Busy sabbath

11 21
Avatar for James2k21
2 years ago

Good day to all read stars here, just like one of my best writers here would say 😊... I hope your day hasn't been too busy and activity filled, it's Sunday and we should actually have some rest because tomorrow is Monday again and the beginning of another working week. You all are going to bear with me as I'm about going a little spiritual today, I might not be so good but I guess I'll go by the spirit today. I was actually inspired by @Scotty17 this morning to write this, I read his article on what the Sabbath day is and how it's meant to be and I could feel his frustration on people that take the Sabbath day for granted. I'd like to also put my view down concerning this certain issue but before we continue, let's take a look at my sponsors

Sponsors of James2k21
empty
empty
empty
The reason why I keep delivering

I am also going to say my take and supporting it with the Scriptures and I stand to be corrected and also don't intend to offend anyone with my belief, we are all different and we have our differences so I don't expect everyone to be cool with it but I'm not intending any religious bant through this...

First of all, what's the Sabbath day, according to the English dictionary, "the Sabbath day is observed in Judaism and some Christian denominations as a day of rest and worship". The Sabbath day doesn't specifically have a day, because I learnt that some denominations have their Sabbath day on Saturday or Friday or Sunday, which ever day it is, I don't have a problem with it but the Sabbath day is meant to be a day of rest and worship unto God. Here are a few instructions from the Bible:

  1. DON'T WORK ON THE SABBATH DAY

We shouldn't be found working on the Sabbath day, this is a really controversial one but I'm coming back to that part of the controversy.

The Bible says " But the seventh day is the sabbath of the Lord thy God: in it thou shalt not do any work, thou, nor thy son, nor thy daughter, nor thy manservant, nor thy maidservant, nor thine ox, nor thine ass, nor any of thy cattle, nor thy stranger that is within thy gates; that thy manservant and thy maidservant may rest as well as thou."(Deuteronomy 5:14, KJV).

According to this bible verse, no work should be done on the Sabbath day, the Bible even included almost all the family members in the passage and this is to tell us how special the Sabbath day is to God. He doesn't want any activity going on on the Sabbath day. I know what's going through your mind right now, maybe if someone needs urgent medical care, should the doctors also claim they aren't working on the Sabbath day? Well, I'd not support losing lives that could be saved on the Sabbath day all in the name of our belief, if you ask me, I'd call that hypocrisy.

Even the Pharisees, I refer to them as the father of hypocrisy, they asked Jesus the similar question, and even confronted Jesus when he performed signs and wonders on the Sabbath day, to we, humans and according to that bible verse quoted previously, I'd say they might be right to think it's wrong to perform miracles on the Sabbath day but how many of them refuse to cook through out that day. I mean!!! If you're doing good on the Sabbath day, I don't think you're doing the wrong thing.

  1. GO TO CHURCH ON THE SABBATH DAY

The Sabbath day is meant for the Lord and there should be no excuse for us staying in our houses, we should go to the church or our various places of worship to fellowship with other children of God.

The Bible says " Ye shall keep my sabbaths, and reverence my sanctuary: I am the Lord."(Leviticus 19:30, KJV). According to this verse also, we are to reference the sanctuary of the Lord, that's the church of today. When we talk about referencing the sanctuary, it means giving respect to the house of God, you can't give respect if you refuse to go to church. How'd you reference God's sanctuary from your house. It's okay to do online services but it's not advisable, find a church to go and do not forsake the assembly of God's children. Some people, instead of going to church, they go to club houses and other bad places on the SABBATH DAY... That takes me to my third point.

  1. AVOID EVIL PLACES ON THE SABBATH DAY

This last point is just as easy as saying that we should reference the day of the Lord, how many of us can go to the club house when we have an appointment with the richest person in the world? God is even richer than the richest, we shouldn't take his long suffering attitude as being fool, God keeps quiet and allows man make his choices all by himself but I'd tell us to make wise choices. I'm not going deep into this so as not to bore you out.

Conclusion: The Sabbath day is the holy day, the day of the Lord, the day to reference the sanctuary of the Lord and it should be kept holy.

References: The holy Bible (KJV) and all images from unsplash.

Thanks for reading, if you did and I hope you enjoyed it and learnt one or more things from this article, you can make your comments and let's hear what you have to say...

8
$ 0.87
$ 0.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.12 from @McRonald
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
+ 3
Sponsors of James2k21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for James2k21
2 years ago

Comments

Hello friend, here you can write about everything, don't have problem to do it, this is what I like about Read.cash, don't be afraid to get people who may not like what you say, that's something that can happen for sure when you talk about politics and religion, but always under the premise of respect everything can be fine, I follow you, welcome to the platform.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much for your support ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is annoying when we see people work on sabbath day, it is nothing other than to say they are rude to God and never count God to be important. My pastor do say this that any work that will not allow you to have time for God is the devil work, resign from it and I believe it so well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Your pastor has said a very correct thing, work shouldn't be done on the Sabbath

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with what you said but I don't believe the Sabbath day should be one day, 6 days to sin, and 1 day to ask for forgiveness and repeat, I believe every day should be treated as Sabbath and it should be kept holy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Every day should actually be kept holy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All good except for two things, James. 1. The truth must be spoken, so if it offends, it offends. We are constantly offended by evil so why not combat it with the truth? The Sabbath was a Jewish day of rest, for sure. But God rested from creation and set the example for us to rest (not that God needs to rest).

Second, we should always abstain from evil no matter what day of the week it is.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I appreciate your stopping by and I support what you also said, the truth has to be told no matter how difficult it is

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. See, we preach the truth in love and correct evil and wickedness. Sure, people will get offended with the truth because they prefer to wallow in their sins. Just as they beat and killed Jesus and the apostles (and many others) so they will attack us for the truth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But people don't take it seriously, sabbath day should be kept holy but people still live a sinful life everyday including the Sabbath day

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are very right

$ 0.00
2 years ago