The story of us😔

0 11
Avatar for Janie
Written by
3 years ago

"The Story of Us" (A short narrative poem)

It was 2012 when I first saw you

We were grade 1 at that time

Still dreaming being a princess

Hoping to be saved by a prince.

You were the talk of the school,

The role model of everyone.

Known for your beauty,

Known for your smartness,

Known for your bright personality,

Known for being everyone's friend.

That's what you are.

And I envied you because of that

For I am the complete opposite of you.

I never had good grades,

A beauty that I can flaunt,

A bright personality that can brighten someone's life.

It was 2013 when we became classmates.

Despite that, you did not notice me.

My name was even not known by you.

It's like I never existed

Or a passer-by that was not worth to remember.

Time passed by with me glancing at you every time you laugh and play with your friends,

While I remained a shadow on the corner of the room.

With no friends to talk with,

Nor teachers to notice me.

On the other hand, you shone even brighter.

I began to dislike you because of that.

I grew frustrated and jealous

Because I could never have what you have.

It was 2015 when everything changed.

For the first time, you recognized me.

A lonely girl with a frown painted on her lips.

You approached me.

Led a simple conversation

That bloomed into something new.

For a sun and a moon cannot meet.

It was unexpected for everyone for us to be friends.

Not even I can believe it.

We became inseparable.

Not a day can be seen with us not being together.

However, I became possessive.

For you are the first person that became my best friend.

I became anxious.

Anxious that you would leave me in the near future,

And I cannot afford to lose you

So, I clung onto you tightly.

Years passed by, and we became high schoolers.

It was a big changed for us

Tho we attended the same school.

Because it's the time that we both grew and changed.

I grew a courage to step into the light.

To be surrounded with various people to laugh with, and cry with,

While you learn to be mature.

To be responsible and calm.

Our time together grew short

As we continue to discover ourselves.

Yet, a thread was still left connected to the both of us.

It was then that I realized something.

A distance can set us apart,

Yet, our hearts would remain connected until the end of time.

And difference cannot set us apart,

If acceptance is in-between.

1
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Janie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Janie
Written by
3 years ago

Comments