Starting my Own WordPress Website Using A Free Hosting Server

8 44
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

October 6, 2022
Post Number 221

As most of you here know that I teach part-time. I am teaching computer subjects at the secondary level. Since I am teaching HTML, web apps, and eCommerce, I thought of creating my WordPress website. I believe the best way to show them how to create websites and applications, is to have my website.

However, I do not have the budget yet for acquiring a paid hosting server, so I decided to start my website using a free hosting server.


Greetings once again, my dear readers and friends. How are you doing so far this week? I hope all is well on your end and are as productive as you can be.

This is my sixth article now for this month. I hope I can continue this daily writing streak up until the end of this month. My daily earnings are still quite low though. Nevertheless, I am still aiming to complete my one-article-per-day challenge.

In this article, I will share with you why I finally decided to push through with my own website using a free hosting server.


The disadvantage of Using Free Hosting Services.

It's not the first time that I created my website on a free WordPress hosting service. Surely, using a FREE service is quite attractive if you are just trying out WordPress and you don't have the finances to pay for a paid hosting plan. However, there are several disadvantages to using free hosting services. Some of them are the following:

  • limited space and bandwidth

  • limited or no support at all

  • free subdomains are under unattractive domain names.

  • can be terminated at any time.

  • unstable connection sometimes

New and Unique Hosting Server.

Last month though I found a new hosting server, that was not yet listed on any review sites. The server is named Gilect.com. I registered right away and tested it. I observed that this new server is more stable than any of the other existing Free Hosting servers.

Screenshot: Gilect.com

What caught my attention is, their free subdomain is under their company's domain name, Gilect.net. (The other free hosting offers free subdomains to domain names like mk0xyz.CZ, icrmtdm.com, and other hard-to-remember and unattractive first-level domain names.)

Moreover, free users can have up to three active subdomains. For me, that is an amazing offer!

Why did I want To Have My Website?

I would be a hypocrite if I say I don't have a plan to monetize this in any way. However, my primary purpose is to have my site where I can direct my students to additional resources when it comes to coding. Of course, the site will be open for those who want to learn to code.

learn2cod.gilect.net

Initially, though, I will focus on (but will not be limited to) the following topics:

  • HTML and CSS

  • Javascript

  • Scratch Programming

  • Using Wordpress. Although no coding is needed in using WordPress, I am using WordPress to teach students to develop their web application... just a simple one at that,

In the future, I plan to include coding Arduino and MIT app Inventor and/or Kodular.

After revising the theme several times, I decided to stick to what I have now and just customize it.

My current site is now named, Learn 2 Code With John. The address is http://learn2code.gilect.net. I have just started building it today and contains nothing yet. But I will continue working on it every day.

In Closing

Gilect.com seems to be a promising server for start-ups that wants to have a web presence but does not have the budget. Shortly, if I can save enough from my earnings here and the other paying platforms, that I am in, I will pay for their premium services so I have a more stable and secure website.

What is important now is, I can start one for free.

Hopefully, you can visit the site after a few days.

Thanks for reading.


Check out also my other earning sites. (Note: Contains referral Links)

|Read.cash | Noise.cash | Hive (Via Ecency)Forum Coin |

|Publish0x | https://cointiply.mobi/8yiK |

Or Checkout my LinkTree for updated links.

6
$ 6.22
$ 6.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

That is good to start, however nowadays you get hosting very much cheap. I can buy one from my local friend at $5 per year. I will pay him in rupees and you can alternatively payme with BCH if you like.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I rember the days yan yung huli namin project nung elem e

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also have my Free WordPress website.. if I have funds to buy hosting and domain name, I'll try my best to learn how to monetize it. Some of my crypto blogs are already republish in there and I already have few followers haha ...share ko lang

Anyway, the best way to teach something is to have the actual thing.. so you are right to make Website for teaching purposes since people learn faster when we see the step by step process visually.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Soon gagawa ako ng isa pang site where I can share my links and experience in writing,,, what's your site's link? hehe

That's what I thought... it's much easier to learn if they can follow a step-by-step instruction. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

https://viaamor.wordpress.com

That's my site link. I haven't take care of it yet 😁

True, parang pag nanoud ka nang video tutorial mas madali rather than reading or pakikinig lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama. Nice site... Pero hindi ka makamonetize sa WordPress.com. Bawal dun. Mahal din yung premium nila. 😟. Pero at least magamit mo rin yan para magpromote ng mga posts mo. ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi ba pwdi bilhan nang hosting and domain name yun? Di ko pa kasi na explore talaga yan. Later ko pa aralin..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

pwede. pero masyadong mahal sa wordpress.com. kung babayad ka ng hosting merong mga hosting sites na makukuha mo less $3 a month. pero need mo ng 2-3 years contract para ma avail ang discounted price. plus libre na yung one year na domain name.

$ 0.00
1 year ago