7 Stages of Long-Distance Relationships

38 116
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Have you been into a long-distance relationship? How was it? Did it succeed? Was it on and off? Or did the relationship just went off like a bubble?

Studies have shown that long-distance relationships have a success rate of 58%. Well, I guess that's pretty accurate as to how I observed the love stories that I have witnessed from my friends.

Some relationships even start that way so it will never be an issue since then, but this is a different story to deal with.

Here are the stages of Long Distance Relationships:

1. Decision

This is when the couple decides to try to make the long-distance relationship work. When one has the opportunity to travel for work, or get admitted to a far university, or is faced with an obligation to travel, and the other one cannot or chooses not to go with them, the couple has to choose between breaking up or entering into a long-distance relationship.

Common factors that cause the couple to enter a/an LDR are:

- travel due to job description or promotions

- entering the military

- education

- emergency

- family members moving

POV:

I met my boyfriend at the school where I taught for 2 years (2016-2018). We became a couple after 6 months of my service and then we entered LDR since I had to quit my job because of stress and health issues. It's going to be a 6-hour trip before we get to see each other. Yeah, I know it's not that far compared to other relationships out there but it's rare for us to reunite because of his work and personal reasons too. Plus, the pandemic is going on today.

2. Parting

This is when the couple spends every inch of time together before they get separated to make up for the weeks, months, or years they will be apart. This is also where the couple sets boundaries and rules to keep the relationship healthy.

POV:

He was my porter on the day of my departure. He carried almost all of my things. With regard to setting boundaries and rules, we don't really have those. We know for ourselves what's right and wrong so we just trust each other. We rarely talk on the phone. We just use Facebook messenger as our means of communication. Sounds boring right? But that's how we are most comfortable of.

3. Transition

This is when the couple makes adjustments to their everyday routine as they are no longer together. However, this is also where the communication never stops as both are constantly updating each other's activities.

POV:

Well, we chat every day so it was not that hard to cope up with the situation. However, we surely missed each other's presence most especially in the early days of separation. Along the way, we kind of get used to it but we still long for each other's presence. I mean, who wouldn't want to?

4. Realization

This is when the couple realizes what life is like without their partner. They must face the reality that they can't depend on each other physically when they need them the most. However, this also helps each other to become independent, have better time management, and improve communication.

POV:

Months after the separation, we realized that it was not that easy to see each other that often because of certain circumstances. For the record, I hid my relationship with him until I got confined because of my depression. So my parents were surprised upon learning about it. We hid it for 1 year 🤣

5. Jealousy

This is when the couple gets jealous of each other with the people they spend the time together. This jealousy is not just about being romantically involved with a potential third party person but being jealous of their friends and family they get to spend time together.

POV:

Hmm, I will bet $1000 if there's a couple who never gets jealous of the people around with their partners. I believe it's normal to get jealous but it's no longer cute if that jealousy escalates to something manipulative and disturbing to other people.

I get jealous of the friends he spends the time with but I know he is aware that he'll be in trouble if he does a wrong move. 😎

6. Doubt

This is the most critical stage of LDR. The longer the couple never gets to see each other, the greater the relationship's uncertainty becomes. If one has doubts about making the relationship work before the transition stage, the relationship has a weaker chance to survive.

POV:

It's been almost 3 years of being in a long-distance relationship. We had the chance to see each other roughly 3x to 4x a year only. There were times where I had doubts about how to make the relationship work. Maybe because I felt helpless to relive the intimacy and just overthinking. Doubting if I'm good enough for him, maybe he finds a girl who can give the care he needs?

7. Validation

This is when the successful long-distance relationship couple finds themselves returning to this stage again and again. While unsuccessful couples might end in stage 6, doubt. Studies show that LDR is successful if both ends listen actively to each other's sentiments. This means that even if you are far from each other, if you maintain open and honest communication then you're good to go.

Relationships will always come with jealousy and doubts. These are the turning points of re-evaluating the relationship and if you find yourselves choosing each other again and again then the relationship will work all throughout.

POV:

Three years of commitment was not easy at all. I know it's still early to say he's the one but it feels different when you are really sure of yourself so I'm claiming it.

May you find yours too. I hope you too can make it to stage number 7. ❤

13
$ 5.90
$ 5.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Comments

I really don't support long distance relationship cause it's too risky

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But if you guys really love each other then a long-distance relationship wouldn't be a big challenge though. Love is a decision. No matter what happens, it all boils down to your decisions.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well I have never really liked it because am a jealous type and would want to be involved in my partners life

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i can't believe im reading this when i am actually NBSB ahaha :D but your story inspires me to wait for my own special someone and experience this level of commitment :> so happy for you po!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. The irony 🙈😆 however, I'm certain that this will serve as your guide when you commit yourself into a relationship soon.

Thanks for the warm wishes. We hope this lasts longer than expected. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeii, times like this i want to fall inlove but when someone knocks, i'm so afraid to open up haha maybe i just need more time for myself first <3 i truly wish for your happy ending

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Love came to me without expecting it. I was just focusing on myself then when he came to me unexpectedly. Best things happen when you least expect it. ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So happy for you found your the one :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ☺ did you find yours already?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think so. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yaaaay! I'm happy for you ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mine was failed. All my relationships were LDR aside from my husband. Sya lang talaga yung nakakasama ko as in everyday noon after work or even I want to meet him he was there because we were in Manila and also same province din.

LDR was hard. Before I met my husband I have a boyfriend. At first we were not LDR because he was assigned in Manila but after a couple of months he assigned in different places that makes our relationship long distance. I let him prioritized his job because its family business, the only time that I wish to be with him was on special occasions of my life. Christmas , Newyear birthday valentines. Year 2016 , all of those occasion he promised me that he was there but it didnt happened , after non nainis nako 😅 wala padin syang magawa. Alam mo yung babawi daw pero hindi naman nangyayari. Hanggang palagi nalang kami nag aaway. Nagkakabati hanggang isang araw nakipagbreak nalang sya sakin. Alam ko naman reason kung bakit. Masakit lang yun sa part ko pero hindi ko din naman alam yung side nya.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Haha. Totoo. Nakaka inip din yung babawi daw pero di tinupad. How long did the relationship last?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

16 days before 2nd anniv namin ngbreak kmi 😂 ang saklap kasi nakaplano na yung 2nd anniv namin 😂 ang ending nun e nasa inuman ako kasama ng mga officemate ko nung mismong anniv namin. umiiyak habang kumakain ng pansit hahaha. Nakakatawa yun. Pinagtatawanan nila ko hahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Ang saklap nga. Sobrang heartbroken ka nun noh? Pero look at you now, happily married with a child. Parang comedy lng mga past natin 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo, dun nagkasira sira buhay ko after nya ko binreak haha. Naalala mo yung article kong call me mistress. Nangyari yun after break up namin.

Pero ngayon. Isa lang talaga yung natutunan ko sa lahat ng pain na naransan ko. Love is a choice talaga.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Ay oo. Naalala ko. That was a sad experience but it taught you a lesson for sure. Totoo, love is a choice. However, if external forces don't cooperate, we can love them from a distance naman.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It depends on the situation din siguro hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yes. Case to case basis. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I had long distance relationship (we call it LAT). I did not last but I doubt it would have last that long if we had lived together (which didn't last long as we did after over 8 years).

I don't thing 58% of the other relationships will last. On long term most will not.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then I guess the length of relationship doesn't guarantee its survival and lead to marriage right? Where did he live by the way?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nothing guarantees a marriage. My friend has a relationship for over 20 years, two children, they will never get married. Live each in a different part of the house. Separation it would be if it wasn't for the money.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mine all failed. Current bf is semi-LDR 😂😂😂 cuz we still live 2 hours away from each other

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. I like the semi-LDR 😅 How often do you see each other then?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm.. depends on sched? When i still had classes, it would be twice a month or if he has some energy left, he would go to school on his day off and sneak his way into the campus just to see me and ransack my bag for cooked food because i always pack my lunches

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So he's ahead of you for many years? What's his job pala?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nahh, I'm older. He just worked earlier than i did. He works sa BPO

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. But he graduated in college na?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Senior high then before the pandemic, he was doing lots of training in his company which counted as vocational courses

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, I see. So you're a young couple pa pala. Hehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kind of? 2 years can't be counted as that long but in ages. He's 20, and i just turned 23. Still young somehow but mature enough in thought

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, that's how relationships last also. Handled with maturity.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hopefully this lasts longer though. Next date will be a while from now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats on finding your the one. I am in LDR for 10 years until now 😊 LDR is not easy but if you are committed enough you will surpass every trials.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. A decade of LDR spends almost half of your life. 😅 Long way to go for us, I hope we get through it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, best of luck ❤ But be prepared for the trials, it's always around the corner. I was 18 when we meet 😆😂 Landi ko eh lol, never thought it will last too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well if you're really meant for each other and you both decide to make the relationship, then I believe it will last that long. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago