A Letter to A Man who Made Me but Never Wanted Me

0 10
Avatar for JACKVAN
3 years ago

Dear Dad

I know I shouldn't call you Dad but I don't want to call you by your name because it servers no purpose to me. If you ever read this letter and think that I am going to tell you how you were an awful dad and that you should be ashamed of how you threw me out of your life, I am sorry because that is not the case but rather this is the message to you, " I forgive you".


forgive you for not being there because it made me stronger. I have learned never to depend on someone because even our shadows tend to leave us when there is darkness. All I can tell you is that I had a rough childhood, especially when asked "where is your father?" during Father's day in school. The funny thing is that in Africa you can never be the son of a woman, a child is always associated with his father. There were times when I could no longer take the question and thus resorted to killing you. "My father is dead" that was an escapement slogan but deep down I knew you existed.

I forgive you for pushing me away because I found new arms that could comfort me though they couldn't offer the much-needed protection and security a father could give his son. But I thank God they were always there for me (thank you, mum). she taught me to find something to live for. Then came the moment of embracing my manhood, I had to grow up as a man just as society expects. Being emotionally tough and not a cry baby with the absence of a male figure in your life is hard.

I forgive you for not being a parent, Mum was able to pick up the stacks. She raised us and strived to provide for us. Sometimes she wanted the best for us but she couldn't provide but all in all, she did her best. I went to school on my first day and had a problem describing my father to the class, sometimes even your name escaped my mind. Yeah, it was a shame but I learned to live with it. I managed to graduate through high school with the support of my Mum, but then that was the end. I was only halfway through university when everything crumbled and I had to drop out. whether you feel sorry or happy for my miseries is something that doesn't bother me because I am on my way to greatness.

So just remember that you didn't screw me that much when you left; when you stopped being with mum and ran away from your responsibilities. My world still continues

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for JACKVAN
3 years ago

Comments