Fighting with Your Inner Demons + Psychoanalytic Theory

21 65
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Do you also have these demons inside your head telling you that "you're not good enough, everything is messed up, there's no way of finding a solution to your problems, and you're not worthy of anything"?

They are the main reason for our sleepless nights, reminding us of our failures and rejections. They are whispering how pathetic and helpless we are now based on the decisions we made from the past. They fuel you with a lot of what-ifs and I should've done this and that.

They feed our brains with negativity and they usually come up when we least expect them most especially if we are vulnerable and hopeless.

Is there a way on how to handle these demons living inside your head? Where do they come from in the first place? Did we make them? How can we shut them up?

Here's what we need to know first to enlighten us where these shits are coming from:

Effects will always have its causes. There's no way you'll have effects when causes of the situations did not exist. We develop negativity through external forces such as our bad experiences, negative remark you never forget from a person whom you trusted so much, something someone said when we were a child, or even a simple IG post of your classmates in high school showing the luxuries they have possessed right now.

According to Sigmund Freud's Psychoanalytic Theory, one's behavior is greatly affected by an interaction between the three component parts of the mind. These are mainly:

  • ID - this is the most dominant among the three personalities. This is usually an impulsive and aggressive behavior. It emphasizes the pleasure and desires of our bodies.

  • Superego - this is mainly concerned with social rules and morals, better known as "conscience" or "moral compass" which are taught by our parents and from our culture.

  • Ego - this is the rational, realistic, and practical part of our personality. It is less demanding than the id and it’s what Freud considered to be the β€œself”. Its job is to balance and weigh the demands of the id and superego.

Photo from google
A simple explanation of how the conversation goes

Being aware of how our brain works is the first step to deal with your inner demons. As always, the first step is gonna be always the hardest. And no, these demons won't disappear; they'll always be there. However, being conscious that they don't necessarily need to control us or our reactions is where we become powerful.

We don't need to always act the way our minds are telling us to do this and that. It is a healthy practice for us to always remind ourselves that it's just our stupid inner part of our brains that tries to overpower us.

It is the Id personality that is mostly responsible for these negativities. However, our ego will still stand as the judge whether id is permitted or not.

It's like having an angel on one shoulder and a devil on the other: it's entirely up to us which one we pay attention to.

Meanwhile, it is also advisable to listen to our demons, because there could be a message.

We shouldn't ignore them completely; these critical voices in our heads might have something important to tell us.

As Charles Bukowski once said: "Don’t fight your demons. Your demons are here to teach you lessons. Sit down with your demons and have a drink and a chat and learn their names and talk about the burns on their fingers and scratches on their ankles. Some of them are very nice."

On a brighter side, these demons keep us honest, push us to improve and overcome adversity. They help us figure out the next steps.

Next time you find yourself dealing with the same situation again, keep an open mind, and listen to what your inner demons are saying. You never know, they could be revealing a truth that you've not yet faced up to.

Meditation really helps to concentrate and quieten the mind. However, it takes years to practice it effectively. For people who have a low amount of patience like me, well, that wouldn't work for me.

In positive psychology, a flow state is also known as "being in the zone" when you're fully immersed in an activity that you enjoy. You become so absorbed in what you're doing; you lose yourself and your sense of time and space. It's a beautiful feeling, and it can help you switch off from those inner demons.

Flow can be conquered by being creative: painting, drawing, sculpting, or playing a musical instrument or even at work. Find time to get into the flow every day; particularly when your inner demons are proving the most troublesome.

In my case, I play the keyboard whenever these demons are acting up again.

By the way, I would like to remind you that everyone suffers and we struggle in our own different ways. Don't ever feel like you are the only one suffering in this world. Even the brightest and best creative people in the world suffer. Often from the same negative thoughts. Your art and design heroes have inner demons too.

14
$ 2.94
$ 2.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Hanzell
$ 0.05 from @Yen
+ 2
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Comments

Chronic unrest is what makes me awake at night. Creativity is really good, especially for aspiring writers like me, but there are nights when the thing just keeps me awake... it's the downside to having the desire to outdo yourself everyday, I guess.

Your article is brilliant. This platform needs more writers like you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can relate to what you said here. Sometimes, there's too much going on through your mind which causes you not to have a good sleep.

Yay, thank you for that compliment. I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So you play the keyboards, that's actually cool. I don't play anymore, i just draw or play games. Anyways, i was thinking it was more of the voices in your head kind of article that drove people crazy but this was actually a really great read

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Whoa, so you tried playing the keyboard too? πŸ™ˆ

My bad. It was kind of misleading. Haha. Thanks for the tip by the way.

Anyway, can you give me an advice on how to handle these demons? From then on (after my attempt), they go crazy when I find myself looking at a knife, a scissor, a blade or anything sharp πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I diiidd, i was given piano lessons. Can't say I remember most of the songs but i can still play a few

Hmm.. i keep a marker in my pocket, mostly red. I draw on my arm instead of actually cutting. My therapist told me to do that last year because i wouldn't stop πŸ˜‚ i still can't seem to but i give myself a mandalla when i have an anxiety attack and i wait for the meds to kick in. They're very distracting and if you're like me who actually calms down when they see their own blood, go with red but if you hate that then go with black

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yay! So you earned that skill talaga. I'm still a beginner though, just relying on youtube ☺

In my case kase, whenever i see those things, it's like this demon haunts me of stabbing my chest instead of cutting my wrist eh. That's what the demon was telling me before the reason why it haunts me every time. Pero manageable naman.

I'm afraid lng if something terrible happens in the future, God forbid, I'm concern about how will I handle it. πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ehh but i saw your vid and you're playing pretty well though

I get that too. I used to keep a blade hidden in a wooden pendant. It's still as sharp because i still sharpen it πŸ˜‚ but i keep that around me for self defense now. But you should really try that. Get non toxic markers then just draw mandallas. The pretty and intricate designs make it more satisfying too. Though my brain still wants to see blood to calm down sometimes. Still don't know why

$ 0.00
3 years ago

keep it up....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Our demons are always around the corner, to avoid this from coming out you must shut it down, cast yourself and avoid the things that might trigger it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How do I avoid things like knives and scissors when I see it every day? Please refer to my comment on mommy yen's comment. πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh sorry, I didn't read it, my basis of these comments is not literal or about things. Well, I think you should overcome your trauma that's the only way that sharp things won't get any hold with you. If you cant do it yourself go to an expert, like a psychiatrist. They will help you overcome it and prescribe you some medications if your situation is triggered.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's going to be my last resort. I don't want to be a drug dependent as much as possible. I'm already aware that these things only play on my mind and I'm still finding my way out to this maze. I guess awareness is already a great progress? Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right too, being drug dependent is also not good.

Just remind yourself then that it was only on your mind, try your best to control your thinking so ID wont able to make bad actions.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will and I should. Hehe. Thanks for your valuable comment ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good information, very helpful article . i like it , keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Demons are there when youre always negative. When you think about your past.mistakes and decision , when you constantly asking that what if, when you always compare yourself to other.

The only way to make demons away is tp trust yourself. To accept that everything happens for a reason and there are always brighter Tommorow ahead of you.

And also be strong to fight that demon.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Thanks mommy yen. Let's keep fighting with our demons. Also, thanks for the tip. Hehe

After that incident, I don't know if it's normal but whenever I see sharp objects like knives or scissors and these things are normal to be present in a house right? It creates a scenario of me hurting myself although I can say that I'm no longer suicidal. It's just this crazy fucking mind that bothers me every time I see it. I cook sometimes so it's valid to use knife. πŸ˜”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seriously? Just pray and let God shoo the demon on your mind.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Hopefully, as soon as possible I can get through this. It doesn't happen all the time naman. May mga instances na nag trigger.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A better way of fighting your demon is to open up and analyze why it keeps following you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree, that's why I already open up right away about fighting my demon on mommy yen's comment po. Ano po advice niyo sakin? Hehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago