Is It Easy To Create Tutorial Videos?

4 46
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

March 14. 2023

Is It Easy To Create Tutorial Videos?

For the past four weeks, I have been learning how to create tutorial videos for my new YouTube Channel, Daily Tech Life. I plan to upload content related to technologies that people encounter every day. However, I ended up creating tutorial videos for my Arduino Class. Don't worry though, I already have some other topics in mind that I plan to create soon.

Also, at the end of this post, I have a question or two that I hope you can help me answer.


Greetings once again, my dear readers and friends. I guess, you already know by now why I rarely upload any articles in the past three weeks or so. I have always wanted to create tutorial videos for Youtube. Hoping that I can earn some extra cash by sharing what I know.

The question is, "Is it Easy to Create Tutorial Videos?". Perhaps it depends. For me, I had to overcome some limitations.


I Can't Afford to Pay for Premium Video Editing Apps.

This is my first limitation. I can't afford to pay for premium video editing apps. I know that there are some free video editors like the Power Director. However, these free versions have some limitations and often show their watermark. Although, the Power Director's watermark is not that distracting. There are some that put their watermark right in the middle of the video.

There are some open-source apps. But some of these apps are either not so user-friendly or require some heavy hardware.

This leads me to my next limitation.

Hardware Limitation

Believe it or not, I'm still using my five-year-old Celeron laptop. If I had not replaced it's hard-drive with SSD, this laptop would almost be useless. I could consume half a cup of hot coffee before the Windows OS would start.

Anyways, even with an SSD drive the low-powered processor is not built for video editing, period.

I Don't Want to Show My Self Nor Use My Own Voice

I don't consider myself as photogenic or telegenic. Not that I am not good-looking (*ahem*), I just don't want to show my own face for now.

I tried using my own voice, however, I often make some mistakes like mispronouncing a word or two or forgetting what I need to say. I ended up wasting time rerecording the same scene several times


The Solutions.

Thanks To My Huawei MatePad 10.4

Last year, I bought my Huawei Matepad 10.4 tablet. Yes, it only has a 10.4-inch screen but its Octa-core processor makes it much more powerful than my Celeron laptop. I suppose I can compare its power with an I3 or even I5 processor. It also came with an active stylus and a Bluetooth smart keyboard.

With this tablet, I can make some graphics and even edit videos.

YouCut Video Editor

I once tried Cyberlink's Power Director for mobile. It's actually easy to use. However, when I tried the YouCut video editor, I thought this is the app that I wanted to use. I can easily edit my videos, add background music, add some transition effects, and the like. Moreover, the final output does not have any watermarks.


The Process

I got the hardware and software, that I can use. The process? That's what I am learning. Since I am creating tutorials for an application that will not run properly on my tablet, I have to use my laptop.

At the time of writing, I record my laptop screen as I do the tutorial. I used the Screen Rec app to record my screen. It's a free screen recorder (for five minutes) and does not add a watermark to your recorded video.

There are times, I need to take some screenshots as well. Then I would send the videos and images to my tablet.

Text-to-voice Narration.

In my first video tutorial, I used the Speechify app to read the script that I wrote in Google Docs. However, I encountered a problem when I downloaded the Audio file. Though, I found a way around it by recording Speechify as it reads the script.

Anyway, you can read about it here: https://read.cash/@JLoberiza/i-finally-finished-my-first-tutorial-video-86a03d67

Thanks to https://read.cash/@Bjorn for suggesting https://bigspeak.ai/. I plan to use that text-to-speech app in my upcoming tutorials.

Using Caption

In my latest tutorial, instead of using AI-generated voice, I hardcoded the caption in my video. Since I have already written the script, I added the appropriate text to the video. I make sure that the script is in sync with the video.

Adding the Intro and Outro

I already have pre-made intro and outro clips. For my latest tutorial, however, I decided to change the intro and created using PowerPoint. Yup, you can create a video clip using PowerPoint.

Uploading To My YouTube Channel.

I named my YouTube channel "Daily Tech Life". My original intention was not just to upload video tutorials and lessons, I planned to create apps, and gadget reviews as well, plus other information regarding the technologies that affects us every day.

My YouTube Channel: Daily Tech Life

Here is my latest Tutorial:

My Question

As I mentioned above, I have a question and I hope you can help me with this. I know that monetizing a channel on YouTube takes a lot of time and effort. I also know that there are other video-sharing platforms where we can earn some cash, fiat, or cryptocurrency.

Based on your experience, which platform would recommend where I can share video tutorials related to electronic circuits and coding?

(Right now, I'm looking at Odysee. I think it's worth trying out.)

In Closing

Is it easy to create tutorial videos? Since I am in the learning stage, it took me more than a day to finish my tutorial video. Although I did not record how much time spent on editing the video.

Perhaps, with a little more practice, I can say that, Yes! it's easy to create a video tutorial.

Perhaps, in the near future, I will create a video tutorial on how to create a video tutorial. (Pun intended.)

Thanks For Reading


Post No. 2023-009
All images are mine unless otherwise indicated.
| Read.cash | Noise. App | Hive (Via Ecency)| Forum Coin |
| Publish0x | Cointiply | YouTube
Or Checkout my LinkTree for updated links.


*Co -posted in Hive: https://ecency.com/hive-188409/@jloberiza/is-it-easy-to-create

4
$ 0.75
$ 0.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bjorn
$ 0.01 from @halu
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

It really is hard to create a video tutorial especially if you did not do the actual process of a certain topic/project or at least have tried experimenting. But for teachers or trainers who wants to make video tutorial, its not that hard.. The only challenge they will encounter is the video editing but these these days there are a lot of video editing software or online that are kind of drag and drop as easy as eating peanuts.

You did well with your video here and yes voice over is kind of a plus factor. When i created my YT channel in 2019 i did not take it seriously I just made it for fun. As you can see I only have 260 plus subscribers with Aulros channel.

My advise is just share you videos anywhere on the internet, you know sometimes there are people who like electronics even if they are practicing medicine or culinary. who knows...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks. That is quite true. I had a house mate back in college who was taking Electronic Communications Engineering who told us that he had a friend taking a medical course who explained to him how a disk drive works. LOL!

Anyway, robotics has a wide range of applications these days. It's applied to almost every field.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tutorial videos are in demand nowadays. It's not easy to create a tutorial video but if you have enough knowledge about the topic then it would be easier for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks, it's the video editing that takes so much of my time. Again, welcome to read.cash.

$ 0.00
1 year ago