Going Back To Web Design and Coding

6 50
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

August 21

The school year 2022-23 officially started last week. However, in our school, the week was spent for orientation purposes.

Though face-to-face classes resume this year, it is still quite limited. The classes are divided into two schedules, morning and afternoon. That is our setup for the first quarter. Or until the Department of Education will make some drastic changes.

In the previous years, I was only teaching senior-high school level. This year though, I was assigned to teach at least three computer subjects in Junior High. However, one of our co-teachers got sick (NOT Covid, thankfully) last week and needs a two-month rest. Thus, I will be taking over her computer subject as well.

Created using PixelLab

Hello, again my dear read-cash readers. It's been six days since my last post here. As I have mentioned, I have been preoccupied with the preparations for the school opening.

I am still making a presentation for my class tomorrow.


From Web Design To Web Applications.

I will be teaching computer subjects from grades 7 to 10 this year. The focus for each will be

  • Web Design

  • Web Application

  • E-Commerce platforms and;

  • Object Oriented Programming.

Looking Back

For those of you who don't know me, I have a computer engineering background. Thus, these subjects are not new to me. However, I learned these subjects through research and self-study.

The question is, why did I not pursue it as a carrier? Maybe I lack the motivation? Or I'm overwhelmed by long-standing weakness and nemesis --- lack of self-confidence? Yeah, that is my biggest personal weakness.

Thus, I abandoned web design and coding. Not entirely though. There were times that I tried to create my blog site using WordPress. There was even a time when I invested in a paid hosting service. However, I wasn't able to put enough content to earn from Google ads. I lost my motivation again and once again, abandoned my blog site.


Last week, I started preparing for my lessons. As part of my preparation, I have to relearn HTML. Not from the start though. I can still recall the basics. However, HTML 5 has a lot more to offer than the last version of HTML that I have dabbled in the past. I believe it was HTML 4.

With HTML 5, web designers/developers can now create a more responsive webpage without using Javascript.

Screenshot of Code Academy

As for creating Web Applications, I thought, it was quite impossible to teach web applications from scratch. If I do, this means I have to teach the learners how to use PHP or Python. Considering the limited time we have, I don't think the learners will be able to create a working Web Application.

My alternative is to use WordPress instead. I know that several web applications and e-commerce sites were created using WordPress. This includes Facebook or at least they started Facebook using WordPress.

Anyway, I'm not planning to ask them to create a sophisticated web application, what is important is they learn the basics.

The challenge though is, where will they upload their work? That's another matter I will tackle in my next article.

As for Object Oriented Programming. The computer teacher before the pandemic taught Visual Basic 6. Which is highly outdated. I'm planning to teach a more updated programming platform using MIT's App Inventor.

In Closing.

Teaching was always one of my motivations to learn new things. Thankfully, when computers to computers or Information Technology, there are tons of readily available tutorials and learning materials online. I just hope I can pass the knowledge effectively to my students.

Thanks for reading.


Acknowledgement:

Thanks to the article "Going Back To WordPress" written by @emily2u for giving me a spark to write this article. I wanted to write this weekend but I was out of ideas until I read this article.


Image Credit:

Lead Image: Image by James Osborne from Pixabay  with modification.

7
$ 1.49
$ 1.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @emily2u
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 1
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

Being a student of the computer science i like your article. I have been using ASP . NET MVC for Web Application as I'm good in desktop programming using C# and ASP coding is similar to C#, however the MVC framework I love. Apart from that trying and learning PHP (Laravel)... Thankyou

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yeah. I think I am going to review PHP again soon and dive back to code igniter... If I can find some time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Would be grateful if you share those with me once you find it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Face to Face is came back already after I think 2 years ata. Sobrang tagal din dahil sa pandemic. Good luck and God bless to your classes sir.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di ko alam na teacher pala kayo. Ano yung mga tinuturuan niyo, mga highschool students or mga college na po?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

high school. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago