Seashells in the shelf

0 19
Avatar for Iris086
3 years ago

Seashells have so many different types, clam, snail, tusk, or chiton and with different colors.  In my eyes, they are so beautiful, and I love seashells even when I was little.  I still remember when I was ten, my friend gave me a small murex as a gift.  She told me that if I put it closer to my ear, I could hear the sound of ocean waves.  I tried, really, I heard the sound.  I kept it well even I moved from Asia to the United States.  I always buy seashells as the souvenir when I traveled to islands or beaches.  

When I was little in China, I thought I lived far away from ocean because people usually used bikes as transportation. Actually, I lived just thirty miles away from Pacific Ocean.  I desperately wanted to see how ocean looked like at the time I was in middle school, so I followed my friend to her grandma’s house who lived near the ocean.  I was so disappointed when I saw the ocean the first time .  Before I went, I thought the ocean water was crystal clear but so yellow and dirty.  One thing good of that trip was found a beautiful seashell on the beach.

Many years ago, I took my boyfriend now my husband to Catalina island. I was looking around in a small gift shop, then some seashells on the corner were catching my eyes.  I automatically put one near my ear and listened the sound of ocean waves.  I put it down then went outside.  He came out later and handed me the same seashell that I held.  He said he loved seashells too, and I could keep it for him.  How beautiful it was!

The first time we went to Hawaii when the kids were very young.  They loved beaches so much and asked us to Hilton’s lagoon and the beach every day.  They built castles and looked everywhere to find seashells there. My friends recommended me to buy gift and souvenirs from the swap meet there on Sunday.  We drove there kind of late that shoppers all left and the merchants were ready to close.  I hurry grabbed the most beautiful seashells there.  How lucky!

The latest seashell I bought was from Seal beach.  Every time I visited Los Angeles, my kids asked me to take them to Seal beach.  I love to go there too.  I like that local coffee shop and the pizza place.  I usually had a cup of coffee from Starbucks in the morning.  At the day we went to Seal beach, I waited to drink my coffee until we got there.  I ordered my pizza first then walked down couple shops to get my coffee.  After I picked up my coffee and pizza, I walked back to the beach and ate with my family and friends.  It’s so relax sitting on the beach and watching my kids searched seashells and had fun on the beach. She was lucky enough found a sand dollar there. When I walked back to my car, I saw a basket of seashells putting outside of the shop.  I walked in and found out their prices were so reasonable, then I grabbed more.  

Here they are, I keep them all inside the glass case.  This is the special year, and a lot of us locked up home teleworking.  These seashells always remind me the old good times and all the fun we had in the past. 

3
$ 0.09
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Iris086
3 years ago

Comments