Spending Christmas abroad

0 9

As a filipino, Christmas is always special. People in the Philippines like to celebrate Christmas for as long as possible! The playing of Christmas carols in shops can start in September! The formal Christmas celebrations start on 16th December when many people go the the first of nine pre-dawn or early morning masses. The last mass is on Christmas day. The Christmas celebrations continue to the First Sunday in January when Epiphany or the Feast of the Three Kings is celebrated.

And as a Catholic we also have to recollect the fact that our Lord God is humble being born only in a manger. This is the message that is sent to us - we must learn how to humble ourselves, no matter how rich or financially wealthy we are because Christ himself symbolizes humility.

As I landed in a foreign land, I can't really deny the fact that every country spend their Christmas in different ways. Here in Hong Kong, during holiday season, you’ll spot Christmas lights and trees all over the town and in seemingly every mall. You’ll also find plenty of dining options to fulfil all your festive feasting needs at some of the best restaurants in Hong Kong. Complimented by a Yuletide of delicious Christmas cocktail too. It's not a far celebration in the Philippines.

But what I missed here is the "simbang gabi", mesa de gallo, eating puto bongbong ang other pinoy delicacies sold outside church during Christmas season as well as hearing carollings sang by kids on the streets at night. Meanwhile, the New Year's celebration is really enjoyable with unending festive.

However, Filipino workers abroad won't let it pass without celebrating on their own. Because Christmas is always in our hearts. We find ways to get in touch to each other and spend Christmas in ways that we wanted.

You might wonder why I wrote this article too early. It is because "Ber" months is quiet approaching and I'm reminiscing the past during special occasions with my family. I've been spending two Christmas occasions in a row here and will be spending one more this year. But I'm thankful for this opportunity God gave me to work abroad. Because of this, I experienced new things in life and met new people. I've learned a lot throughout my journey here. And will be looking forward for more new memories.

The real purpose in writing this article is to convey the readers that no matter where we are (specially for my co-filipinos here), we should always remember to thank God in every blessings He gave us. We should always remember His name not only during Christmas but everyday.

I hope this will give a thought to ponder.

In my next article I will be posting my Christmas gala here in Hong Kong.

Happy writing and see you next time 😉

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Wow, spending Christmas abroad. I don't think I've ever said that statement before, cause I haven't really travelled abroad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol.I just experienced that since I'm currentlt working abroad 😁 I already missed the Christmas in the Philippines. It's totally different here. Though I hear Christmas musics and see Christmas decorations everywhere, but the spirit of Christmas itself is different. And how they celebrate it is different. Nothing can compare Christmas celebration in the Philippines.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope this pandemic end soon. so that you and other Filipino who are working abroad can go home and spend this Very special Christmas days.

Always take care.

$ 0.00
3 years ago