Blooming Jade Tree

0 12
Avatar for Iris086
3 years ago

The weather today is so fantastic, the sun is shining with clear and blue sky, no wind at all, neither hot nor cold.  My little girl already yelled to go out for a walk before 10 o'clock in the morning. The communities around my house are all single houses, the population is not dense, the streets are wide, and there are few vehicles coming in and out. Although the corona virus pandemic here is still serious, we still go out and take a walk.  If we see people coming in front, we go to the opposite side of the street which can maintain a far distance each other.  After walking 2.5 miles back to my porch, I sat on the chair next to the front door and took a rest. Suddenly I saw a lot of small flowers blooming on the jade trees in front of me. My husband poured some water on them.  In my eyes, the water was like crystal shining on the little flowers. They were so pretty, so I used my iphone took some photos.


The three pots of jade trees on the porch have been planted over 16 years. They were planted by my mother-in-law when my eldest daughter was very young. The tiny jade trees were planted in three small pots, then they grew as my daughters grew.  After having them for four years, they have grown to two or three feet.  One day my mother-in-law who like discovered the New World told us that the jade trees in the backyard were blooming. She was very happy to say that it would bring good luck to us.  Not too long after, we bought a brand new house almost twice the size of our house and moved there.  After that, My mother-in-law kept saying the jade trees had brought us good luck.


There was a small courtyard in front of our new house, where three pots of jade trees were placed. The front door of this house faced to the north. The courtyard doesn't have much sunlight in a day, but the jade trees even grew better.  At that time, they were getting bigger, the leaves were green as jade, and some small flowers appeared from time to time. I know that they are feng shui plants that Chinese like to plant them. Chinese believe they bring good luck and wealth, and they can also drive away evil spirits.


We moved again more than five years ago and live in our current house. We still put them in front of our house. At this time, their branches have grown to full pots and much taller. I suggest changing them to larger pots with the new soils.  My husband said that they did not need to grow taller anymore.  Also, they were in the good size.  I have seen many jade trees placed in front of many neighbors’ houses, some of them are Vietnamese and Chinese, and the Indians family cross street has also placed a few pots. I don’t know if they are also planting jade trees for Feng Shui or not.


I think jade trees are beautiful plants and easy to grow. My husband said that he only needed to water them once a week. We haven't changed the soil for them for many years, but they still grow well. As for Feng Shui, my mother-in-law believes it, and I just think it would be nice to put them there as decoration purpose. As a person who believes in science, I don't plant them because of Feng Shui.  







1
$ 0.32
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Iris086
3 years ago

Comments