An Amazing Weekend Adventure in Antique

8 63
Avatar for JLoberiza
7 months ago

September 3, 2023

Two weeks ago, August 19, we had an amazing weekend adventure in Antique, Philippines. It was the start of a long weekend, so we decided to spend the weekend in Culasi, Antique. The home town of my brother-in-law (my wife's sister's husband). The plan was to visit a recently opened tourist attraction, the Maja-as Park.

Start of the Journey.

The trip would take us about 4 hours. We were supposed to leave at 7 in the morning. That was the plan, but as I have expected we left a few minutes after eight. The trip was quite smooth. We just have to make a quick stop-over so the ladies can relieve themselves and to buy some coffee from a 7-11 store.

Scenic View

As we draw near our destination, the view scenic. We see mountains on one side and the sea on the other.

Lunch Time

We arrived at our destination just in time for lunch. We brought some viand. Mixed seafoods, pancit (Filipino-style noodles), fresh oysters, and others. Our host also prepared some.

Our host, opening an oyster.

This oyster meat is smaller than I expected but it's still delicious.

The Pig Farm

Our host has a cousin who owns a pigery on the next lot. We decided to visit the place after lunch. I forgot to bring my phone when I went there, so I had to go back and get it so I could take some photos.

My son going back from the pigery.

This cow is happily munching his lunch.

This is just some of the pigs. There were about 30 pigs and piglets in the farm. Or maybe make it 29.

And here is one of the pigs... It's going to be our dinner.

Growing on Air

There were some pomelo trees in front of the pigery. They decided to get some fruit... This one caught my attention though.

Yeah, that's a coconut growing on air...

We need to make some changes to our schedule.

The original plan was to go to the Maja-as park in the afternoon and witness the sunset from there. Then we go to the beach in the morning and rinse in the river afterward.

However, they were not able to book our ride for the afternoon. So we decided to go to the beach.

My sister-in-law and a family friend brought their coffee on the way to the beach.

The beach looked calm. However, the undercurrent was strong and it was not safe for the kids.

So we decided to go back and go to the river instead.

Enjoying the Cool and Crystal Clear Waters of the River

The river was sparkling clean and cool.

Don't be fooled by this image though. The river is not that deep. In fact, the deeper parts barely reached our knees.

My lovely wife and our eldest son.

Dinner and Birthday Celebration

I haven't taken any more photos that evening. My son already 'sequestered' my phone. That day was also my mother-in-law's birthday. We had the lechon as our main dish. Then we had some drinks and a video.

Next time we get there, I must have an extra phone so I can get more photos. LOL

In Closing

This was just the first part of our weekend adventure. I will post the next part in the coming days. At the moment, I need to prepare for my class tomorrow.


Post No. 2023-45

Date Posted: September 3, 2023, Philippine Standard Time

All images are mine unless otherwise indicated.

(Co posted in Hive- via Ecency.com)

Check me out in other platforms.

5
$ 0.37
$ 0.25 from @bloggy_vkp4nx4nk
$ 0.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @zulfrontado
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
7 months ago

Comments

How beautiful that you enjoy with your family, and what beautiful photos, I loved the river and the cow. And I was surprised by the coconut growing in the air.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Thanks. I still have lots of photos to share. I hope I can post it this weekend.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

ahhh i felt that river's cool water just by seeing yuour pics... also... also.. i think i want an oyster now... haha. .

$ 0.00
7 months ago

I think this was fan enjoymentšŸ„³

$ 0.00
7 months ago

I like your photos with your family, a very nice bonding to all of you.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Beautiful pictures! It looks like it was a really fun weekend.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Yes, it was. Thanks. And thanks for the tip.

$ 0.00
7 months ago