The Good Start

4 26
Avatar for J.Matty
2 years ago

This is the year we all have patiently been waiting for. Once again, I welcome everyone to the year 2022. I hope we all had beautiful memories with lovelies. I wish you all a good start.

As the year has kicked off, it will always be e beautiful idea to work with time and work with the day as well. Time they say waits for no man and that has always been true. Swimming with the tide or swimming along the tide; whatever one , the most important thing is to follow up and get things done while moving.

I could remember last year, when some group of friends were making their new year resolutions. They all had beautiful resolutions and Wonderful ideas to achieve by the year. Then, a friend's father said to them; I heard all you guys said, you all have spoken well. I still remember when I was your age, we do the same. We keep to that as the year begins and remind ourselves the promises we made ourselves. But this only happens for few months. At a time, some of us travelled and that how we remind ourselves the less. Before the half time of the year, we were back to our last year lifestyle and were as good as not having any resolution. We all lost our goal recording book and forgot our promises to ourselves.

He went further to ask this group of friends wether they made resolutions the previous year which they all said yes. Now the next question he asked was how many of you saw your promises to the last?

This is the question I asked myself on the 29th of December,2021. Well I couldn't find an answer to this self asked question because I know I don't need to answer that anymore. I had resolutions upon resolutions the previous year. Not just me, my friends too. I just got to understand that just as we have Christmas and new year season, so we have the season of resolutions and they somewhat goes together.

When the Christmas and new year season passes, the resolution lasts for few more days and fades off...this was me talking to myself'😅

So, when this father asked them the question, none said a word they all laughed out to themselves. He then asked them again if they all want to achieve all their goals. Now they all said yes. ..

"Making a long list is easy and nice. When you look at them, you remind yourself what you have waiting for you to do. The long list presents long goals and aspirations. Sometimes, you give a lot of time thinking about achieving them one after the other and become tired at some point because you try to carry everything along.

What about making a very short list of your goals by partitioning them with time, hours, days and weeks before a month time. The list will be short and you as well have a little time to think about it and spend most of your time working on the achievement "....the father told them.

From what this father said, I learnt a lot. One of them is .. setting a goal to achieve, starting from few hours time, setting goals to achieve daily, couple of days, weekly and monthly as well and working thoroughly on achieving them. This is best done than said.

Therefore, I don't want to live my life like that of the past years. I need no long list to make. The journey of a thousand miles starts with just a step.

Closing thought

One day, I saw a video of Jack Ma, a Chinese billionaire saying something related to achieving goals. In this video I saw , he used rabbits on the field to explain. He said that; if there are many rabbit on the ground and you want to catch them. You don't have to dive in to catch them all. He said that you have to choose one, focus on it, follow and grab it. When you have succeeded in catching one, you then come back to catch another one. This step by step process will make you catch all the rabbits on the ground.

Thank you all for reading and I wish you everything you want to achieve this year in good health and in double fold.

Written by J.matty

Image credit: from unsplash

#Stay safe

4
$ 0.62
$ 0.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for J.Matty
2 years ago

Comments

Yeah I think I have to spread my goals this into each months and start taking a step after the other at least I'm contented with 12 goals this including me expecting the random rewarder you know as a newbie 💞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to meet you here. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's better to be focused on something small than a big list for sure. I wish 2022 will go very well with a lot of success for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. You are correct. Thanks for the comment. I wish you a fruitful year

$ 0.00
2 years ago