Tiny Yet Incredible

26 53
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

October 30, 2020

Who would have thought that these very tiny seeds are packed with numerous nutrients and health benefits?

These recent years, various advertisements, posts, articles on different social media are showcasing these powerful tiny seeds. Several food industries also used Chia seeds in making bread, cereals, puddings, drinks, and energy bars, even adding it to favorite smoothies. I am a lover of chia as well, and these seeds give surprising health benefits to me and for sure to other consumers as well.



What are Chia Seeds?

Chia seeds are tiny flattened ovals that are mottle-colored of black, brown, gray, and white. It came from the plant Salvia Hispanica, which is related to the mint. It is hydrophilic (molecules attracted to water molecules and tends to be dissolved by water) and it can absorb up to twelve times their weight when soaked in liquid, and they develop a mucilaginous (thick, gluey substance) coating with a gel texture. These seeds were once cultivated by the Aztecs and are grown and consumed commercially in Mexico and Guatemala in the 21st century. Countries such as Ecuador, Bolivia, Argentina, Nicaragua, and Australia also cultivated and consumed Chia seeds.


An ounce of Chia seeds (2 tablespoons) contains:
• 138 Calories
• 10 grams of fiber
• 9 grams of fats
• 5 grams of protein, as well as,
• 17% of your daily calcium needs
• 12% of your iron, and,
• 23% of your magnesium
• Dried chia seeds also contain 6% water, 42% carbohydrates, 16% protein, and 31% fat.



Chia Seeds Health Benefits:

Tiny chia seeds are packed with lots of nutrients and health benefits.


A good source of Omega-3 Fatty Acids

Chia is the easiest source of Omega-3 fatty acids which are important in our brain health. An ounce of chia contains 5 grams of Omega-3 and you don't need to grind it like what you do to flaxseeds or even cooked it like other foods. Raw chia seeds can be eaten right away.

Loaded with Antioxidants

Chia seeds are loaded with antioxidants. It helps protect the sensitive fats in the seeds from going rancid. Antioxidants combat free radicals that can damage our cell molecules and contribute to aging and diseases like cancer.

High in quality fiber that can help you lose weight

Experts say Chia seeds can help lose weight. Its insoluble fiber can absorb a large amount of water which could increase fullness and slow the absorption of food. Its soluble fiber glucomannan, act similarly which can also help in losing weight. Meanwhile, the protein content of chia seeds helps reduce appetite and food intake.

Good for your heart

Some studies say that the effect of chia seeds can help reduce the risk of heart disease, and blood pressure level to people hypertension. It is also said that chia seeds may also raise the level of HDL "good" cholesterol.

High in bone nutrients

Its nutrients such as calcium, phosphorus, protein, and magnesium which are essential for bone health.

Moreover, chia seed oil's fatty acids are mainly unsaturated, containing linoleic acid (17–26% fat) with linolenic acid (50–57%) as the major fats.

There isn't much taste on it if you will refer to its flavors, you won't notice it well except for its little bit of crunch and bump texture they have. We certainly eat these seeds for health not actually for its flavors.



How to consume them?

It is just so easy. They can either be soaked in water or consumed directly or even mixed with any kind of juice or with milk.

Fruits sprinkled with chia seeds and added milk kefir on it
  • You can sprinkle some chia seeds or ground up on top of your family foods. It can also be mixed with your smoothies, oats and cereals, bread, pasta, granola bars, tortillas, or yogurt.

  • Chia seeds can also be ground and use in making a gelatin-like substance or it can even be consumed raw.

  • You can make chia seeds pudding by just soaking whole chia seeds, sweetener, and milk. Some use coconut milk and other plant-based milk in making chia pudding such as almond milk, soya milk, rice milk, oats milk, and more, which are healthier and yummier.

This is banana-oats bread eith chia seeds, anise seeds, and red dates
  • Chia seeds can also be used as alternatives to eggs when making bread and cakes. It can replace as much as 25% of the eggs and oil content in cakes.

In 2009, the European Union certified chia seeds as a novel food, enabling chia up to 5% as the entire substance in bread.

Chia seeds seem to be well-tolerated, but if you’re not used to eating a lot of fiber, then there is a possibility of digestive side effects if you eat too much at a time.

Here are some of my favorite recipes with chia seeds.

1.Oatmeal with banana and chia seeds

A very easy way to use chia seeds, add it to your oatmeal for breakfast. You can add any kind of fruits into your oats. I usually eat banana and oats during breakfast then add some chia seeds on it. And that milk on top is milk kefir, a lactose free kind of milk fermented by myself. Good for the heart. ❤

2. Steamed Oats bread with red dates and chia seeds

Since I am gluten intolerant, I usually use oats in making bread or anything to eat for myself. You might ask why the color is green, it is because I used green barley juice instead of milk. I have lactose intolerance too. But sometimes, I can't keep myself from eating foods with milk. 😅 The red-colored toppings are red dates also called jujube which also contains lots of nutrients.

2. Steamed oats muffin with chia seeds and almond

This is just a combination of oats and a little bit of flour and I used coconut sugar as a sweetener. Then added some eggs, almond, and chia seeds. I like this recipe a lot because I like eating almonds. 😊

3. Steamed banana-oats muffin with chia seeds

This muffin is made from banana and oats then added some chia seeds. I also used coconut sugar as a sweetener and plain water. (My taste preference is really weird 🤣)

4. Rice cooker cooked banana cake

This one is just cooked using a rice cooker. The same process in making a banana cake but instead of using the oven, I cooked it using a rice cooker. I didn't add too much milk here because I am lactose intolerant. The one on top is lactose-free milk kefir (I am the one who fermented the milk kefir), then I sprinkled it with chia seeds on top. Simple and healthy. 😊

5. Egg pudding

If you have read my article about egg recipes, this is one of my recipes there. Egg pudding then I poured some milk kefir on top and sprinkled it with chia seeds.

6. Pancake with chia seeds and sesame seeds

This is also included in my article about egg recipes. The difference between this one from regular pancake is that I added chia seeds on it to make it healthier. I didn't use milk here as well. Just egg and water with some low-gluten flour (at least it's low gluten).

7. Simple Farfalle

This is just a simple farfalle recipe. Just used spinach and some potatoes here actually (just used the available ingredients inside the fridge). Then sprinkled it with chia seeds. I also put some sesame oil here then seasoned it with salt. So simple. 😊

For those who want to lose weight, Do not just buy any foods containing chia seeds. You might think they will give you the full health benefits of chia seeds, you should always read the labels and make sure it doesn't contain any chemicals, sugars, and fillers in it.

Chia seeds are recommended for people who have gluten-intolerance like me. It is indeed helpful to people on a diet who wants to lose weight as well. Adding chia seeds is one healthful behavior that is very easy to obtain.

Written by: @Jane

Sources:
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chia_seed

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/11-proven-health-benefits-of-chia-seeds#TOC_TITLE_HDR_13

12
$ 4.10
$ 4.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Jigglyspy
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I love chia pudding.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

great article dear well writing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Valuable information about small seeds

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Never tried it yet, but I heard lots of stories about chia seeds. And in fact, it was on trend in social media. I've read lots of amazing benefits, and I would love to try it. Especially your recipes, it looks appetizing. 🤤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try mo chia pudding.. Mga nagkeketo gamit to ngayon

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Saan kaya makakabili ng chia seeds? Through online ba? Wala kasi dito samin eh. Dami ko nga nkita effective daw siya pampaliit ng bilbil at fats.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sa pinas online ko nabili.. Dto sa HK dami stores mabibilhan

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. Tiny yet incredible because of the health benefits it gives to us. haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. thanks for stopping by . nabubusy dn ako

$ 0.00
3 years ago

kaya nga eh. hehe. baby sitter kasi ko this week eh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love chia seeds too and a kilo lasts me almost an entire month, sometimes more? Though i couldn't brings some here in the new house but i do plan to buy again once i get settled at work and all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mine is not even a month, but more than that..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I put it in almost all my food plus i used to share with my mom and sisters because I'm making them fix ther diet too :<

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha.. Mganda yan . at madali lng maconsume.. Sprinkle lng sa foods ok na

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yesseuuu plus it's not that bad pag hinahalo sa tubig, medj nakakabusog din if no food

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm familiar with Chia seeds although I haven't tried that one yet. I believe Doc Adam, a doctor and a YouTuber is promoting his own products. If you're familiar with him, he's banned from the country because of disseminating false information about our local products. 🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think i heard that name already .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

His main viewers in his youtube are Pinoys. So he's asking the sympathy of the Filipinos, playing the victim. Anyway 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And many filipinos easily get fooled 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sooo trueee. Reality check. 🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow this is so ymmy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love chia seeds. I put it in salads, cereals, the food I prepare, I often know how to put it over the loaves I knead. It is very healthy and I also like it when I add it to dishes. You wrote this great.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love it too.. And those are my recipes... Good to know another chia lover here 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We spread chia love :) :) :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great information about this article my Dear friend

$ 0.00
3 years ago