18 years for studying, have i been wasting my time ?

0 134
Avatar for Imadaris
2 years ago

Hi everyone. This is my last year as a student. I've been studying for 17 years, and this year I'm going to graduate with a Master's degree in English Literature and Civilization. Believe me, i don't know why i don't feel excited. I think it's due to the 17 years of struggling, and sacrificing. I can say that i succeeded, but I don't feel that way. I haven't even felt this passed 4 years until now. Sometimes I keep wondering what I could have become if I quit school. How much money could i gathered? 

Taking the knowledge I have now from the life lessons I have experienced, I would definitely be able to change my life and take advantage of things like my parents and a high school education. My parents tried to explain to me the importance of school and an education when i was a child. Actually, they succeeded . Let's say they succeeded until I turned 18, i became an adult, a college freshman. I started thinking about "papers", "money", "l'argent" ... you know, when you start studying in college, you meet new people, adult ones" you meet girls, and you start thinking i should have more money than my parents give, because I study full time, i don't have time to work, so i either keep it quiet or quit studying. At this moment, i felt unable , wondering "what should i do ?" I kept going to college, but every day I was telling myself " i need a new phone, i need new sneakers, I loved those sneakers I saw last week, i need a new outfit ... " that totally make me unable. Add to it the income i get every month from my parents..dude! My parents were very wise and straight when it came to money. They tried to explain to me that money is an object that comes and goes, and somrtimes it takes too much time to come. They kept telling me that you should waste what it should be wasted, no extras. And I, I kept telling myself that studying is the reason, and if I left college before it wouldn't happen, I could've gathered enough money to do whatever I wanted. I felt like i didn't enjoy my short life, i was young and my mind's thinking wasn't clear. I started missing classes and working time by time. Firstly, life was by my side. I collected papers and wasted them as a teenager, you know. But then, things turned, my thoughts on money turned, i realized that "money," as my parents said, is temporary. i realized the value and importance of education and how it will benefit my life and future.

I guess i can say as a parent, if I have kids in the future, i hope that they will learn from my experiences and live their lives how i wish i could have. Because i achieved a new experience that I'm going to benefit myself and others, because education is more important than money, and everyone tells you that money doesn't buy happiness. Money does buy happiness and brings peace of mind, but with knowledge, it's like "adding a cup of water to the sea." It doesn't do anything.

Thank you for listening, and have a nice day

The author of this article. 24 years old, Me 😃

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Imadaris
2 years ago

Comments