0.11 BCH in smartBCH almost lost. Maximum tension!

5 74
Avatar for Infinity
1 year ago

Aug 13, 2022. No. 292

The prize I got from the bch_sun Twitter contest was 0.1 BCH. this price is for me like writing a little more than 6-7 articles on the platform, so it's not bad at all. My first reaction, seeing that the prize was given through the smartBCH wallet and therefore in Metamask, I decided not to leave it there since I am terrified of Metamask because of what many already know happened to me a few months ago.

The search for a bridge began to be able to go from smartBCH to BCH. I even tried the Paytaca wallet, but it was not available to make the movement in that direction. I remember that before it was easier with hop.cash and wagon.cash, where some of them the bridge even worked in both directions. It was fast and very efficient, but recent events have made everything difficult and new alternatives have to appear. It was then that my friend @fexodine1 suggested to me: “BlockNG Bolivar bridge is the best for now”.

For this, I should add the Binance Smart Chain (BSC) network to my Metamask. Initially, I would have to exchange my BCH for a coin called bcBCH, which has an approximate 1x1 hit with BCH, and then go to the bridge section to make the change to BCH on the BSC network. For this, you would need to pay a small gas fee in BCH and in BNB, on both networks. BCH had it, it was evident that it was what I needed to change, but BNB did not have it at that time.

Enter the blockng.money website that curiously bears the name of the Liberator of America: SimĂłn BolĂ­var. A sentence is on the same home page of the web:

"A PEOPLE THAT LOVES FREEDOM WILL IN THE END BE FREE." - SIMON BOLIVAR

SimĂłn BolĂ­var - The Liberator

It was a letter he wrote from Jamaica on September 6, 2015, where he expressed the reasons why the first attempt at independence from Venezuela had failed. Without a doubt, Bolivar is a legend and I personally love his entire history.

The first thing I did was exchange my 0.11 BCH for bcBCH and I got about 0.109 bcBCH in my wallet. Then I went to the bridge and made the first swap, I paid the gas fee in BCH and it gave me a transaction hash which I copied.

Later, when it was time to pay the gas fee in BNB, I simply realized that I did not have it, and I stopped the process. I closed the pc and when I came back a few hours later, I realized that my money had disappeared from my wallet. I asked for help to send me some BNB to pay the gas fee and @Stockleezy in the Telegram group donated it to me. There is a way called “Manual Claim of Previous Transaction” which means that if you have a pending transaction, you can do it using this variant with the previous hash. I tried to do it but it did not work, it gave me an error. This is where I start to get stressed and write off my money.

I went to verify the last transactions of my wallet in the blockchain and I realize that it says “Token burning” and they send my coins to the address 0x0000000…000, that scared me even more.

I asked in the Telegram group and several users immediately attended to me attentively, including @Zaki, @mortinp, @Dinopawnz. After a long process, where two users even wrote to me privately pretending to be mortinp, obviously to hack me once again :(, they were able to recover my money.

Eventually, Zaki managed to recover my BCHs it through the hash I gave him.

Later I sent them to his Binance account (in my country it is blocked) and he transferred them to my bitcoin.com wallet.

I want to thank everyone for the help provided, without a doubt we are the best community that exists. Luckily it had a happy ending and I was able to get my prize back.

10
$ 3.70
$ 3.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
+ 2
Sponsors of Infinity
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Infinity
1 year ago

Comments

Your experience is similar to that of my friend, who is a first-time user of the platform. Always keep in mind that you must pay for gas on both sides.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seems like transferring our smartBCH funds is a little harder this time.. good thing that someone help you recover your funds.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed, thanks :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks God after a long process you got your asset in your wallet. Metamask has some complexity in bridging and Twitter people always do a BCH winner announcement then should not ask for sBCH address. It should be winner's choice where he want to receive. They can simply ask for wallet address.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Some people just love complicated things :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago