No convocation rice? 😓

5 15
Avatar for James2k21
2 years ago

Good evening to all the readers here, I hope your day has been so good, I'm sure we've all been busy just like myself, it's Monday and that should be expected. Today was a little bit rough as my read.cash account was acting kind of funny this morning, I expected a visit for so long but it never came, not untill this afternoon and I was very happy about that. I also went to a lot of places today and the heat was extraordinary and unbearable, I changed my clothes four times today because I kept coming back to my hostel to have a shower, yeah!!! It was that bad but I guess it's a little bit palatable now even though the walls and floors are radiating tons of heat but we are glad that atleast we can feel some fresh air.

Sponsors of James2k21
empty
empty
empty
The reasons why I keep delivering

Today's writing will be on my University's convocation, the university of Ibadan has been known for one of the loudest convocation ceremonies in the history of Nigerian universities, during my secondary school days, I'd always look forward to the university of Ibadan's convocation because it will always be fun, all the car parks would be filled up, all vacant field space would be occupied with canopies and we'd all wait for the graduands at their tents to come out of the International Conference Center. As the graduands go to their various tents, we'd congratulate them and their parents and we'd receive a pack of food in return, this was almost a tradition in the university and it was always anticipated every year but this year was kind of different.

Due to the Covid-19 restrictions, the university came up with a very funny and saddening protocol, it was reported by the university press that there would be no graduation ceremony this year, and added to that was the most shocking one, " graduands with less than a first class grade must not be seen in the International Conference Center (ICC)". This was very disheartening to many graduands, especially those that graduated with a second class grade, it was so painful that the university would rather not recognize them as graduating students. All these were not my concern, my main concern is you guess!!! Right 🙃 the rice that I used to receive every year won't be there anymore or maybe just this year.

I was very sad and couldn't imagine that I won't receive any convocation rice today, I woke up late as all other days because I've been reading up late at night, I stared out of my windows to see canopies like we used to see every year but this year was quite different, it was just like a normal day, no traffic jam, not graduating students taking pictures together, I took to my phone and asked a few of my friends what their plan for the day was and they gave me the brightest update that I received today, it was reported that the university has lifted the ban on the non first-class graduating students, I was happy for them but I was more happy for my stomach. I took my bath in a hurry and didn't mind the hot sun, I went straight down to the conference center and behold was the crowd of graduating students, at the car park, I could see heaps of takeaway packs in the boot of various cars, my friends and I entered the park and started our food hunt, at the end of the food gathering, we made our counts and I was the highest for the convocation day 1, I had 23 packs, follows by my friend with 15packs and the others with less than ten. We could also bag some drinks as we hoped to also be graduating students in coming years.

Did you enjoy the post? 👇

I'd like to special thank my latest sponsor @McRonald , I appreciate your kindness and good gestures

5
$ 0.72
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @McRonald
$ 0.04 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of James2k21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for James2k21
2 years ago

Comments

😅😅😅so this custom is everywhere. I have never plan to miss out on this convocation day because that day is the only day I won't have to spend my money on food becaaue convocation rice will be available throughout and even till the next day. I can feel your oain bro but thank God they finally did it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And convocation rice is always specially cooked and you can imagine the great taste 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The taste is different truly 🤤🤤😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂😂 I can feel your pain bro 😂😂 same happened in unilag last time

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's really painful tho

$ 0.00
2 years ago