'Marketing Communications Strategy' - The business policy that annoys me the most.

0 18
Avatar for Iamjohn
1 year ago

I was thinking the other day, 'this is getting out of hand'.

In our social media feed, in big malls, on billboards, in magazines, in email, in mobile SMS, and through direct calls; promotion and marketing of different companies are highly present. We can't go out for a few minutes to see some ads.

I'm okay with the passive marketing policy as long as I have control over them. But when it comes to directly communicate with me just to let me know some discount offers or similar things; it annoys me. And guess what, by doing so they are losing customers; at least me.


image link

I get direct phone calls from different places for their promotions and marketing, even from the online grocery stores. No matter where I'm now, in meetings, doing my own business in the bathroom, or in between a busy day!

It's okay to reach out to customers and potential customers through direct means of communication from time to time. But doing this regularly would annoy anyone, I believe.

For example, I do grocery shopping from a certain company, they are fully online based, are trustable, quick, and hassle-free. But for the last couple of months, they probably renovate their marketing policy and now they call me for different offers, discounts, and whatnot; regularly! On top of that, I don't know if they trained their communicator in these ways or if they are underqualified because every time I say busy, they deny to hang up the phone and talk about other offers. I had to cut the phone off several times because I couldn't take it anymore. Also, they call with multiple numbers so blocking doesn't work.

I complained about it and will probably gonna change my grocery store because I didn't get any satisfactory answers.

When you promote such a marketing policy you have to respect others' opinions. Their time is valuable. Also, people don't always feel like listening to something they don't feel interested in at that moment. There are so many options available in the market, that companies need to apply them instead of direct communication. Real customers will always be there.

Another example I can give is also annoying.

When I do grocery shopping in stores, all of a sudden some people pop up talking about their brand. For me, I do shopping but my mind is always occupied with something else, I think about serious things also like my own business strategy. It's hard to shut people off and be polite all the time in situations like this.

I'm talking about the customer's pov. As I'm also a service provider, I do have customers too. That's why I take lessons from it about what not to do.

My motto is, People are busy, it's better to do something to attract them instead of annoying them. Cut off direct communication through phone calls on unnecessary things and increase branding, and promotions through other means.

What do you think?

Thanks for visiting my blog.

2
$ 0.38
$ 0.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Iamjohn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Iamjohn
1 year ago

Comments