BPO Experience: Stepping into Mentorship

0 32
Avatar for IamWriterJo
1 year ago

I am now at the next level of my career in BPO. I am now in the process of taking steps outside of my comfort zone. I don't know if I could do it but the company believes in me and that I can manage it, so let it be.

We have received an announcement that the mentor position is now available and all Tier 2 are qualified to apply. The role of a mentor is to guide newly hired applicants and be their support system in the first three months of their job in the company. This is a significant role in the company because most of the applicants are BPO virgins, that is the term we use to describe first job seekers. I was once a mentee during my first months of being a CSR and I am very thankful to my mentor for always being there to support our team. I know that it is very overwhelming especially when this is your first time and a first real job. There are a lot of rules and regulations you need to take by heart and transactions you need to master.

I remember being cussed for the first time it was very traumatic and I think straight but the time comes with the guidance of our mentor I found techniques for how to improve and to build confidence in myself. The company did not only give me chance to earn a competitive amount of money but also on top of that I was able to be trained and build confidence within myself in a field I don't usually standout.

To have a job is not easy, that is the thought I keep on saying to myself when I get to the point that I want to give up because of the pressure. I am not good at handling more than two things simultaneously, but with this, I get a chance to measure how far I can go and to what extent my abilities can endure.

Again, I am grateful to have this kind of opportunity. I am now stepping to widen my horizon. I will show to myself and prove to myself that I can create something out of nothing.

Looking back to the past months and years I have been through I realize how I grow so much to be the person I am right now. It takes many breakdowns to build a self and to find purpose. Life was not dear to me, life was harsh and tough but I overcome it. I am still here. I am still fighting, and it is my greatest decision to choose to fight despite the holdbacks.

To the people who are at the peak of giving up, I may not know how hard it is to be in your shoes but I pray that you won't give up even though that is the last resort you could see. I pray there will be the light that will show in your way of finding the end of the tunnel. I pray you to have your support system soon. I pray that love will heal you. I pray you will be stronger. I pray you will pass this one.

We can't romanticize resilience, we should not. But we should be resilient for the future generation.

-Writer Jo.

1
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for IamWriterJo
1 year ago

Comments