing na magsuite sa gusto natin sobrang boring nga din sakin lalo na technical writing

$ 0.00
7 months ago

DI ako bagay sa technical writing kase nakaka drain ng utak. Haha

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Same hereeeeeeeeee

$ 0.00
7 months ago