BPO Experience: When the customer gives you a takeaway Life Lesson

3 26
Avatar for IamWriterJo
1 year ago

Being in a BPO industry is very exhausting because you got to break your body clock, the language barrier between you and the customer (if you are in an international account), instant updates, and unbearable stress. But despite these, I have a lot of learning not just about products based but more on from the different people I have encountered. I have realized some important aspects of life, such as family and connections.

A telecommunication account might be tagged as the most toxic account in the BPO industry but the real thing is, you never know what will happen in the next minutes and the only thing you have on your phone. I have talked to almost a hundred customers in each shift and most of them have no one with them to assist them, they only have themselves and a phone that could help them in communicating with others when an emergency will take place.

You will never understand the need for communication not until you cannot connect with others. The telecommunication industry is our bridge to our loved ones that are separately distant from us. A single phone call from a daughter to his mother in a nursing home is incomparable happiness. A single call can save a life. A single call can make you feel loved and belonged. There is truly magic in our phones.

I can still remember when a customer was very happy I helped them with their service problem and she told me that she can say I am very young based on my voice, and I should take as much education as I can because being young is not forever and knowledge stays forever. I was not in a good shape during that shift and I have a lot on my mind, especially about my education. I felt relief hearing those words from a stranger. I doubt myself if I am doing the right thing in spending money on my degree, and I heard those words. I will never forget that call.

There was also a customer who shared that the secret of a long-lasting relationship is being forgiving because we are not always right as well as our partners. This strikes me in the right spot. Being in a relationship requires a lot of work and dedication. After that call, I thought about my boyfriend.

WIth all the stress I got from this account, I have come up with the realization that it is not a toxic account but instead humans as we are, we want to be connected and we have a need for communication. A sense of belongingness.

1
$ 0.17
$ 0.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HermaniGinger
Avatar for IamWriterJo
1 year ago

Comments

When I was in the BPO industry, I worked under a Telco account based in Australia and our customers were usually oldies :) It was nice talking to them, some were very demanding.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

despite of countless bad call, there will always be that customer who will ask you how are you with a very warm and sincere voice

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, that is true those customers who will make our day :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago