Aftermath

42 57
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

The aftermath inflected by yesterday's disaster which devastated the whole region is still crystal clear. As if it was a dream, a nightmare I should say. The progressive and productive city before is now a dead city just like a zombie zone portraid in those horror movies.

Almost all houses on the coast or on island-villages were badly damaged by strong winds and storm surge.

Fallen trees, broken cars and posts blocked the roads and rice fields were littered with blown off galvanized iron roofing. The howling wind didn't even spare churches, municipal and other concrete structures.

While walking I can see dead bodies piled on the streets. Pungent smell of decomposing bodies spread in the air.

From afar, a dog is howling as if he sensed his master underneath the fallen debris. It sounds familiar, as I heard that sound before my grandfather pass away. A dog was howling frightfully in the middle of the night before that incident happen.

My father called me because it's time to leave. We need to go to far city to buy stuffs since we're running out of supplies. We don't want to rely to the relief goods given by unreliable government.

It was a boring journey for me since I forgot to charge my phone. My father silently driving following the path of unknown destination. I poked my head out contemplating the havoc brought by the disastrous typhoon.

On our way I saw a young lady looking terrified while standing on the alley with cold, damp and pale body covered by her besmirched and grimy clothes.

"Dad!" I called him out while pointing to the lady but to no avail. He's like a robot controlled by the operator who doesn't listen to anyone around. I was disappointed. Worried feeling engraved in me while we were heading far. "What if she need a ride, hungry or lost?"


It was a bit dark when we head back home. Indeed it was a long tiring day. People from different places go crazy over panic buying. Crowded and long queue were the scenes at different stores in the city and my arms were in pain from holding heavy boxes of supplies. I regretted that I accompanied my dad that day. But I have no choice because my brothers were busy fixing the broken parts of our house.

The picture of the young lady was still glued in my mind. We followed the same path and to my surprise, the lady was still there - standing as if it will take forever. "Perhaps she's waiting for someone....wait...that long??"

By that time I grabbed my father's arm to catch his attention then he stared outside trailing my sight's direction. He called out the lady and as if she understood what meant by dad's actions. I asked her questions but she was muted for no reason.

"Where do you live? I'll drive you home" My father asked her then she pointed her fingers to the straight direction.


We drove to opposite way from where we're supposed to go back. The night was gloomy, cold wind sent shivers through my spine and raindrops started to fall. But our passenger seems to have no other reactions. I glimpsed at her through the side mirror to check if she's fine.

I twisted my angle and saw her starring at me mysteriously. Our eyes met and seems I was drown into it. The longer I stare, the more goosebumps appeared on my body.

By that time I know something is wrong. Her expression, her not talking mouth, cold and pale body, and her eyes are conveying something.

She never talked but my Dad seems to know it's her time to hop out. The village was dark, damp and badly damaged. The dogs are howling, people are wailing and I was out of my mind.

My feet voluntarily dragged me out and followed her. From my post I saw people crying and whining. I drew closer and closer to see what was happening. Curiosity will really kill the cat.

A familiar face on the picture placed on top of a long rectangular white box drew my attention and looked at it for a long time. My dad's voice startled me which made my heart beats so fast. "Where are we?" I frowned at him and the only words I said...

"I think she found her way home"



P.S. This is based on Typhoon Yolanda aftermath's story and I'm one of those survivors.



This is supposed to be my entry for @Jdine Horror/Thriller writing contest. But I think it's too simple and doesn't seem to be that scary. 10mins. wasn't enough to end the story so I decided to make it as another article. And now I need to think again for a more thrilling story.

Meanwhile, @Ashma rewarding contest is still on going and open for week 4 entries... if you don't know about this yet, check this link

https://read.cash/@Ashma/announcing-week-4-for-rewarding-contest-e77b8b19

Another generous man @LeoBanna is giving giveaway.. all you need to do is to subscribe him and follow the instructions in this link. πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡

https://read.cash/@LeoBanna/earn-2-005-usd-per-day-ceb102a1


Hope you like it. Thanks for reading!!

4
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @LeoBanna
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

haha that's okay... you can still post this on the community. it is scary. Maybe you can write a part 2.. and make that your entry :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm.. I'll think of that.. or a short version of this..haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one . And very sad one too. 'Typhoon Yolanda aftermath' when did it happen?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

November 8, 2013... It was a coincidence that I just resigned from my previous work that week...at least I was with m family when that devastation happen.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm sorry for that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That was past, everyone already moved on...it was just a memory which cannot be forgotten.. perhaps you've heard before about the strongest typhoon in the history which unfortunately hit Phillipines.. It's typhoon Haiyan in english.. it might ring the bell to you...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The story is really intense, all along while reading it, i was hoping that it wasn't based on some true story. If so, I'm sorry for all the losses

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The disaster ws true.. but about the passenger story, I just added it to make.to story thrilling.. though there were rumours circulating about ghost passengers after the typhoon,. Still I don't believe in ghosts....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are other living beings in this world that we don't normally see, so I won't be surprised if someone actually heard voices. I don't believe in human souls wandering around the earth after they left the body, but thats a debate for another day.

You did put some thrill in it by adding that story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah true.. specially in our country.. there are a lot of ghosts stories... but never saw one though..well i don't want too either.. haha.. but thanks for reading it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You will see one if your intentions are pure towards them lol. Don't you wanna see how would you feel when you interact with any of them?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha..that's creepy... though I'm curious.. but not ready to brace myself if I encounter one.. lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You gotta watch paranormal activity lol, it will definitely make you ready for it. Its not creepy its fun, when on interaction, one feel like as if the earth has stopped moving with cold sweats and frozen body and all lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No way..I've watch many before... though it doesn't affect me much.. I even watch horror movies alone at home with lights off. πŸ˜…πŸ˜…just don't appear in front of me...haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol, you are among the brave ones, i skip toilet for two days if i watch some horror movie. Well now a days there's no more suspense and real horror in the movies that one get scared

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol.. it's just a movie anyway... I easily erase it in my mind after watching..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Does it not stay in your mind and haunt you for atleast a few days after that?

I've gone through a phase when i used to be scared of dark πŸ€ͺπŸ€ͺ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nope... ad long as you won't allow it to penetrate in your mind...if you're scared, just always tell yourself that it's just a movie created by the directors... as for paranormal, it's scary indeed... but if you aren't brave, you'll be haunted by those scenes... πŸ˜‚

So after watching, erase it totally in your mind..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Easy to say then being done lol. I've got so many stories and even had a very bad interaction with one as well in the past. Phew im glad im over it finally lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha... there's a saying that, face your fear in order to overcome it... So if you're afraid of those stuffs, face them then. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its easy to say then being done lol Yeah I've overcome that fear of mine but it has left a mark in my mind which will take probably another decade to erase

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What?, that long? It's already a trauma to you.. lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just imagine that you could see someone while being among your friends and you know forsure that thing can hurt you but isn't just because you aren't alone and is looking for ways to hurt you and is making you say stuff that you don't want to and you are crying from inside but the ones next to you can't hear it or feel it or see it and you feel like there's nothing at that specific moment that you can do, will have an effect on that thing........

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you sure it was an effect of watching horror movies? What if you have 3rd eye? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No it wasn't and it wasn't even my sixth sense talking at that moment. Whatever that was it was horrible for so many different reason lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mind asking the title of the movie.. i want to watch it..haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah sure, the baseless life of a forever alon guy:featuring the one and only "Joyouscoyote"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you kidding?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ofcourse I'm lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're naughty

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What if you have 3rd eye? πŸ˜… you need to consult a doctor

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol not a 3rd eye, i can bet on that. Btw i did go for a swim to the very same place after a month

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha... maybe you should see a doctor.. it's might be traumatic to you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, will probably see a psychic 🀐🀐

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Perhaps a spychiatrist? It's bothering your mind..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol, I'm fine, was just teasing you lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Teadlsing me? Sorry I'm not affected, haha.. anyway comment on my giveaway articles so you cam receive upvote

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't know too... even other authors can tag me...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much share this.Please subscribed my id. I will back you subscribed and like or comment πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure.. it's a pleasure to help others. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago