Under the Crimson Skies: Chapter 4

2 11
Avatar for Iremori
3 years ago

I hear kids laughing. I hear music in the background. I smell popcorn and the sweet scent of candy. I open my eyes, she’s in front of me, she’s holding my arm, occasionally looks at me and smiles as if to urge me to follow her. I look around, I see people, happiness evident from the smile in their faces. Bright colored lights, tents and balloons are around me. So I smile and then close my eyes, the colors, the music, the laughter, they all fade. I open my eyes, I see a familiar ceiling and sunlight creeping through the curtains.

Just as I thought, something as convenient as that would never happen in reality. I laughed at myself because I actually felt happy after that. But then the happiness was then replaced by something else, the feeling of relief and disappointment because it was all just a dream.

I collected myself and continued my day as usual. But then butterflies filled my stomach as I saw her on my way to school. And just like the first time, no matter where she was, it just looks so mesmerizing. She’s walking the same pace as her friends, the cheerful banter, the smile on her face, the wind carrying her hair, leaves falling slowly to the pavement. For some reason, every time I see her, it paints a picture in my head, a picture so colourful that my world pales in comparison.

But it’s some place I don’t belong, a place as vibrant as that doesn’t suit me, so I just ignored her and kept walking my own pace. I couldn’t help but feel down after I thought of that. I looked down and laughed at myself because I know it’s something obvious.

“Hey”

I hear a familiar voice and as I raised my face, I see her in front of me. I was startled and just out of the blue, I asked her.

“Why are you doing this?”

And with a smile, she answered.

“Because it’s fun!”

A warm fluttery feeling welled up from my chest as she said those words. Then she pulled my arms and introduced me to her friends and I walked with them to school. During lunch, she saw me and forced me to eat with her friends. I was sceptical at first but it was pretty fun to have company. After school, I saw her again waiting by the gate and she forced me to walk her home.

It felt pretty awkward without her friends around. The silence was starting to make me uncomfortable so I asked her the only thing that I’m curious about.

“So, why were you so adamant that I keep what happened that day a secret?”

“Of course you’re you’d ask that.”

She smiled but it’s not her usual smile. She then continued talking.

“You see, I wasn’t supposed to run anymore. My doctor forbade me from doing so after the accident. It happened last year. My father and I was in the car, were going home from the amusement park, we went on rides and before we went on our way, he bought me a keychain. I still remember how happy I was that day. Then a truck hit our car and that was the only thing I can remember. When I woke up, I was in a hospital and my legs were in a cast. The doctor told me that the crash broke my legs and my joints were damaged badly. But my concern that day was the welfare of my father. The doctor just apologized to me and said his condolences. I later learned from my mother that father died on the spot. From that day, the keychain became very important to me.”

“I’m sorry.”

That was the only thing I can say after she told me all of that.

“It’s fine, no need to apologize. So I wanted you to keep it as a secret was so that my friend’s don’t worry too much about me. That day, I left my pencil case at school and the keychain was inside. he only thing I cared about at that time was to get it. I was very afraid that I’d lose it so I ran as fast as I could hoping it’s still there.”

I couldn’t say anything afterwards. I just walked there silently listening to every word.

“Well, that’s enough of the story,” she then laughed, “It’s no big deal though, it still ended well for me, I still have the keychain and I can still walk. Anyway, I'm fine here, thanks for walking with me and listening to my story. See you tomorrow”

I waved and headed my way home. I guess it’s not always as bright as I imagined for everyone. What I learned from her is that every smile hides something beneath the surface. Another is that the brighter the light, the darker the shadow becomes.

Chapter 5

https://read.cash/@Iremori/under-the-crimson-skies-chapter-5-a8d3fb7e

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Iremori
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Iremori
3 years ago

Comments

A very detailed flow of story. I like it. Keep writing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much. I'm very glad that you like it. I'll do my best.

$ 0.00
3 years ago