Trust your parents

6 27
Avatar for James2k21
2 years ago

#15
27-11-2021

Good morning once again here, it's me again and I'm here to deliver as I ought to deliver. It has been a long day for me and this was due to the fact that I went to register for my Covid-19 vaccine, I've heard a lot of stories about people that took the vaccine and how it really back fired at them but I didn't listen to them at all and still went ahead for the registration, not really because I am stubborn but because it'll be a requirement for being accommodated to the school hostel in the next semester. Take a look at my sponsors before I continue;

Sponsors of James2k21
empty
empty
empty

My article today will be based on my life experience along side some of my imagination, I'm talking on trust and not just any kind of trust but trust in parents. I happen to be a very quiet and easy going person and that's not because it's my attitude but because I've been damaged in a way by my parents. I really wish they had the opportunity of knowing how to gain their children's trust and that's the mistake that most African parents make in their parenting skill, they tend to scare their children away from them all in the name of enforcing their authority. Respect can never be forced, it can only be earned and today I'm going to teach in my minimal knowledge on how to earn your children's respect and trust because I was once there...

  1. Create time for your children

A lot of parents are too busy for their family, they are either into other families matter and I mean either their extended family or maybe even strangers because my dad is a pro at that, not only are they into other people's businesses but also into too deep spirituality. I'm not saying being spiritual is not good but never do it to the detriment of your family, it is even in the Bible and I'm also sure that other religious books would support that. Some parents leave their kids and travel in search for money to fend for the family but in return, they do not have time for their family. This is a major cause for lack of trust in parents by children because they would never have the chance to picture the kind of person you are not to talk of trusting you. Adequate time is needed for our family so that they can all discuss and build a beautiful family.

  1. Never compare your children

This is another very bad idea in African parents, I'm so sorry for picking on Africa but that's where I'm from and I know how it is here. Our parents are with the habit of comparing children. All children can never be the same, they might be of the same age or even in the same class, they can infact be a set of twins. There should be no form of comparison in children either within your children or children outside your family. Doing this would better the self confidence of such a child and this either leads to depression or low self-esteem. No matter how bad a child is, either academically or in any way, that child is definitely good at something else and it's the job of parents to find out what exactly that is, not scolding them like they are dumb children.

  1. Correct your children with Love

Thos is another very common attitude found in our parents, they think that using the rod on a child makes him more obedient or something I don't know but it instead makes the child more heart hardened and that's logical because children adopt, they have small brains and they assimilate fast, once your child gets too used to your cane, such as lost dignity. Cane should be the last thing you should use on your children. Other ways are even more effective, we just need to know how such a child reacts to punishments so as to find the best way to correct such child. You can ground your child and do other things but cane. We must also see the need to explain why such a child is being punished so that they won't do such a thing again.

I just hope that with the little I've written, this would be able to change our parent's mindset on some issues concerning how to gain their children's trust.

4
$ 0.11
$ 0.04 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.03 from @Gaftekloriginal
+ 1
Sponsors of James2k21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for James2k21
2 years ago

Comments

Many parents have failed in their parenting role because they overdo it which has caused a lot of damage in the life of their children. We should never compare our children with anyone cos they came to the world differently, they wouldn't want to be compared too so why do that?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I must agree with you on this roo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have listed quite a few things and that’s great. Keep writing and remember to source your image

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh Thanks for the instruction

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some parents, in their purpose of keeping their children safe or disciplined, unknowingly do some damage along the way. Thank you for sharing your realizations on how parenting should be.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad that you really understood my point and I think we need to take these precautions

$ 0.00
2 years ago