Spending More Time on My Graphic Novel or Digital Comics Project

5 40
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

December 11, 2022

I may have been inactive in writing online for the past weeks. I have several reasons for that. Perhaps, I even have lost my motivation to write (Read: https://ecency.com/hive-125125/@jloberiza/i-kinda-lost-my-motivation?referral=jloberiza)

What I have forgotten to mention in that article though is, I have been working on something else. I have been working on my fiction story that I plan to publish as a graphic novel or a comic book or a webcomic rather.


Greetings my dear readers and friends. Yeah, I have been inactive in any writing platforms for the past few weeks... more than a month,

If I had just managed my time more effectively, I could have written at least 5 articles per week. If I post them on two or three platforms, maybe I could have at least twice what I have earned in the previous months.

Despite my reduced activity online, though, I have been quite busy with something else. Something that I have always dreamed of doing since I was a child.

Creating and publishing my Digital comic books


No Formal Training

I have no formal training in drawing. Well... except for the Drafting subjects I had in secondary school and in my first year in Engineering where I learned some basic penciling skills like shading and some concepts on perspective and the like.

Aside from those, nothing. However, I have been drawing since I was a kid.

Picture Stories.

I have mentioned before that I owe my love for drawing to comic books. I used to create my own "comic book" stories using popular characters like Spiderman. However, since I don't know how to write stories, I would draw my stories on bond paper. I would create several small panels on bond paper. I just draw each scene without the dialog. I did not use pencils then. I use a ballpoint pen to make my drawings. Then I would look at them and just imagine the dialog in my mind.

The truth is, after a few days or weeks after I drew them, I can no longer understand what I drew them. LOL!

After a while, I started creating my characters. Based on the characters I love in comic books.

Using Medibang Paint

For several years now, I have been using Medibang Paint. Medibang Paint is a cross-platform application designed for Mangga creators. I thought it was a perfect app for me.

However, it was only this year that I started to create my digital comics using Medibang Paint.

At first, I create one file per page for my story. The first one that I created is a fan art with two characters from different "Universe", so to speak. One from Marvel, and another from Universal Studios.

My Fan Art Story...

These were just digital sketches, but I suppose, you can recognize these characters.

However, I thought I'm missing something. I'm creating one file for each page. I realized then that there is a "comic" feature in Medibang Paint. With this feature, I can create a file with several pages. Thus, managing a comic book project is much easier.

My First Comic Book Project

I may have several stories that I have been keeping in my mind for several years. However, those stories are set in foreign countries. I even have one in a fantasy world. I thought I'd create one set closer to home. A Filipino character and set here in my country. This will not be my first Filipino character though.

Anyway, he will not be a super-powered hero. But he is a crime fighter.

Here is a work-in-progress cover page I made a few days ago.

WIP of the cover page.

Then in the last two days, I started "inking" and coloring a page. Here is what I have finished so far.

As you can see, There is no dialog yet. But there will be.

At the rate I am going though, I think it will be about a month before I can finish the whole first issue. But maybe I will divide it into three or four so I can release the first part before the end of this year.

In Closing.

Will I earn from this project? I hope so. On the other hand, I have been drawing for myself for decades. It's something I love to do even if I don't get paid for it.

I hope I can share with you my talent soon. And hopefully, I won't bore you with my stories. If I earn something from this project, that would be great. Who knows, if this project grows, maybe I can help other budding artists in my area.

Thanks for reading.


6
$ 1.56
$ 1.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @fantagira
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

You’ll either earn or you’ll learn, but I wish you both! Keep going, it looks great 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well.. I've been earning while learning here in read.cash. :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello can I ask what gadget are you using to draw? I'm quite interested with digital drawing this day and I don't have a clue on where to start. I've been drawing on my sketchbook and I want to try another way of drawing 😁.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry, I mis-interpreted your question when I first replied to this question. I'm using Huawei 10.4 Matepad (2022 release). It came with with an M-Pen 2 stylus.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm using Medibang Paint. It's cross-platform and comes with (limited) free cloud storage. Mean, you can access your work from any platform, (windows, android or mac)

$ 0.00
1 year ago