First impressions on 2020 spring season of anime

0 61
Avatar for JZA
Written by
4 years ago

So far I have been watching some of the new anime seasons that have started. I have some first impressions. The way this season started has been a bit unorthodoxical. First is some late annoucements due to the COVID19 and some series being cancelled or pushed back. 2 of the series I was looking foward had been affected.

  • Sword art Online

  • Re:Zero

  • Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru. Kan

However there has been other series I wasnt thinking on watching that have turned to be pretty great and funny. First we have the following series:

Jashin-chan Dropkick

![](https://cdn.myanimelist.net/images/anime/1360/106360.webp)

Is basically a Gabrille DropOut rip off. But is funny as hell. So I have been pretty excited about it, ever since I watched the first couple of series. I think this will be one of my favorites of the season.

Princess Connect Re:Drive

This was one that I wasn't planning on watching at all, however I was impressed by their great artwork, and also the way this series mirror Konosuba to an extend. A very underpowered combat hero, a competent Mage and knight. However the series seems to have some plot twists that can keep itself interesting.

Gleipnir

![](https://cdn.myanimelist.net/images/anime/1380/106565.webp)

I am a bit dissapointed of this first episode, the MC seems to be very remenised of Shinji Ikari from Evangelion. He seems to be troubled and have a huge lack of self steem. Resulting in an annoying character that the story will have to deal with constantly.

Otome Game no Hametsu Flag

![](https://cdn.myanimelist.net/images/anime/1315/106420.webp)

This was another sereies I wasnt planning on watching however after this first episode turned out to be pretty awesome and I think I will continue watching. This might be up there on the story.

Yesterday wo Utatte

![](https://cdn.myanimelist.net/images/anime/1986/105547.webp)

This is a more realistic and slice of life series, and in the end turned out to be pretty good plot, I still don't know much about the story but so far I have kept watching, expecting to get increasingly better.

Nami yo Kiitekure

![](https://cdn.myanimelist.net/images/anime/1615/105582.webp)

Another series I was expecting something good, it has a more mature plot line, it could have been a real action. However the story is funny enough to be great in anime and I liked it a lot. It's about a radio personality and how he became herself.

Listeners

![](https://cdn.myanimelist.net/images/anime/1589/106391.webp)

This looked great and turned out to be pretty great. The world is crap and is under attack with lots of aliens and yeah, the MC finds the ultimate weapon. Very battle angel Alita-esque.... I recommend it nevertheless.

All in all great start of the season, there has also been some special episodes that also got myself in the mood of watching lots of animes.

  • Re Zero OVA - Hyouketsu no Kizuna

  • Re Zero OVA 2 - Snowing dreams

  • Altered Carbon The anime movie

All great stuff and art. So lets hope that these hiccups with the COVID are endured by the other good thign that has happened.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for JZA
Written by
4 years ago

Comments