Is The Huawei MatePad 10.4 An Amazing Tablet?

12 57
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

July 7, 2022

Is The Huawei MatePad 10.4 An Amazing Tablet or Not?

I have been using my Huawei MatePad 10.4 for almost two months now. Ever since I got it, I used it more than I have used my Celeron Laptop. Although this is not a high-end tablet, I can do a lot more with it than my laptop.

Created using Canva

Greetings once a gain my dearest readers and read-cash family. This is a long-overdue review of my latest gadget. Don't get me wrong, I don't buy gadgets often. Moreover, whenever I buy something a little pricey, I make sure I can and will use it to earn more money.

In almost two months of use of this device, I can say I had a satisfying experience with it. I guess it's also more than enough time to assess its performance and give an honest review.


About Huawei MatePad 10.4 2022

While looking for some articles about this model, I got confused a bit. Some articles indicate that the processor is Kirin 820 while others state Kirin 710A. Most articles state that the rear camera is 8MP while others say it's 13 MP. So which is which?

The thing is both versions are true! Huawei released two versions of this tablet with the same name. The one they call the true 2022 version, comes with Kirin 820 processor and an 8 MP rear camera. The other is an upgraded version of the 2020 release that now has a Kirin 710A processor and a 13 MP rear camera. What I have is the later or the 2020-2022 version.

Here are the specs of what I have.

  • Processor: Kirin 710A (8 Core)

  • Display: 10.4 inches 2000 x1200 resolution

  • RAM: 4 GB

  • Internal Storage: 128 GB

  • Camera: Rear: 13 MP, Front 8 MP

  • OS: Harmony OS2

  • Battery: 7200 mAH, comes with supercharger

  • Speakers: Quad speakers

  • Network: 4G LTE, Wi-Fi

  • SIM slot: Yes

  • Price: I got this tablet for PHP 18,900 last May 16.

Freebies

I bought the tablet as it was launched during the opening of the first Huawei store in our city. Thus, I got some freebies.

  • Magnetic Smart Keyboard- the magnetic smart keyboard serves also as the case and holder of the tablet. You only need to pair the keyboard to the tablet once. Whenever the tablet is locked into position, the keyboard automatically connects to the tablet. When you remove the tablet, the keyboard disconnects.

T
  • M-Pencil Generation 2 - The M-Pencil is Huawei's proprietary stylus. It's an active stylus. That means it is battery-powered. The pen is charged using the magnetic charger with a type-c connector which you connect to the tablet. The M-Pen 2 is pressure sensitive which is useful if you are doing some graphic designs.

    The M-Pen 2 costs around PHP 4,000.00 (around $80).

The M-Pencil 2 Stylus

My Experience

Here are some of the experiences that I have in this tablet.

Display and Sound

The display is clear from any angle. If you love to watch movies, you will surely love the display of the Matepad 10.4. The quad speakers make a high-quality sound as well.

Screenshot of Thor Ragnarok at 720p. This screenshot doesn't do justice to the quality of the display though.

Split-Screen

Also the split screen feature allows me to display two or three apps at the same time. The third app will be on a floating window. With this feature, I no longer need to keep on switching screen between two applications. Also this feature lets me compose my article while watching a movie at the same time.

Composing an article while watching an episode of 24.

Harmony OS

Huawei's Harmony OS is the company's response when Google blacklisted Huawei. Since the native Android Operating System is made by Google, Huawei cannot use it on their devices since 2019 (I think).

While a lot of Android applications can run smoothly on Harmony OS, a lot of apps that require access to Google Mobile Services will not. Some will run with limited features, some will not run at all.

However, thanks to GSpace, Huawei users can now run any Android apps on their devices. Although some apps crash occasionally.

Graphics design apps

I'm happy that my favorite graphics design apps run smoothly on Harmony OS. I already knew that since I already own a Huawei phone that runs on Harmony OS.

With the 10.4-inch screen and the tablet, I can finish my illustrations quickly.

Working with my version of Michone using Medibang Paint

Using the Smart Keyboard and M-Pen 2

The smart keboard and M-Pen are connected to the tablet via Buletooth. The keyboard has an on/off switch on the right side. Once the tablet is locked in place by the magnet, the keyboard automatically connects to the tab. Once removed, the keyboard's Bluetooth turns off.

One disadvantage of this set up is, you can't use keyboard when the tablet is on portrait orientation.

So far, if I use my preferred text editor, I experience no delay in typing. However, if I type directly on a web-based editor, I experienced some delays. I believe it is more on my unstable Internet connection though.

The M-Pen 2 is pressure and tilt sensitive. It can sense up to 4000+ levels of pressure. This is great when making digital illustrations.

Super Device/Multi-Screen

This is one beautiful feature of Huawei's OS. With Super Device, I can connect my phone to my tablet seamlessly. With this, I can share files between my devices even without the Internet. I don't even have to use the Share it App, anymore.

With the Multi-screen, I can see my phone's screen on my tab and even control my phone from my tablet.

Screenshot of Multi-screen

Gaming

I did not buy the tablet to run games on it. But sometimes, I play games to relieve some stress. So far the heaviest game that I have installed is Art of War 3. It's a strategy game similar to the classic Command and Conquer PC game. So far I have not encountered any performance issues with the tablet. Maybe, I will try and see how this tab will fare if I play Life After.

Battery Life

In the first week of usage, it took at least a couple of days before I needed to recharge it. But as I install more apps. there are a few instances when I have to recharge twice within a day. On most days, though, I need only to charge it once. To think that I use it more than 10 hours a day.

Over All Rating.

The Huawei Matepad 10.4 (2020 -2022) met my expectations beautifully. Though it's not the company's top-of-the-line tablet, I say it's worth the price and even more.

I would gladly rate the Huawei Matepad 10.4 10 out of 10... but I believe there is still some room for improvements like giving it the Kirin 820 processor and 5G LTE connection. And before I forget, I have to mention that this tablet has no audio jack anymore. Thus you can only use a Bluetooth headset/ speaker with it.

That being said, my final rating is 9/10!

I hope you liked this review. Don't forget to leave some comments below.

Thanks for reading.


5
$ 1.62
$ 1.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.01 from @Jijisaur
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

I have a Huawei phone and I can say that this brand is really a quality. They are stepping up there internal hardware for the past years. Good job to them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that is one great tablet sir! with the price you mentioned on the comments, it is indeed a great tablet to have! i like that you got the pen and the keyboard for free..super sulit na! it's like a laptop already...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yup. yung free keyboard at pen worth more than 10K, kaya sulit na sulit, hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow ang ganda pero expensive to nuh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

PHP 18,900. Kapag Samsung ang me specs na ganito mga 25K na siguro o mahigit pa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Need ko na tlga makaipon 😬😁❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup. Dapat. Huwag na wag Kang mag home credit. Super kulit Nila. Nakakairita

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti na lang di ko alam yun 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahaha. Yung mga financing company na nakatambay sa mga computer at appliance shops. Pati na rin sa mga nagbebenta ng cellphone. Sila daw Yung magfifinance ng bibilhin mo with "Zero interest" daw! Pero pinatong na nila ang interest sa ibang service charge hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Simula nung mascam ako kuys, kahit paswipe, di ko na pinatulan 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's really a nice one po, I want to buy a laptop maybe this year, hopefully.But, I think this one is good too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yup. Sa akin ok na to... magaan pang dalhin, so kahit saan makapag compose ako ng article at makagawa ng designs ko. :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago