I Finally Got A Chance To Staycation In Sai Kung

36 77
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

July 19, 2022

Ever since the pandemic invaded the world, I have never been on a staycation due to protocols and restrictions. It was like unloaded baggage when restrictions were lifted here and tourists are now free to travel to places they want to. I've been yearning for a staycation ever since the start of this year. Luckily, one holiday fell on Friday, HK's Establishment Day on July 1, and that gave me a long weekend. I badly needed some unwinding to release these preoccupied thoughts in my mind and restore my exhausted body.

My happiness can not be contained on Friday morning while packing my stuff. I'll be staying in the WM hotel in Sai Kung, Hong Kong and I was lucky to get a private room on the rooftop overlooking the sea.

FRIDAY

It was five in the afternoon when I reached the hotel. Its luxurious architecture makes me more excited to see the private room on the rooftop. I'll be staying in the hotel for 2 days and 3 nights, enough to wander around Sai Kung and even hike one of the best hiking trails near the area.

While walking down the grand staircase, I couldn't keep myself admiring the place and I seem to dream since I never imagined myself having a staycation at this luxurious hotel. It would be more fun with a company though. But oftentimes I need some "me time." So this will be a Weekend of Solitude.

My room was located on the last floor of the first building with a balcony overlooking the sea. I was stunned by the scenery as I stepped out on the balcony. "Wow, this is it!" I uttered excitedly. I jumped in joy as I spotted the complete range of the hotel's luxury glamping gear set. And at the adjacent roof, I could see the infinity pool.

Image from https://www.wmhotel.hk/en/offer/Glamping_by_the_Sea-Private_Rooftop_Staycation.html

The private room offered a stunning view of the vast sea and the beach on the left side seemed to be just one reach away. After unpacking my stuff, I picked up my phone and went to the alfresco restaurants lining up by the beach to have my dinner.

I didn't mind if I was alone, I just loved the calming scenery overlooking the sea at night. Due to my excitement, I didn't feel hungry at all so I opted to just buy a glass of juice and a plate of salad.

While eating my food, a foreign man appeared beside me and said,

"do you mind if I sit here?"

"It's not mine, so you are free to use it." I chuckled (Sarcastic, aren't I? 🀣)

"Haha, thanks." The man replied.

I didn't care about him and just continued eating. After about half an hour, I opted to go back to the hotel as I was more excited to see the starry sky on my balcony.

On my way, I came across a souvenir shop so I stopped to take photos of them. While taking a photo, I saw a man waving at me at my camera. As I looked at him, he was the same man at the alfresco restaurant.

I just ignored him, walked out, headed to the hotel, and laid down on the bench on the balcony. It was such a perfect night as the stars were evident, but I somehow felt lonely under the millions of stars in the sky. The rest of my night was spent inside the tent and the music became my company.


SATURDAY

I woke up early in the morning as I planned to hike the trail to the High Island Reservoir. A complimentary breakfast buffet was served by the staff and I headed out after eating my food. The hiking trail was more or less 30 minutes from the town so I needed to be early so I could go to the beach after lunchtime.

It was a hidden paradise of Sai Kung and walking along the trail was so relaxing despite the tax set upon my legs. Nature is my haven, regardless of the difficult trail, it could easily restore my mind and body.

Sai Wan beach below the mountain

After wandering around the reservoir, I ate my lunch at the resting area before I visited Sai Wan beach at the bottom of the hill. It's one of the most visited beaches in Sai Kung hidden behind the high island reservoir.

As expected, there were more tourists since it was the weekend. I laid my mat, sat down, and did some sightseeing. This time, I felt I wasn't alone, as there were a lot of Filipinas on the beach. And after a moment, someone laid his may beside me and said,

"Do you mind if I sit here?" He asked.

I didn't look at him, so I just answered,

"The place is not mine, so you are free to sit there." Still not looking at him.

"It's that how you reply to strangers?" He chuckled.

His voice sounds familiar so I gazed in his direction. He's the same man in the alfresco restaurant by the beach.

"The world is too small, isn't it?" I asked him.

"No, you are always too busy with your phone, so you are ignoring the beautiful people around. What's in your phone that keeps you gluing your eyes on it." He said.

"I'm a blogger. I came here to be alone, for some me time, and not to mingle with others." I answered.

"If you want some solitude, forget about the digital world and have some moments in the real world. It's too beautiful out here." He said while looking at me.

I looked at the beach and replied,

"I know. Are you telling that to me so you could hook up with me? I wasn't born yesterday."

"Clever. I'm John. A solo traveler like you." He said while reaching his hand to shake mine.

"Shaking hands is too formal. I don't like it. I'm Jane by the way."

"You're mean to guys, aren't you?" He asked.

"You got it." My short reply.

"And like short replies." He added.

"Yeah..." I said.

"Is period your next answer?" He added.

I don't like talkative boys, so I stood, walked to the water, and soaked my half body in it. It was so cold that it sent goosebumps to my body. Kids were playing around and others were enjoying their company.

"Need some company?" I nearly jumped out of my skin at his sudden appearance.

"F*ck. Why are you following me?"

"You look alone so I guess you need a buddy."

"No, I'm fine."

"You look stiff. Loosen up, lady."

While saying the last words, he suddenly dragged my hand to the farther part of the water where kids were playing. He started splashing water on me and so the kids followed. After a while, I started to like it and took my revenge by splashing water on them too. The whole afternoon was spent playing in the water. We did water volleyball with co-Filipinas, rented kayaks, and did water racing.

In the end, we won and really had fun. I laid on the sand while laughing after the exhausting, yet funny water race. I never thought I would like it. John did the same.

"Did you enjoy it?" He asked.

"So much, thanks."

"See, it's more fun to have a buddy."

"Yeah, yeah, I know. So I guess, this isn't a weekend of solitude anymore. Haha." I answered.

It was getting late, so we took a shower and packed our things. We bid goodbyes to the Filipinas and rode the bus back to the town. From the bus terminus, we walked to the waterfront and I bid goodbye to him too.

"Bye John. Thanks for the day. See you next time." I said to him.

"Wait, where are you staying here?"

"WM hotel."

"So, let's go together."

"Huh? Why?"

"I'm staying there too."

"Haha, the world is really too small," I answered.

We continued talking until we reached the hotel and walked in the same direction. I then asked him,

"Don't tell me we are neighbors too? In which room are you?" I asked him.

"Rooftop, the left room." He answered.

"There are only two rooms up there. And I'm staying in the right room." I answered surprisedly. He just chuckled.

"Destiny plays well, isn't it?" He said.

"I don't believe in that. We are here, so goodnight."

I was about to enter my room when he called me.

"Wait, can I invite you to a party tomorrow. In my friend's house."

"Where are we going?"

"To G-dog's house."

"It sounds fun. Ahm..wait..tomorrow is Sunday. Can I invite my friends too?" I asked.

"Sure. It'll be fun."

We both said goodnight and as I entered my room, I called my three Hong Kong friends, Rachelle, Abby, and Mitch to come with me to the party. I prepared my stuff for the next day and hit the sack.

To be continued...


This is just a fictional story in response to the Weekend Engagement Challenge last week. So don't be confused of you saw familiar photos and read familiar names here 🀣.

I found all topics interesting so I opted to put all of them in one content. It's quite long so I cut it into two. You'll read the last part tomorrow.

Thanks for reading.

Follow me on:

β€’read.cashΒ β€’noise.cashΒ β€’HIVEΒ β€’Publish0xβ€’TorumΒ β€’Twitter

25
$ 5.88
$ 5.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
+ 13
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

feeling ko si John talaga destiny mo at siya rin magiging hubby in the future...ahemmmmm

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May kakilala ka bang John madam? Ipakilala mo sakn 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oo madam si Father John mwehehehe mabait yun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was almost screaming someone is in love until I saw it was fiction. But I doubt if those pictures were fiction too. I also wish one day i will travel the world alone. Its fun spending quality time alone. By the way, you've got a beautiful smile.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woahhh ang ganda,I wish I can staycation too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would love a view like this Janeeeeeyyyyyy...from the last floor...with a balcony to oversee everything as well. This is beautiful, refreshing and remarkable... Well done...keep "chopping life" πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

I love that colourful outfit you wore in there and now, don't tell me you only have few dark shades... I've been counting now πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

Thank you so much for the sponsorship, Janey. You are a darling.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.. So I'll wear another one next time 🀣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ that's what you do. I am coming to take some.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really nice pics, as usual :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is the first time I am hearing the word "staycation" and I had to carefully read through your article to figure out what it means.

I recognized that picture with the caption; "Sai Wan beach below the mountain" and I was wondering what was going on coz I have seen it before, then I got to the part where you were actually having a conversation with a guy, even playing and having fun with him and I knew something was wrong πŸ˜‚ I had to rush to the end to discover it was all fiction. I really liked it tho and was giggling while reading it, it's cute

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Haha.. Sorry.. But it's faction 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Janeyyyyyyyy

You got me here. I was already saying Jane has gotten a guy already 🀣🀣🀣🀣

Seriously, I have saved those replies in my mind, in case someone comes to me and says β€œCan I sit here?” then my reply would be β€œThe seat is not mine, so you are free” πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

I thought it was real

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha.. Who knows?/you might hook a guy because of that 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakaka in love yung architectural design nung rooms amazing β”Œ|o^β–½^o|β”˜β™ͺ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo..super ganda

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahahha sabi ko na eh, fictional lang, pero para siyang totoo..hahahahha kinikilig na sana ako, kaso naisip ko yung mga photos familiar eh, parang naattach mo na yun sa ibang blog mo and I already know the real story of those photos kaya in my mind medyo alam ko ng fictional lang talaga yung story. Pero sana magkatotoo noh? Yung mahanap mo yung one true love mo jan, ayyeeeiii😍😍

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hndi ako mahilig gumAwa ng pure fiction.. Usually, faction mga yun.. D nyo lang alam san talaga totoo, san hindi 🀣..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yayy so totoo na may John? At water splashes?πŸ˜‚ Hahahhaha kinikilig ako sa part na yun, hahahahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahhhh. Before dumating si guy akala ko totoo na pero nung sulpot na ng sulpot. Nagda doubt na ako hahah

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Faction yan 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe this is love for you Jane, maybe he has won the heart of a woman who doesn't like to talk much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe ang mga pa-labas pusod ate, ang sexy talaga. Instagrammable din dyan ah!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang ganda ng lugar maam,enjoy na enjoy talaga lahat ng tao na makakapunta dyan.nakaka wala ng problema at stress

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sobrang ganda nga dyan ate tapos sobrang ganda mo pa hays sanaol talaga. Sana makapg gala din ako soon. Pag may enough money na hihih

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mapapa wow nalang ako sa ganda ,grabe ang ganda naman jan maam ,hindi din basta basta maka punta jan kung walang peraπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ipon muna hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe ang ganda miss Jane. Yung sa taas talaga grabe ang ganda ng view. Sarap mag stay diyan ng matagal. 😁 Tas ang unique ng hotel tingnan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kya nga. Ganda ng hotel

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Super ganda miss Jane. Super unique. ❀️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Damn! Grabee ang angas naman nito ate. Hays. Daming time ma sulat. Pero ang angas ng place.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha..sobra ganda

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahahaha. akala ko totoo na! pero nakakalilig sya huh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang dami mo nang baon Ms. Jane hehe. Explore more, and enjoy. 😍

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha.. Wala baon πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago