Project: Animated Comics Thru Scratch

3 42
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

November 10, 2022. Article Number: 240

I was demonstrating to my class how to animate a character from scratch this afternoon. I used one of the available sprites with four 'costumes'. It was a simple walking animation.

For those who don't know yet, Scratch is block-based programming platform developed by MIT. It's design as an educational tool for developers of almost all ages. I decided to introduce this platform to the school where I teach part-time.

In Scratch, sprites are the objects of programming. They are images that you can manipulate in one way or another using the blocks of codes. Sprites can be animated using different costumes or variations of the image.

During the demonstration, an idea popped up into my mind. Why not make my (still unnamed) masked Filipino Martial Artist into a sprite? My first thought was, maybe I can create an arcade-type game using my character.

Something similar to the old Nintendo hack-and-bash type of game. Why not?

Created using PixelLab Mobile App

Greetings my dear readers and friends. If you may have noticed, I often write in my bio 'self-trained graphic artist. That's what I am. I never had formal training in graphics design. That and the fact that I am an introvert, I hardly used my design skills to earn. Let's just say, I never wanted to be put under the spotlight. I admit, I also lack confidence in publishing my works.

However, thanks to the positive feedback I receive from various platforms including readcash and Hive, I have gained some confidence and felt inspired to pursue this area of my life.


When I got home, I thought of creating a simple version of my character. I even thought of creating an SD (super-deformed) version of my character. You know, big head, small body and funny looking.

Initially, I started creating a frontal pose. I realized then that I need to create a side-facing posture. Similar to the Avery sprite in Scratch.

My original plan is just to create the sketch, so I won't lose the idea.

However, I could not help myself. I ended up coloring the character. But I did not stop there. I created a transparent PNG file and imported it from scratch!

My character is now a sprite in Scratch
The adventure begins!

Then another idea came into my mind. Since I was planning to create webcomics, why not animated comics as well? This is something I can do in Scratch!

All I need now is to refine the first image and create three variants so I can make it walk.

NFT material?

Then the thought of creating an NFT series popped up again. The question is, I don't know how. I guess I need to spend some time doing some research about creating NFTs.

In Closing.

I hope this is the answer that I am looking for that will lead me to achieve my financial goals. I would to hear some suggestions and your thoughts on this matter.

Thanks for reading.


Please don't forget to Like, Upvote, Comment, Share and Subscribe!

Check out also my other earning sites. (Note: Some Contains referral Links)

|Read.cash | Noise.App | Noise.cash | Hive (Via Ecency)Forum Coin |

|Publish0x | Cointiply |

Or Checkout my LinkTree for updated links.


5
$ 1.40
$ 1.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

Oh, this is a good one. Hey, you should create a NFT out of this. It is so cute!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks... but..... I don't know how. heheh.. i know you created some NFTs.... can you guide me? hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang galing mo sir. Isa ka sa mga talented artists na magaling sa ganyan. Kung magaling lang ako hehe I draw ko yung bias ko sa KPOP sir. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago