Parable of the Unforgiving Servant: A Reflection

0 11
Avatar for Jay40
Written by
2 years ago

We have heard the Gospel according to St. Matthew that emphasizes the Gospel of forgiveness. We even heard Peter asking the Lord how many times one should forgive a person: "As often as seven times?" For this, Jesus had to answer in a way the disciple could comprehend: "Not seven, but seventy-seven times." Afterwards, Jesus deepened this understanding in the Parable of the Unforgiving Servant, wherein the servant, who owed ten thousand talents, begged his master to cancel his debt and so he did. But, when he met a fellow servant who owed him a hundred denarii and began to throttle him, he did not even hesitate to forgive him or let him go of his debt. When the master had known this, the master summoned him and threw words at him, and saying that he was not as forgiving as his master is. In his anger, the master handed him over to his torturers.

It is a common trait in the human nature to somehow feel offended when he is not forgiven but in a paradox he is not even forgiving to others. Fr. Moga kind of implies this in "the 'ego' self" that relatively explains that the ego of a man is defensive, self-enclosed. With this kind of nature, I act the same way as what Fr. Moga has described. I sometimes feel unforgiving towards others even with the smallest debt they had from me. I sometimes feel destroyed because how painful it is when my ego is hurt. So, in order to let this irritating feeling, I had to injure others' ego too for self-satisfaction… but at what cost? There is no reward in it, indeed. But this is not the case and not even the right way to let go of this unforgiving attitude.

But Jesus paved the way for this understanding of forgiveness. Jesus said to forgive as many times as I can even when I am not forgiven. But is this easy? No. Is there a shortcut? Absolutely no. There is only practice of forgiving even when my ego is suffering in order for me to be whole and become a person for others or "cura personalis" as in St. Ignatius' term. For me to realize what Jesus had taught, I have also to experience his works, his sufferings, his humanity. In my life, I have never been able to fully comprehend on this kind of ultimate forgiveness. It is some kind of a debt I owe to him that I am meant to pay, for he is generous and forgiving. In the end, God would pardon me from my offenses and debt if I am able to pardon my brothers and sisters from their offenses to me. For the last part, I will now quote St. Augustine in his Sermon 33, "And so let us be ready to forgive all the trespasses which are committed against us, if we desire to be forgiven."

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for Jay40
Written by
2 years ago

Comments