Presidents day

0 12
Avatar for Iris086
3 years ago

Yesterday was our public holiday, Presidents Day in the United States. I took off since last Friday and off the last four days.  I even did not realize the time passed quickly without knowing it, and I need to go back to work again.  In the past few days, the biggest gain was that the amount of exercise has increased greatly, and I went out for a walk a couple miles every day. Now that the new president has been in office for more than a month, the society has stabilized a lot, and I hardly see demonstrations on TV anymore. Walking outside felt that the community has returned to the same safety as before. This election really made me feels like ridding a roller coaster.


The president is the commander-in-chief of a country, he has supreme power and status, so our country has established a public holiday to celebrate each of their birthdays and lives. Most of them are amazing people. They have made great contributions to the democratic freedom and prosperity of this country. Even many of them have set a good example for democracy and freedom to the world. Our founding hero, President Washington, founded this country. President Lincoln maintained the unity of the United States and liberated black slavery. President Clinton brought economic recovery and social prosperity at his time. They are worthy of respect, worthy of our celebration, and of course I will be happy because of this extra day of holiday.


I used to think that the candidates for the presidential election in this country are all capable people. They have extraordinary abilities, broad minds, take the world as their own responsibility, and believe democracy and freedom, so it doesn’t matter who is elected. Even if the majority voters choose a president who is not a very good one, we can vote for another one after four years. When I saw the presidential election last year, my opinion changed. Some presidents are not what I imagined. Sometimes they do unscrupulous things to protect their own interests, undermine democracy and freedom, and talk nonsense.


It took a few days for the ballots to be counted last election.  In those days, I turned on the TV every day. Since the votes of the two candidates were very close, my mood also changed with the changes in the number of votes until the distance of the votes became farther and farther. This was something I had never experienced before. On the day when the vice president actually certified each state’s electoral vote, I saw the mobs rushing into the Capitol building on TV, and I began to feel a little frightened again. Will this peaceful society break the peace? Should I buy a gun? When will such a demonstration end? Will the country be divided by the two opposing factions? Fortunately, the new president has been in office for more than a month, and many people have begun to accept the reality and will not go out protesting.


Our society has now returned to its former calm. Under the leadership of the new president, the coronavirus infection rate here has dropped a lot, and more and more people are being vaccinated. It seems that everything is developing for the better. I hope that the current president can fulfill his campaign promise, be a neutral, unite all Americans, make everyone's life better, more democratic and free, and contribute to the peace of all mankind.

1
$ 0.37
$ 0.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Iris086
3 years ago

Comments