Traveler's Bag: Olanggo Island

0 35
Avatar for IamWriterJo
1 year ago

I have been so stressed lately and needed to do something that I have been thinking about for so long. I have decided to make a quick getaway to one of Cebu's famous islands, which is Olanggo Island.

This is the first travel I have done by myself and with my own money. I have been working for a year and never used my vacation leave I think it is rightful to spend on myself as well after all the responsibilities I have shouldered for this year.

Breadwinners should not feel guilty for investing in themselves because for us to keep our job we should maintain a healthy mentality, with the nature of the job I have I face stressors every day and spend a maximum of 15 hours per duty in a day. We are humans and we need to release some burdens within as well no matter how strong we are.

So in continuation of my trip to Olanggo Island, I have discovered a very shortcut commute going to the island. By the way, the spot I have visited was their Wildlife Sanctuary and Marine Sanctuary.

The time travel from Colon St., Cebu City to the island is approximately 1 to 2 hours depending on what time you will start your journey ahaha. In my case, I started it at about 10 am.

  • From Colon St., find a jeepney going to IT Park, Lahug Cebu City.

If you are not from Cebu you might get overwhelmed by the system of our jeepneys (common commute vehicles) we have codes for the specific route for the jeepneys and it is visible in the front and back side of it, the route can be seen on the side of the vehicles.

From Colon to IT park you will ride 17B or 17D jeepneys the fare is 20 pesos. Tell the PAO (Passenger Assistant Officer) to drop you off at the IT Park Terminal.

  • From IT Park Terminal ride a bus going to MACTAN NEWTOWN

This bus can be seen right away and this is not a ticket process but first come first ride so much better to be early.

Kindly inform the PAO to drop you off at MACTAN NEWTOWN TERMINAL, the fare is 44 pesos

  • From the MACTAN NEWTOWN TERMINAL just find a tricycle and tell the driver that your are heading to Angasil Port.

The fare is 15 pesos.

  • From the port, your need to get a ticket to Olanggo Island and its fare is 44 pesos.

It will only take about 30 minutes from the port to the Island.

  • Upon Arriving at the Olanggo Port you need to ride a tricycle going to the Wild Life Sanctuary.

It is better to go to olanggo by the group because the tricycle fare is 200 pesos and it is good for 5 people.

  • Upon arriving in Wild Life Sanctuary you need to pay entrance fee of 30 pesos

The sanctuary is indeed very peaceful and beautiful beyond description. Just a reminder to highly respect the place and everything that is living in the Island and always bare in mind that you are a tourist and you should always behave properly.

You can explore the whole area and take very nice photos, the ambiance is relaxing in maximum point. Given that PH is a humid country to wear clothing that are breathable.

This is a quite fun if you are into walking because you really need to have a very long walk before you can reach the are where you can do bird watching. During noon time it is mostly low tide so fish are visible in the water. It is so fun to watch.

I love how the iPhone camera really gives the actual scene that I have seen when I was on the Island. What you see is really what you get. I highly recommend bringing iPhone to the place since its feature has control over lights so it won't get overwhelmed by the colors and lightning.

It is very humid but will give you the best of the place. After spending time watching wildbirds, I headed to Marin Sanctuary which you can spend soaking in the beach and going fun activities. Sadly I wasn't able to take many photos at beach since my phone died (Iphone thingy).

From the entrance of the Marine Sanctuary you need to walk 120 meters of hanging bridge first. Please if you are bringing children, be extra extra careful and responsible. For adults who are into adventure be responsible as well.

For more details here is my travel page on FB: Facebook

3
$ 5.00
$ 5.00 from @ewyr
Avatar for IamWriterJo
1 year ago

Comments