Is it worth spending 20 years+ on educational institutes in general?

2 138
Avatar for Is-Just-My-Opinion
3 years ago

Good morning, afternoon or evening dear readers, this is my first post and I wanted to start giving my opinion on this subject based on my own experience, English is not my first language so forgive my possible grammatical errors.

I am a young man who spent 25 years of his life in educational institutions, and what was left after all that? almost nothing, I could never get a job in my career as the vast majority of graduates, only normal jobs of poor pay and short duration until I gave up and began to waste time on the internet watching videos on youtube, movies, games, facebook, xxx, etc..

Months went by until one day I met someone my age who had a car, a house and was always out having fun, traveling with his girlfriend and I asked him what he did for a living and he told me he had a business selling 3D moldings for houses.

And I asked him how he learned to do that and he told me that he learned from Youtube.... Fck..... He invested less than a week to learn how to make the molds and a few months to have all the materials and merchandise ready to start making money while I spent 25 years studying to end up wasting my time on social networks and movies because companies were either not hiring or I didn't fit their profile... the funny thing is that he only studied the basics, math, alphabet, etc, basic things of daily use.

I remember that I wondered why I who studied and graduated had nothing but someone who did not study had everything or almost everything he needed to live well and on his own, in those years I was like a robot following the order that society dictated which was to study and then work in a company and then retire at 60 and then live a life sitting in front of your house looking at the horizon, a life let's say empty, simple, sad.

Days later I went to visit a friend who had a brother, I almost never saw him because he was always locked in his room but I had never asked my friend why his brother was always locked in his room until that day, he answered me saying that his brother worked on the internet and earned triple the money than in a normal job and WTF!!!! how is that possible? that day I got home and started to search how to make money on the internet and I was surprised how much information there was about it.

That night I said, fck the university and everything I learned from it, and started my own learning from scratch, it's been two years and I've been doing well, every day I learn more and I have many ideas in mind to carry out.

So the big question that everyone is asking is, is it worth studying in schools, universities, etc? and my definitive answer is NO, but to keep everyone happy let's say that it is a relative choice because it all depends on what you want to study.

If you want to be a surgeon well... it's going to be hard to educate yourself on the internet haha, you need practice, you need a degree, a doctorate that says you are a professional surgeon and you can start cutting bellies legally.

Otherwise you can save all the money you will spend in an educational institution and start studying on your own by internet, online courses, and you don't need to work by internet like webmaster or web development, etc, you can develop dozens of job skills by learning by internet and start earning money in real life.

To give you an example, I work on the internet and I love it but I also learned how to install security cameras and configure them, motion sensors, alarms, electric fences, gate motors, etc and guess what? I learned it all from the internet.... i make good money doing those jobs, i don't have a work schedule and i live a relaxed life, guess where my old classmates are working? yep, at the classic macdonalds, etc, 25 years studying to work there.... isn't it funny but sad at the same time?

The goal of this topic is to try to change the way of thinking of most people, stop being a corporate slave but mainly stop the fear of the new and unknown, here in this forum there are many parents or future parents who have in their power the destiny of their child, do not limit it by telling him what all parents say, study hard to then enter a company and earn "a lot" of money to live the life of a champion with your beloved family because it is not true.... at least in most cases they will end up like my classmates.

Do your best not to send him to kinder garden to waste time and money, instead you better teach him practical things like a new language, new techniques, when you are working on something don't tell him to leave, teach him what you are doing, make him help you and eventually he will learn, everyone knows that children are like a sponge, they absorb everything very fast and when you realize it he will be teaching you.

That way you will be helping him develop job skills and ensuring him a bright and promising future away from the slave companies, you will know that your child can stand on his own because you taught him everything you know and more.

Months ago I saw a video called "How to create a genius" and Wow! I really liked it, it was an experiment where they wanted a child to learn 1000% how to play chess, to become a chess genius and it worked!

Let's put it simple, you teach your child to speak different languages, if you can't teach your child yourself because you only know your native language then you hire someone to teach him/her other languages or you learn it together by youtube and you keep that until your child is say 10 years old, well at that point your child may know 2, 3 or more languages and that's a working skill or technique, he can work translating texts by himself, translating audios, doing transcriptions or being the classic guide for foreign people, now imagine when your child is let's say 15 or 20 years old and of course keep studying languages, he will become a hyperpolyglot and with that skill he will be able to work on his own, he will be able to generate good money in different ways and make a very good life at a young age and best of all, he will be free!! that's how you help your child.

Of course, not everyone will have the patience or the time to teach their child or even many knowing this will still send them to school because they are afraid of the new, the unknown, afraid to go against the current... but well not everyone can be an astronaut, I did my part in giving my opinion about the subject.

And of course when I have a child I will do everything I say in the topic, I will not take him to a school to waste his time and my money, the basics can be learned at home and much more.

To finish this topic i will tell you a true story, my neighbor was a businessman, he had a small company in which he sold a variety of things and he was doing very well, he had two little daughters who he never took to school, he took them to work with him so they could learn, at that time i thought he was crazy, that he was wasting the sacred time of the girls by taking them to work instead of taking them to elementary school, time passed and he moved out of the country, three years later I met him on facebook and we talked for a while and I asked him how his daughters were doing and he told me that each one had a mini business, one was selling her own clothes and the other one was baking and selling her own sweets in her mini store and they were doing very well. .. in that moment I said WTF but I didn't pay attention to it because it was a difficult information to process at that time until later... the rest you already know.

With that said I'm off friends, sorry for the long testament and take advice.

#homeschooling

5
$ 3.34
$ 3.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @CopyCoiner
Avatar for Is-Just-My-Opinion
3 years ago

Comments

The educational system is rubbish ... (personal opinion xD). Being self-taught in the area you are passionate about can substitute for a good college. Everything depends on you, and only on yourself.

PS: Great idea in your user description! I hope you meet your goal with Read Cash: D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me gusto tu articulo, te felicito es una realidad la educación tradicional esta cada día siendo cuestionada, no responde a las necesidades del momento, los avances tecnológicos van a una velocidad vertiginosa y la gente salen obsoletas de los centros educativos tradicionales. me gusta el tema sigue hablando y escribiendo .

$ 0.00
3 years ago