My 2nd Entry For Week 4 of the HivePH Art Challenge.

9 38
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

My 2nd Entry For Week 4 of the HivePH Art Challenge.

October 29, 2022

I uploaded this last night as Severe Tropical Storm Paeng pours heavy rain and strong winds in our city. At the time of writing 12 areas in Luzon are under storm signal number 3.

Kaya sa mga kababayan kong naapektohan ng bagyo, doble ingat po.

As for the rest of us, let us pray for those who were affected by this storm.


Greetings once again readcash! I have uploaded this in Hive last night. https://ecency.com/hive-188409/@jloberiza/my-2nd-entry-for-week.

I am reposting this here to share with you the process how I made this artwork to those who doesn't have a Hive account.

This is my 2nd and final entry for the 4th of week of the Hive PH Art Challenge. In case you missed it, my first entry for this week is my tribute to my favorite TV series The Walking Dead: My 1st Entry For the HivePH Art Challenge Week 4


For this entry, which I can't think of a title, if for the prompt/them "Your Original Design". I decided to share with you a (yet to be named) Filipino super hero wielding a pair of ancient form of Arnis sticks.
Here is my final image.

Background

I was doing some research on "ironwood". Ironwood is a type of wood normally used as Arnis sticks. They are so called ironwood because they are almost as hard as iron. Kamagong is classified as one of this type of wood.

In my research, however, I learned that in the pre-Spanish era, the natives are using a different type of wood. It is known as Guijo or Guiso in tagalog. It is an extremely rare type of wood. It is much harder and more durable than kamagong.

Check out this page to know more about Guijo Sticks: https://www.traditionalfilipinoweapons.com/shop/iron-wood-gijo-sticks-from-the-philippines/

The Character Design

I wanted to design a full-blooded Filipino hero. I thought, why not explore and promote traditional Filipino weapons and garb. So why not a Filipino Martial Artist using arnis sticks, bolo, and other ancient Filipino weapons. Here is the final solo image.

In this image, our (unnamed) hero is wielding a pair of Guijo sticks. Originally, I only drew a more familiar rounded arnis sticks. Guijo sticks, on the other hand, are characterized by their octagonal, flat sticks.

It is said, that these sticks are designed to break the bones of their opponents. (Ouch!).

On his waist is a Filipino sword... to be specific it is based on "Panay Tanegre. It's a bolo-like weapon from the island of Panay...where I am now. The weapon is carried in it's wooden sheath with carvings of my own design.

The "salakot" or traditional farmer's hat, is lined with an "unknown" metal. Thus it's not just a sun shade but functions as an armor.

Here is closer look.

The Process

Again, I started by sketching it on a layer in Medibang Paint. Turned that layer to blue and traced it on another layer. This time, I used only 2 PX thick line for my outline.

I decided to put the outline of the right-hand guijo sticks on a separate layer.

As usual, I painted the flat colors. Then created at least two more layers for the light and dark tones.

I added some details on the design of the weapon and the salakot.

Lights, Camera, Action!

Do you want to see our hero in action? Here is a bit of a teaser. He is surround by three thugs one night. The thugs are armed with a metal baseball bat, a GI pipe and a huge knife!

Maybe I will create a short comic book what happened next.

Until then...

Thanks For Reading


Check out also my other earning sites. (Note: Contains referral Links)

|Read.cash | Noise.cash | Noise.AppHive (Via Ecency)Forum Coin |

|Publish0x | Cointiply |

Or Checkout my LinkTree for updated links.



4
$ 2.46
$ 2.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @fantagira
$ 0.01 from @Momentswithmatti
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

I'll check out your Ecency article. I only published my intro there this year, It looks like a great place to be :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks. Hive is a great platform.. but a bit complicated.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is somewhat complex, but also full of opportunities. I learn more about it every day :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's so cool sir! I like the story about his weapons and even his hat!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

heheh... yung guijo stick... totoo yan... ang salakot.. gawa gawa ko lang heheheh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ayos pa din!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May another art na naman akong nakita ngayon. Super ganda sir at nagustuhan ko. Pwede rin kayo mag tayo ng business na magamit yung talent niyo sir.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat. Pinagiisipan ko nga yan eh. ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sir kasi sayang naman ng talento mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago