One for another

1 11
Avatar for Isabellaa
3 years ago

I was then working in the kidney department of a corporate hospital in Dhaka. 2006 In the morning I went to the hospital from Uttara's house. At this time there is a heavy traffic jam. You have to punch the card to get in and out. The hospital is quite beautiful, with the impression of modern architecture in construction, bright and well-equipped. Much like a five star hotel. At that time my consultant was a foreigner. Name Ram Mohan Sahu. Going round with him, ICU and CCU and outpatient visits were seen. Also seeing patients on dialysis was my routine job. There had to be 'on call' at night.

Our dialysis unit is beautiful and modern enough. Maintenance dialysis is given to 15 patients with chronic kidney failure three times a week.

Women and men of different ages

One of them was a 15-year-old girl. Name Ananya Roy. I used to study in class nine. Green enchanted look, curly hair on the head. Very nimble, cheerful, full of vitality girl. I used to come for dialysis with my mother. Dad died of liver cirrhosis two years ago. My mother works in a school. Ananya created a family world by calling all the other patients as uncles, grandparents, aunts and uncles. Our consultant is very happy not to be bothered by this, he said, this is good for mental health & boost the immunity as well.

He could sing very good Rabindra Sangeet and Nazrul Geeti. I was never called a doctor. From the beginning he was called Dada.

One day my grandfather gave me a CD and told me the CD of the song I was singing. Listen at leisure. I said I will listen.

One day her mother brought us chicken birani, payes and sweets. I said there was no need for these, Baudi.

Ananya's mother is trying for a kidney transplant. Suitable donors do not match. He wanted to donate a kidney himself but his kidney function is not very good. Moreover, there are financial problems.

I have five sisters, a brother and a biomedical technician.

A female doctor joined as a registrar yesterday. Masters in Nephrology from Karachi, Pakistan. Name Dr. Tahmina. Small light slender build, but quite fair-looking, with a long face and a very lively smile.

The woman is currently watching the ideology here. Walking around with a consultant. Orientation for two weeks, then regular duty will be given. My workload has been reduced a lot since she came. There was no time to breathe before. Join the female doctor.

Before admission, discharge,

Dialysis patients

Take care, Procedure

Mostly I had to.

An eighteen-year-old man named Mohiuddin used to come for dialysis. Too poor. Although he talks about dialysis three times a week, he comes twice for financial reasons. Which was enough to bring danger to him. Comes with older sister. Life saving dialysis comes in extreme poverty. The sister said that she had to sell the land to raise money for dialysis.

Sometimes Mohiuddin does not come for about a month. We are worried. What happened to the boy? Our consultant also asked about it a few times. He called his sister on his mobile but found her off.

The sister suddenly came alone this morning. We asked, where is Mohiuddin? He said in a heavy voice that he died last week.

According to the sister, her brother did not want to put the whole family on the road by dialysis like a selfish person with the money from the sale of the land. His decision is that he will no longer do dialysis. Embracing death for the sake of the family seemed reasonable to him. He survived for almost a month without any treatment.

But my brother suffered a lot, the sister cried as she spoke. There is no language to comfort. I told Sister in Charge Chitra to put her in a corner and calm her down.

Another patient, Hanif Mia. Dialysis. Age forty-two years. At first I took it three times a week. Later he is financially taking dialysis twice a week. Trades in fish. Came with his wife. The woman is quite shy, pulling the long veil over her head and sitting like a robot on a tool next to Hanif Mia. I said one day you don't need to come. We are here. He replied, "Sir, I have no one in this world but him."

One day two gentlemen wearing suit ties came and asked if anyone by the name of Hanif Mia was doing dialysis here. Seeing his file and address, they said we came from Ocean Group on Industries. Our Chairman Sir would like to help this patient financially. Give us the calculation for the next two months for dialysis three days a week. We brought the money. I contacted them in the accounts section. I said if there is any other talk, come to the consultant's chamber.

When they came to the Consultant's Chamber half an hour after depositing the money, I was sitting in front of Sir discussing an ICU case. I introduced them to Sir. Sir can speak excellent Bengali. He asked why you want to help Hanif? What is his relationship with you?

Then one of them opened the matter.

To be continued..

Sponsors of Isabellaa
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 0.36
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Isabellaa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Isabellaa
3 years ago

Comments

আপনি সত্যি দারুন লেখেন দিয়ে পাশে থাকবেন আমার পোষ্টে।

$ 0.00
3 years ago