YES, I Will Get Home

0 33
Avatar for Infotips
1 year ago

I boarded a cab and was heading home after a long yet impactful meeting I had with an online business consultant. As I entered the taxi so tired and I forgot about the world because the only thing on my mind was to get home. However, That thought was short-lived because I was hearing sounds with a slow rhythm which I quickly dismissed to be my subconscious playing a prank on me.

Later, I kept hearing the sounds faintly, this time a bit faster. Other passengers had paid and alighted because there was long traffic congestion. We had already spent close to an hour in the hold-up. I looked around to check where the sound was coming from... THE DRIVER!

What is wrong with you Sir, I asked him before I sighted his inhaler. 'I'm asthmatic, I'm having an attack. It started yesterday and I'm on treatment', he replied.

'You shouldn't be driving!', I shouted. He took a drag from his inhaler and rest his head on the wheel. It was my first time seeing someone in such a condition. We were still in the traffic but it was now moving slowly.

Sponsors of Infotips
empty
empty
empty

Please pull over Sir, I'm going to inform one of these traffic warders. We'll find a way to take you home, I said.

He declined and told me that he just needed to pee to get better. He opened the door, got down, and peed in between the vehicles. As soon as he entered the car, he saw my countenance and said, 'don't worry, I will get home. I will park my car in our garage and go home as soon as I drop you off. One of my children is a nurse, she's the one treating me'.

'Give me her number, let me call her. I don't think you can go home by yourself in this condition' I said. He kept assuring me that he was feeling better and I shouldn't bother.

Alright, give me your own number then. I will call you later to check on you', I insisted.

He gave me his number and I alighted from the car. About an hour later, I called him to confirm if he had gotten home. He told me he was home and had already eaten. (I won't work tomorrow, don't worry. I've eaten and I've taken my drugs. Thank you, my Son). I spoke with one of his children before hanging up.

After the call, my mind was at rest.


The real-life scenario I experienced above as narrated by me, is really a motivation for us all to be courageous even in the face of despair.

No matter who you are or what you do, there will be times when you feel like giving up. All of us have moments when we feel like we can't go on. During these tough times, it's essential to remember the importance of courage.

Courage is the ability to do what frightens us. It's the power to face our fears and move forward in spite of them. Courage isn't about being fearless; it's about being brave in the face of fear.

When we're courageous, we open ourselves up to new possibilities.

In spite of all the fears, doubts, and insecurities that assail us, we can choose to be courageous. The most courageous thing we can ever do is to keep going in the face of despair.

There are countless stories of people who have chosen courage in the face of overwhelming odds. Some have become famous, while others remain anonymous. But what they all share is an unyielding spirit that refused to give up in the face of despair.

I WILL GET HOME, in other words, could mean: that I will accomplish whatever thing I set my mind to, regardless of seeming obstacle(s). My encounter with that elderly man really opened my eyes to this aspect of life - COURAGE. I was so glad he became well enough when he got home. I felt so happy as I remember how concerned I was about his health condition. I really do think that the world at large will be safe for us now and for generations if we live life for humanity rather than the geographical divide.

We can achieve this of course if we start today.

Thanks for reading.

See you at the next one.

1
$ 0.83
$ 0.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Infotips
1 year ago

Comments