Do You Love To Draw?

4 49
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

June 2, 2022

Do you love to draw? I do. Are you earning by drawing? Me? Occasionally. This time though, I want to earn by drawing regularly. The question is how and where?

Do you love to draw?

Hello again, my wonderful read_cash family, and art lovers. How are you holding up in this depressing time in the crypto oversee? I hope you're still holding on tight. Soon enough, I believe, the prices will go up again soon. In the meantime, it's the best time to earn as much BCH as we can.

Anyways, this post is not about BCH, it's about the thing that I love to do the most. DRAWING. What I have not thought about, and what I should have started doing long ago, is earning money by doing it.


Looking Back

I grew up in the comic book era. Ie and my brothers had a collection of DC and Marvel comics. Yes, I knew Web-Head, Shell-Head, and Wing-Head in my childhood days. Those are the nicknames of Spiderman, Ironman, and Captain America in the comic books. Comic books helped me learn how to read in English. Not only that, comic books are the main reason why I love to draw.

I started by drawing stick figures. There are always two camps fighting each other. The thin ones and the round ones. Then I started tracing my favorite superhero characters. Superman was the most popular superhero back then, my first favorite was Spiderman.

WIP: My unfished version of Spidey

I used to draw a lot on the back of my notebooks when I was in grade school. But I rarely show them to anyone else. I remember drawing the Hulk, based on the TV series starring Lou Ferrigno.

There was no CGI nor animatronics back then. Mr. Ferigno was a huge guy. (He made cameo appearances in the recent Hulk movies). They just painted him green and wore a messy wig and thick green eye browse.

Growing up, I never outgrew my love for drawing. But they were all for my own eyes only.

One of my early works in using Medibang Paint

No Formal Training.

I never had any formal training in drawing. But our eldest brother had, and I would always observe how he draw and try to learn from him. (There was no Internet back then). But I remember our father bought us some instructional books on how to draw Disney Characters. Yup, Mickey Mouse and the gang was the most popular cartoon character back then. Along with Popeye and Tom and Jerry.

I took up Computer Engineering in college. But I kept on drawing to pass my time. I also started creating my characters in my mind and drawing them.

My First Encounter With Adobe Photoshop and Corel Draw

As far as I can remember, my first encounter with Adobe Photoshop and Corel Draw is at my first employment. I was working as a computer technician. In my free time, however, I will sit next to our graphic artists and observe them work using Photoshop and Corel Draw. Sometimes, he will describe what he was doing to me. Then I will play with Photoshop on my computer at home.

Earning From Graphic Design Services

In the early 2000s, I did offer my graphic design services locally. I offered the following:

  • Calling card designs and printing

  • Invitations

  • ID Cards.

  • Tarpaulin Design

Sample of my calling card design

These are just the basics of graphic design services. I offered them offline. I also offered a gig on Fiverr at that time. The gig was to create a vector drawing or "cartoon" out of a portrait photo. This is one of the gigs that I am planning to offer again on Fiverr.

A sample of my work

Medibang Paint

For several years now, I have been using Medibang Paint as my alternative to Photoshop.

WIP: My DYOR of Michone of The Walking Dead

In Closing.

Drawing is something that I love to do. I have been doing it even if I don't get paid for it. I know I should have started offering my services many years ago. All I need to do is to hone my skills in the next few days. The time myself how fast I can finish a job. Hopefully, if I can guarantee that I can finish my work in a short period, I can get the attention of the customers. Moreover, it would be great if I can finish two jobs per day.

if there are things that you really love to do, even your hobbies, you can use that to earn money. If not directly, you can write about it, or create videos about your hobbies.

Live an abundant life.

Thanks for Reading.


8
$ 4.69
$ 4.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

I use Medibang to make my NFTs because the app is free. I also have a gig on Fiverr making call cards.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thanks for sharing that. One thing that I need to learn is how to create NFTs...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You had a great work on this,I don't have a talent with drawing but I'm willing to learn. Drawing is really good and relaxing as well. It can make us divert our attention and keep away from stress.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

yup. Drawing is quite relaxing. It's a great stress reliever.

$ 0.00
1 year ago